We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprising Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprising Oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

A lovely motel style complex with beautiful refreshing gardens - a bit of a tropical paradise. Larger than normal rooms sizes. Reception friendly & helpful. The onsite restaurant, overlooking the pool, served a lovely breakfast and a really tasty lunch. Centrally located near the heart of Palo Alto, a really different experience and a nice change from the corporate brands of hotels. .

Room Tip: The rooms in the 600 blocks are at the rear away from the road and also feature lakes with carp. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig02128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    230
    65
    20
    14
See reviews for
237
170
62
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

While traveling to Silicon Valley on business recently, we stayed at Dinah's. This is a bit unorthodox for us because we typically use chains to build up points.

Dinah's has a rich history and I do like to read about those types of things. It has the look of a motel and indeed it was a roadside motel in the 1950s, always run by the same family.

Today, it has rebranded itself as a boutique, high-end property. The architecture includes ponds and water attractions, a nice pool area and renovated rooms.

We found the room we were in on the dark side, but it was sizeable with its own living room area that overlooked a private back garden. Other rooms around the property can also be on the koi ponds which are a signature architectural feature.

We had breakfast on several mornings at the restaurant that overlooks the pool and that was excellent.

Location was a plus with easy access into Palo Alto and other cities nearby.

The folks above us made quite a bit of noise and unfortunately we could hear that all too easily, so soundproofing would be a plus or maybe using carpeting instead of tile? I'm not sure but it was loud. Even as I type this I can easily hear a vacuum cleaning a room around me somewhere.

So, if you are looking for a bit of history and sick of chains, then Dinah's may be for you. It was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3Dtravelpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you find yourself in Palo Alto, consider this nice upscale "motel". Rooms were large with nice amenities. Airconditioning was a welcome addition. Outside our balcony was a koi pond giving it a very "homey" feeling. A little pricy but definitely better than a Best Western. A drawback is that you can hear doors opening and closing outside your hallway that may startle you if you're a light sleeper. Previous reviews complained of noise from construction but apparently all jobs are done and the place is quiet. It was a stone's throw away from Frie's electronics and Stanford University.

Room Tip: Take a room at the 2nd or 3rd floors so as not to be bothered by the public walking outside. Elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocBench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Dinah's Garden Hotel is a very well run establishment starting with the friendly and very efficient reception and notably Alan Narayan who anticipates every need. He remembered us from previous visits and made sure we had everything we required for our stay. The rooms are spacious and well kept. The gardens are an oasis in the busy Silicon Valley with the sound of flowing water and the bird life it attracts. The sparkling pool and it's accompanying poolside restaurant is heaven on a warm day. Highly recommended if you are in the area. Dinah's Garden will always be our choice.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lagoon ( block 6) are quiet and restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirwell Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadow Vista,CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was not my first time staying at Dinah's Garden Hotel but I felt it was important to say, yes, they can handle a group and handle it well. I was in charge of my parents memorial and had family coming in from all over on Memorial Weekend. I first made contact with Jeannie to arrange rooms. She showed me several rooms and choices I could make. The discount price for a block of rooms was great. Everyone was pleased with their rooms and especially the special touches Dinah's provides to its guests. Ghiradelli chocolates and fresh fruit each night, comfy beds, rooms with patio's or balconies and great food and service at their pool side restaurant. In the process of losing our parents, the family home sold that weekend. All of us decided though, this would be where we would stay when we gathered together from now on. Added bonus: Trader Joe's and Safeway a couple blocks away, close to 280, Stanford and shopping. A big thanks to the front counter staff, Jeannie, the restaurant - ownership should be proud of this group.

Room Tip: The 600 building facing the pool. The 100 series is good especially in the top corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Sojourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Spent two nights in Dinah's Garden and it was great. Big spacious room in the back section of the 3 storey units. Lovely pond and Koi swimming around with ducks. Giant bamboo in the center of the pond.
Great location. The old Trader Vics is now a seafood restaurant operated by Alexanders... had a drink there but did not eat.

Room was recently renovated, excellent bed, bathroom.
Could recommend to anyone and will return if the price is right.

Room Tip: The 3 storey rooms in the rear are a long way from the road and I got no traffic noise from el Camin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Still call Australia Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I got a room here based upon a Tripadvisor rating for romantic places to stay in the area. It was a spur of the moment thing after going wine tasting at Ridge Vineyards up the hill. We reserved a Lanai Suite overlooking the "lagoon". We had no idea what to expect. The place has a kind of island/hawaiian feel, cute enough from the outside, but what was so wonderful was the feeling of the room once we got inside. It had high, pitched ceilings, a lounge area by the window overlooking the pond, and big carved wood bed. We loved it! The property isn't brand new, so if you need everything to be absolutely new and perfect then you may not like this place. For us it was a breath of fresh air after staying at so many overpriced, anonymous, and homogenous rooms in the Bay Area. In fact, we liked it so much that we decided to stay another night. We also found a great rate on one of the big travel websites, so it didn't even cost very much! Here's a big thanks to the wonderful staff at Dinah's!!!

Room Tip: We recommend one of the Lanai suites. They are single story, tall ceilings, and feel very private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.1 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#8 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
3.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinah's Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinah's Garden Hotel

Property: Dinah's Garden Hotel
Address: 4261 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dinah's Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1957, Dinah’s Garden Hotel in Palo Alto is a lush oasis in Silicon Valley, and was voted “Best Hotel in Palo Alto!” Dinah’s is located near Stanford and the headquarters for the world’s leading businesses. We are California Green Certified and feature gardens, Koi-filled lagoons, well-appointed guestrooms, banquet facilities, two restaurants, and art from around the world. All 97 guestrooms and 32 suites are inspired by decorum from around the globe – creating environments that are both relaxing and productive. Visitors and locals alike love dining casually at Dinah’s Poolside Restaurant or enjoying a first class meal at THE SEA by Alexander’s Steakhouse. Although Dinah’s Garden Hotel is a historic location, we hope you enjoy our modern amenities such as brand new 42” LED televisions, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Business Center in the lobby. Come discover why we have been a destination creating a unique brand of hospitality for more than 55 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dinah's Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dinahs Garden
Dinahs Garden Hotel
Dinahs Garden Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing