We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near downtown Palo Alto” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Near downtown Palo Alto”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The rooms are dated but the location to downtown you can't beat. Breakfast near the pool in the morning as a Platinum amenity is nice as it's buffet style. Nice touch. I always compare the pricing of the Sheraton vs. Westin as they are next door to each other. Both properties are very popular for housing wedding parties.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAWorldTraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    220
    217
    118
    47
See reviews for
115
75
50
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
zurich
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Ended up staying at this Sheraton as every other "quality" hotel in the valley was full and/or charging NYC prices (I ended paying $350+VAT!). I got upgraded to a Club room on the quiet side of the hotel so the room itself was quiet untilI woke up thinking somebody entered in my room: the walls are really paper thin. It was really like the person was standing next to me...

Room Tip: Avoid the train/track side and overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nico_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed two nights on business in October 2013. Hotel probably once was charming and well appointed, but everything about it felt tired and dated, from the furniture in the poolside area to the overall design (very 1960s), and beyond. The room still had wallpaper and carpet that looked like it could have been the room where Mrs Robinson and Benjamin filmed The Graduate. Room furniture was uncomfortable, esp. the desk chair. All would have been fine were this a Super 8 motel on the I-84 roadside outside Hartford CT, but this is Palo Alto and for $400/night one might expect better from a mid-range Starwood property.

On the plus side, bathrooms were good and staff are friendly and courteous. Location is very convenient.

Agree with Goooze - at $400/night it would not kill their economics to throw in the WiFi free.

Room Tip: I think the best rooms in this place are probably at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SafariKBFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times now for business. The cost is way high and doesn't even include internet. One time there was a huge sinkhole in the bed that tweaked my back. Another time I accidentally left a pair of gym shorts -- when I called the hotel afterwards they said they could ship to me but I would have to pay the $18 to FedEx them! Seriously? I've paid literally thousands of dollars to stay at this location and they can't ship my shorts back for a few bucks on USPS? I'll just buy a new pair of shorts.

Other notes: room service gratuity is automatically included. Doesn't that defeat the purpose? They also don't point this out and leave a big gaping tip box for you to accidentally get overcharged.

The lights are dim and mostly controlled by switches right on them rather than wall switches. So to light/dim the room you have to walk around to 3+ lamps and switch each of them individually.

I'd much rather stay at a Holiday Inn with a kitchenette, free internet, fair pricing, and light switches that make sense.

Room Tip: Avoid train noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrFaizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The Sheraton standard must be dropping. This is an old hotel. Needs a complete overhaul. But location is good. Most annoying thing is having to pay for wifi, someone's making a quick buck out of that one. When every other 2* inn I stayed at on my trip can offer free wifi its annoying to have to pay for it here.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bannorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California, USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I was on a business travel in that hotel for a week.
The hotel was quite comfortable. I was only SPG gold member but I got upgraded to club room. The food in club was as expected.
It's location is really right next to Palo Alto Caltrain station which is very convenient as a traveler without a car.
Printing from personal laptop to public printer is very easy and safe. (You get a passcode after submitting document which is needed at printing station to pull your job.)

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy0627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I went back to Stanford back in June and stayed here with my family. The place is very well managed with professional, friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are spacious, clean and shiny. The place is quite popular for events held at Stanford and you might want to make reservations ahead of your schedule if you're going to the area for something big.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zhou L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.1 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Property: Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Address: 625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Silicon Valley near Stanford University and San Francisco Bay Area attractions like Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown, and Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Palo Alto
Palo Alto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing