We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good vibe” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good vibe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

First stay here as Westin fully booked. Building tired and dated but clean throughout. Staff could not have been more helpful. Club Room was large but basic. Bed really comfortable though. Lack of room safe a big negative. Room was not cleaned on first day due to misunderstanding which was remedied quickly. Bar and restaurant areas are nicely done with a calm and welcoming vibe and decent food. A very good mid priced hotel in a top location.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritchie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    221
    217
    118
    47
See reviews for
115
75
50
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed at this Sheraton hotel in Feb 2013 during a business trip to Silicon Valley.

It was a great experience from check-in at reception to a well-appointed room on the SPG floor to remote printing of business documents right from the room to excellent room service to the breakfast buffet.

The staff were courteous, friendly and very helpful and you could tell that there had been recent renovations to upgrade the facility.

All-in-all a great experience and I would be back in the same hotel if I'm ever again in the area.

Room Tip: Get free SPG membership and stay in SPG-designated rooms. The "Palo Alto" wing wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FemoYanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

After reading the other reviews, I can only conclude they are from jaded, overly spoiled business travelers, because I had a totally different experience. I found the property to be genteel, the service to be gracious, and my room to be luxuriously appointed (and clearly recently renovated; it looked brand new and quite modern). I had a room with a king-size bed overlooking the water garden, so it was very peaceful and quiet. I also greatly appreciated the extremely convenient location, across the road from Stanford and next to the CalTrain station. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the inner gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariz0nagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

First and foremost, I found it pathetic that a hotel in the Silicon Valley charges for WiFi when the local McDonalds provides it for free. The parking situation is confusing and un-user friendly to guests. Bottom line: expensive for only average. We felt nickeled and dimed to death.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FromOurManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

I stayed at this Joel in Feb. 2013. The hotel is a somewhat tired typical Sheraton set apart from downtown Palo Alto by about 5 to 10 min walk. Walking was easier than driving though as the hotel return required several "all around the block maneuvers" to allow for one way streets, etc.

Rooms were clean, but walls and carpets are older. Pool area is charming. Room service pretty good and better than I expected. Bathrooms are well lit but dated.

Walls are thin.

All that said, the staff are lovely and really do go out of their way to make your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Princess55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Hotel and rooms look really dated. Carpets smell bad. Some rooms have weird configurations. Others are really noisy. Staff tries to do the best to manage a property that should have been remodeled a long time ago. It will probably won't happen as long as demand for hotel rooms in Silicon Valley is strong.

Room Tip: Great location - only stay there if you don't have anywhere to stay closeby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

The hotel is very well located because it is near downtown, the Stanford University and next to the train station. The rooms are very noisy, small and over priced. Inside the hotel looks more like a motel. The service is regular. I had a dinner the first night I arrived. The portions are large but low quality food. The waiter didn´t want to charge the bill to the room and asked me instead to paid at the restaurant. If you insist, they would charged it to your room. There are other choices in the area with better price - quality ratio.

Room Tip: The rooms with the window facing inside the hotel are less noisy. The rooms facing the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisDeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.1 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Property: Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Address: 625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Silicon Valley near Stanford University and San Francisco Bay Area attractions like Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown, and Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Palo Alto
Palo Alto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing