We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location - Standard Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
282 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good Location - Standard Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

still great location next to the train station and 5min walk from University Avenue in Palo Alto. Try to get a room facing the courtyard or pool which are much quiter. Room are standard Sheraton and it looks like some refurbishing is going on, at least the hallways.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet K, Manager at Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Rpitton,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. I'm pleased to hear that you found our location convenient during your travels. I'm sorry to hear that the refurbishments affected your visit. Thank you for your understanding during this time and we hope that we may see you on a future visit to the Palo Alto area.

Kindest Regards,

Gurpreet K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    222
    221
    119
    50
See reviews for
117
75
51
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

These two hotels are right next door to each and each is definitely OK. I believe that the Westin has nicer rooms, though most weeks you would pay more for them. My wife points out that the Sheraton has a better gym and pool, nicer landscaping, and that it is easier to park in its surface lot than underground at the Westin. Can't go far wrong either way. Will definitely stay there again.

Both are walkable to downtown PA, the Caltrans railroad station, the Town and Country shopping center, and Stanford Stadium. The University campus is so large that you'd probably want to drive to other parts of it or the Stanford Mall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden courtyard rather than the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

"When are we getting up tomorrow honey? 8.30 - why so late? Are you taking a shower now ... Bla bla bla". This was the conversation going on in the room next to mine at 23.55 in the evening and you could hear every world loud and clear. The first star goes because this is an old hotel in need of an upgrade. The second goes because the aircondition is an old noisy model and the last one goes because you can't get a good sleep if there are people in the room next to you or if your room is facing the train track. Plus point for friendly staff and good breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Morten Juel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
266 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel was chosen for us. We found it to meet all of our needs. It has free parking. There is a fun shopping centre and Trader Joe's within walking distance. The bed was very comfortable. Our room had a refrigerator. We turned on the heat because the temperature was cool. There are two windows--one is two storeys high. I appreciate the natural lighting a lot. The room is spacious and nicely furnished.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisterandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I can't understand why there are so few "decent" hotels in Silicon Valley. The advantage of the Sheraton is actually has a bar and restaurant (of sorts) but it seems to be slightly schizophrenic - a business hotel that is trying to be a "resort" i.e. built around a swimming pool.
The hotel is very very dull, décor bland, rooms bland, everything is adequate but uninspiring. Surprised that there are no safes in the rooms. Lighting in bathrooms was terrible and not much better in the rooms. Upside is there is a coffee machine, but no mini-bar. I've stayed here a couple of times, and not really by choice - but there are so few alternatives. The Westin next door has a nicer bar and bar menu and it's literally just a walk across the car park.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slamdunk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The room was fine and the bed super comfortable. Bathroom well equipped. Accommodations were pretty dated, especially the sofa section. Strange room layout as well, with a tv unit as a room divider in the middle of the room.
Property centrally located, check in staff friendly. Check out in the early morning not so good - staff didn't have the same professionality. The layout of the property does mean a fair walk from the room to reception or the parking lot.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ybella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Cloud, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Frankly not at all impressed by this hotel. Pricey stay for a motel... The rooms are OK, but the A/C heating system makes a terrible noise. You have to pay for everything: wifi 9.95 / day, parking 14 / day (despite the fact that it's pretty difficult to get there by any other means...).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.1 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Property: Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Address: 625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Silicon Valley near Stanford University and San Francisco Bay Area attractions like Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown, and Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Palo Alto
Palo Alto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing