We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for business in the valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Reviewed 18 December 2011

very central location and also close to University street in Palot Alto or Standfort Shopping Center. Staff is very helpful but hotel is a bit aged and rooms are mixed and could use a remodelling. it is also next to Caltrain and you could even do without a car.
Rooms towards the inside face a pool or plants.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2011

This hotel has been here a long long time. It was a Holiday Inn before becoming a Sheraton. The rooms are nice, standard Sheraton. The property has great water features that is very nice. The bar staff is great. They have worked there forever. You get tickets for two free drinks for being Platinum! It has a Club Lounge that is nice for breakfast in the AM. Great location walking distance to downtown Palo Alto and across the road from Stanford.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank dawatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Very comfortable! Great location! Right next to Stanford & the Stanford Shoppping Mall. Check in was a breeze and our room was very clean with very, very comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet was very good and the entire hotel staff was genuinely pleasant & helpful! We stayed here to visit our kids at Stanford and will definately stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmillerCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Nice location. Very dated. Tired. This hotel is not a "destination". The bar is closed. The restaraunt is circa 1989. Oh, and it's always empty.

The preferred guest lounge is dreadful.

Ten bucks a night to park.

Needs a million dollar makeover.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bingbangboing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This is a decent hotel with professional and helpful people on staff. As many have pointed out, this hotel has a good location for dining, transportation, and visiting Stanford. The coy pond is a nice touch and adds a relaxing atmosphere to the environment. The rooms are reasonably sized and the beds comfortable. I couldn't shake the opinion, however, that the hotel is built on a framework of a lower grade motel, where some of the surface elements are updated, but the fundamental physical plant is still motel quality. A case in point is the single pane glass windows. If you have a hotel overlooking the train tracks, it would make sense to invest in double pane windows for noise reduction. As it is, you can pretty much hear a pin drop outside your room. I realize this is an expensive upgrade, but for people who are noise sensitive, this could be a big deal. I frankly would expect that to go along with a >$300/night price tag.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inner courtyard, away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelguyPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Although this is an older property that is showing some wear and tear in spots, it is extremely comfortable and inviting. It has a relaxed, casual air, with a comfortable sitting area around an outdoor heated pool and a tranquil garden area. The location is near downtown Palo Alto and the Stanford Shopping Center. It looked like these would be within walking distance but I did not have time to explore the area. It also is close to Stanford Stadium, which could be either good or bad on game days, depending on your perspective. Self-parking and valet parking were both available for a fee (self-parking was $10 a day on my visit, $15 for valet). The room itself was comfortable and reasonably well furnished, but again it was more relaxing and informal than exceptional in any particular respect. My rating of average is based on the price that I paid in comparison to some other properties in the area, but I would stay here again if I got a better rate.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We got a pretty good price for the room, so I think it was fair enough. We were visiting a relative at Stanford Hospital, so the location was very convenient.

The courtyards are quite beautiful, but our room was on the parking lot. We did not hear any noise from the parking lot though and the curtains blocked out all outside light very effectively.There appear to be two sets of double-paned windows, so we didn't hear the nearby Caltrain either.

We very much appreciated the Starbucks coffee that was provided with the room, as well as the Tazo tea. Nice touch. Also, I really appreciate that the hotel provides glass glasses and not just plastic cups. I would have really appreciated a small fridge though.

The bed was seriously uncomfortable. It felt as if we were sleeping on a box spring and it even made springy noises when we rolled over. The bathroom was spacious and the room was very clean. Although it was too cold to swim, we did use the fitness room, which was well equipped. If it weren't for the uncomfortable bed, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portlandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
671 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,071 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
0.2 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Address: 625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range: £102 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Silicon Valley near Stanford University and San Francisco Bay Area attractions like Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown, and Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Palo Alto
Palo Alto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing