We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated interior, noisy corridors, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dated interior, noisy corridors, great staff”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Before reserving this hotel for a business trip, I lowered my expectations based on the reviews I read here. Lo and behold - the reviews were 100% accurate.

The hotel is located exactly in front of the CalTrain station Palo Alto and on a road in the front. You walk in and notice the interior is quite dated. The next thing you run into is the very friendly and helpful staff of this hotel. Clearly there is a good manager behind this property because all the reviews praised the staff.

Next, your room. Parts of the hotel are apparently older and parts are renovated. I got a room in the renovated area - - got there and realized that even the "renovated zone" is very very dated. It shows especially in the bathroom where the tub is peeled and old, the faucet has some rust on it, and the wooden cover under the sink is cracked.

The room itself is OK, although the overall setting is funny for a business traveller. The AC works but also looks pretty old... basically the place needs renovation and I don't see a reason for Sheraton to keep it this neglected with the amount of business travellers in this area.

if your company has a deal with the chain you can get free WiFi (otherwise not included and costs $10 a day). Same goes for a continental breakfast, only served on weekdays. Breakfast is not included otherwise.

For the price of the stay and with the options around the same area, this place is about to lose some business to the nearby hotels that make it easier for business people to get through a few days in Palo Alto.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors (3rd or 4th). Either way, the walls are very thin and you will hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    227
    226
    123
    51
See reviews for
120
77
53
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

It presents as a somewhat upscale hotel, but architecturally it's more of a motel: the guest rooms are accessed by walking across a courtyard from the main entrance, and most of the time you're actually entering and exiting via back doors that open out to the parking lot. I was in a ground level room next to sets of doors to both the courtyard and parking lot.

The door to the parking lot was unattended, and was supposed to require you to swipe your key card. However, it was broken the three nights I was there -- it just kind of swung free -- and anyone in Palo Alto could just have walked in. This struck me as a security issue, doubly so since the problem wasn't being expeditiously addressed.

The sound insulation was at the cheap-motel level. When arriving and departing guests hauled their rollers over the sidewalk in the courtyard, or from out back, it was pretty much like having it right next to my ears. The elevators next to the doors were noisy, and ran early and late. And my room was also next to the gym, and the exercise machines were pretty noisy too. Maybe my room was particularly bad, but I couldn't get to sleep before about midnight, and I couldn't stay asleep past 7:00. At this price range, the lack of sound treatment is, well, inexcusable.

Oh, and this is the only motel I've ever stayed in that charges for parking separately ($10/night).

The only good thing I have to report is the shower, which was better than a lot of the hotel showers I've encountered.

Room Tip: Better insist on something away from doors to the outside, elevators and gyms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AmumKabir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Sonoma County, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This Sheraton was easily accessible from all parts of Palo Alto and Menlo Park. The staff are great, everyone was very professional and welcoming. It was not cheap for the quality of the hotel and room.

Parking is also an extra $10, but the lot is quite full and some drivers take up two spaces. The hotel is surrounding by the parking lot, which seems to be always full. The walls and window are not well-insulated, so if you were on the first floor like me, you can hear the outside traffic noise and everyone else. The walls themselves are pretty thin so I was able to hear people's TVs and conversations. Also, my alarm clock didn't work and the plug seemed to keep falling out of the socket.

The heater is an older model and very noisy. The beds were very comfortable and everything was clean and neat. The bathroom was a little funny, with the sink being a triangle cutout next to the toilet which was next to the shower/tub combo. Sleep quality was so-so due to the outside noise.

Overall things seemed a little dated, but the great location and friendly service made up for anything lacking. This hotel could use a remodel and cleaner carpets! Ask for a room on an upper floor.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augusttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2013

It's a pretty decent hotel but the location is perfect. Two blocks to the start of downtown Palo Alto, and right next to Stanford, it couldn't be better for exploring the town on foot.

The room did have a slightly funny smell and it was a little noisy during the day, but those are pretty routine for hotels. The garden, on the other hand, is unusual, full of koi in a pretty artificial stream and pond.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ethan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Arrived to the Hotel , great mass , teenagers all around , that can be nice , but the amount of noise was too much , specially when you after long flight...
very basic property , But the location is really great.

I got upgraded room , that was renovated on the left side of the hotel , and it was decent.

Overall very average

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salvax239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This Hotel offers everything you need for a week-day or week-end stay. They are central to everything in Stanford. From Great Service to nightlife to Shopping everything is here. The swimming pool is my favorite hang out when the weather is nice as its the center of a Perfect relaxing day in my book. The hotel staff is very nice and the rooms offer everything I need. Just another wonderful Trip.

Room Tip: I enjoy a room facing the front of the Hotel. It offers a view of Stanford Property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I loved the bed here--it was among the most comfortable I've ever slept in, which meant a lot to me as I was just there to sleep. The desk and valet service was friendly and efficient, although I can't judge any of the others. The rates aren't cheap but are actually pretty good by Palo Alto standards. Due to huge demand by Stanford-related guests, the place is always hopping.

My problem with this hotel is the one I have with most hotels--loud noise from guests in the hallways as they return to their rooms late at night or leave in the morning. I was woken out of a sound sleep each of the two nights I was there; fortunately, the bed was so wonderful I was able to fall asleep again right away. Also, due to the large number of rooms on each hallway, cleaning seems to go on from early morning until evening, with vacuums and maids causing even more noise.

Nevertheless, I would definitely recommend this hotel to any traveler.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopeanderson09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.1 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
393 reviews
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
0.6 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Property: Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Address: 625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Silicon Valley near Stanford University and San Francisco Bay Area attractions like Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown, and Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Palo Alto
Palo Alto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing