We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Palo Alto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent hotel, perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

It's a pretty decent hotel but the location is perfect. Two blocks to the start of downtown Palo Alto, and right next to Stanford, it couldn't be better for exploring the town on foot.

The room did have a slightly funny smell and it was a little noisy during the day, but those are pretty routine for hotels. The garden, on the other hand, is unusual, full of koi in a pretty artificial stream and pond.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ethan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    222
    221
    119
    50
See reviews for
117
75
51
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Arrived to the Hotel , great mass , teenagers all around , that can be nice , but the amount of noise was too much , specially when you after long flight...
very basic property , But the location is really great.

I got upgraded room , that was renovated on the left side of the hotel , and it was decent.

Overall very average

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salvax239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

This Hotel offers everything you need for a week-day or week-end stay. They are central to everything in Stanford. From Great Service to nightlife to Shopping everything is here. The swimming pool is my favorite hang out when the weather is nice as its the center of a Perfect relaxing day in my book. The hotel staff is very nice and the rooms offer everything I need. Just another wonderful Trip.

Room Tip: I enjoy a room facing the front of the Hotel. It offers a view of Stanford Property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

I loved the bed here--it was among the most comfortable I've ever slept in, which meant a lot to me as I was just there to sleep. The desk and valet service was friendly and efficient, although I can't judge any of the others. The rates aren't cheap but are actually pretty good by Palo Alto standards. Due to huge demand by Stanford-related guests, the place is always hopping.

My problem with this hotel is the one I have with most hotels--loud noise from guests in the hallways as they return to their rooms late at night or leave in the morning. I was woken out of a sound sleep each of the two nights I was there; fortunately, the bed was so wonderful I was able to fall asleep again right away. Also, due to the large number of rooms on each hallway, cleaning seems to go on from early morning until evening, with vacuums and maids causing even more noise.

Nevertheless, I would definitely recommend this hotel to any traveler.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopeanderson09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerlingen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Well, already aged...

The rooms are ok, but you see, that a major remodeling is needed. Everything clean but it´s outdated. No in room safe!

Overall you´ve to make your way through the resort type of setting, expensive parking and no lobby to hang around...

No Gold benefits (internet and parking incl. in Corp rate and room upgrade not available.. ;-()

As SPG member, consider the Aloft Cupertino.

Overall will probably not stay there again, better choices around... (Westin across the parking lot, Four Seasons, ALOFT!)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

This one is at a walking distance from Stanford University as well as the Palo Alto Downtown. Hence plenty of options are available for eating when you are staying here. The food inside is also nice. Very good swimming pool area and good landscaping. Rooms are good, not really great as per Sheraton standards but still nothing to complain. Best for anyone visiting Stanford or Silicon Valley in general.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atulpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Website and pictures made it look a lot nicer than it was. Least impressive Sheraton hotel I have visited. Stayed here because it was close to Stanford Medical Center, but have booked a different hotel for the next visit. The room was extremely cramped and outdated and we found a spider on the second night. Walls are very thin so expect to hear people at all hours. Also, the TV had a movies on demand option which wouldn't work during the entire stay. You have to pay for parking and wifi. That said, the staff were all friendly and it is convenient to the hospital, shopping center, etc. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to sleep and nothing else, this is a reasonable option. If you are going to be at the hotel during the day for an extended period of time look elsewhere.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank zbosherow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.1 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Property: Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Address: 625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Silicon Valley near Stanford University and San Francisco Bay Area attractions like Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown, and Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Palo Alto
Palo Alto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing