We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff, but tired property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome staff, but tired property”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I stayed at this Joel in Feb. 2013. The hotel is a somewhat tired typical Sheraton set apart from downtown Palo Alto by about 5 to 10 min walk. Walking was easier than driving though as the hotel return required several "all around the block maneuvers" to allow for one way streets, etc.

Rooms were clean, but walls and carpets are older. Pool area is charming. Room service pretty good and better than I expected. Bathrooms are well lit but dated.

Walls are thin.

All that said, the staff are lovely and really do go out of their way to make your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Princess55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    234
    229
    124
    51
See reviews for
123
77
53
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Hotel and rooms look really dated. Carpets smell bad. Some rooms have weird configurations. Others are really noisy. Staff tries to do the best to manage a property that should have been remodeled a long time ago. It will probably won't happen as long as demand for hotel rooms in Silicon Valley is strong.

Room Tip: Great location - only stay there if you don't have anywhere to stay closeby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Lima, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The hotel is very well located because it is near downtown, the Stanford University and next to the train station. The rooms are very noisy, small and over priced. Inside the hotel looks more like a motel. The service is regular. I had a dinner the first night I arrived. The portions are large but low quality food. The waiter didn´t want to charge the bill to the room and asked me instead to paid at the restaurant. If you insist, they would charged it to your room. There are other choices in the area with better price - quality ratio.

Room Tip: The rooms with the window facing inside the hotel are less noisy. The rooms facing the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisDeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Before reserving this hotel for a business trip, I lowered my expectations based on the reviews I read here. Lo and behold - the reviews were 100% accurate.

The hotel is located exactly in front of the CalTrain station Palo Alto and on a road in the front. You walk in and notice the interior is quite dated. The next thing you run into is the very friendly and helpful staff of this hotel. Clearly there is a good manager behind this property because all the reviews praised the staff.

Next, your room. Parts of the hotel are apparently older and parts are renovated. I got a room in the renovated area - - got there and realized that even the "renovated zone" is very very dated. It shows especially in the bathroom where the tub is peeled and old, the faucet has some rust on it, and the wooden cover under the sink is cracked.

The room itself is OK, although the overall setting is funny for a business traveller. The AC works but also looks pretty old... basically the place needs renovation and I don't see a reason for Sheraton to keep it this neglected with the amount of business travellers in this area.

if your company has a deal with the chain you can get free WiFi (otherwise not included and costs $10 a day). Same goes for a continental breakfast, only served on weekdays. Breakfast is not included otherwise.

For the price of the stay and with the options around the same area, this place is about to lose some business to the nearby hotels that make it easier for business people to get through a few days in Palo Alto.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors (3rd or 4th). Either way, the walls are very thin and you will hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

It presents as a somewhat upscale hotel, but architecturally it's more of a motel: the guest rooms are accessed by walking across a courtyard from the main entrance, and most of the time you're actually entering and exiting via back doors that open out to the parking lot. I was in a ground level room next to sets of doors to both the courtyard and parking lot.

The door to the parking lot was unattended, and was supposed to require you to swipe your key card. However, it was broken the three nights I was there -- it just kind of swung free -- and anyone in Palo Alto could just have walked in. This struck me as a security issue, doubly so since the problem wasn't being expeditiously addressed.

The sound insulation was at the cheap-motel level. When arriving and departing guests hauled their rollers over the sidewalk in the courtyard, or from out back, it was pretty much like having it right next to my ears. The elevators next to the doors were noisy, and ran early and late. And my room was also next to the gym, and the exercise machines were pretty noisy too. Maybe my room was particularly bad, but I couldn't get to sleep before about midnight, and I couldn't stay asleep past 7:00. At this price range, the lack of sound treatment is, well, inexcusable.

Oh, and this is the only motel I've ever stayed in that charges for parking separately ($10/night).

The only good thing I have to report is the shower, which was better than a lot of the hotel showers I've encountered.

Room Tip: Better insist on something away from doors to the outside, elevators and gyms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AmumKabir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This Sheraton was easily accessible from all parts of Palo Alto and Menlo Park. The staff are great, everyone was very professional and welcoming. It was not cheap for the quality of the hotel and room.

Parking is also an extra $10, but the lot is quite full and some drivers take up two spaces. The hotel is surrounding by the parking lot, which seems to be always full. The walls and window are not well-insulated, so if you were on the first floor like me, you can hear the outside traffic noise and everyone else. The walls themselves are pretty thin so I was able to hear people's TVs and conversations. Also, my alarm clock didn't work and the plug seemed to keep falling out of the socket.

The heater is an older model and very noisy. The beds were very comfortable and everything was clean and neat. The bathroom was a little funny, with the sink being a triangle cutout next to the toilet which was next to the shower/tub combo. Sleep quality was so-so due to the outside noise.

Overall things seemed a little dated, but the great location and friendly service made up for anything lacking. This hotel could use a remodel and cleaner carpets! Ask for a room on an upper floor.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augusttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2013

It's a pretty decent hotel but the location is perfect. Two blocks to the start of downtown Palo Alto, and right next to Stanford, it couldn't be better for exploring the town on foot.

The room did have a slightly funny smell and it was a little noisy during the day, but those are pretty routine for hotels. The garden, on the other hand, is unusual, full of koi in a pretty artificial stream and pond.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ethan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.1 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#8 of 27 in Palo Alto
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
399 reviews
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
0.6 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Property: Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Address: 625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Silicon Valley near Stanford University and San Francisco Bay Area attractions like Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown, and Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Palo Alto
Palo Alto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing