We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and service make this a solid choice!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great location and service make this a solid choice!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Spent a Saturday night here with a party of 3. Lots of hotel staff, very engaging, and very competent. Check-in was smooth and room was terrific (1097). A big international hotel destination which made the people watching lots of fun. Early morning coffee bar and complimentary newspapers were nice touches. Starwood membes get late check-outs -- used this while shopping at nearby Stanford Shopping Center. Thought the buffet breakfast was a wonderfully prepared varietey of foods, plus eggs cooked to order, omellettes, too. Had drinks around the pool with propane heating. This was the night of the 6.1 earthquake in Napa -- we were awakened by the jarring of the bed but the premises withstood the quake just fine. All good here.

Room Tip: First floor rooms may have lanai with chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MangoChetney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet K, Manager at Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear MangoChetney,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location and service to your liking. I'm sorry to hear that you were awoken by the earthquake in Napa. I hope that did not affect your travels. If you are ever in the Palo Alto area, we hope you choose us again.

With warmth,

Gurpreet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    220
    217
    118
    47
See reviews for
115
75
50
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I had a very good stay here because I read the reviews on tripadvisor and other sites. Therefore, I was aware of the noise problems especially from the nearby trains. So when I made my reservation I asked for a quiet room away from the train station on a higher floor (I got the 4th) facing the pond area (not the swimming pool) and I tiold them that I didn't mind walking a distance to get to the room. The result, I had a very quiet room where I didn't hear the trains (and maybe it was the timing) or any other noises even from the adjacent rooms.
The hotel itself is somewhat old school/motelish. The room itself was reasonable large; the bed not too soft or hard; and the bathroom pretty much standard with a shower/tub combo. The only problem that I encountered is that I could not figure out how to adjust the thermostat, although I didn't bother to call the front desk because I am that lazy. There is a small work-out room with three stairmasters and three elipticals and a rack of weights.
The staff members were uniformily friendly and helpful - especially Felix at the front desk. The patio restaurant next to the pool was fine. I didn't eat at any of the other venues.
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from downtown Palo Alto and the Stanford University campus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pond on a higher floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: I chose not to have maid service because I was only there two days and they gave me $5 a day in vouchers usable at the hotel restaurants.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank resipsaloquitur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet K, Manager at Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hello Resipsaloquitur,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Tripadvisor community. I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you a nice room facing the water garden. I'm sorry to hear about your experience with the thermostat and assure you that it will be taken care of for our next guest. We appreciate your kind words about Felix. He is an asset to our team and we love having him here. We hope to welcome you again to our property the next time you are in this area.

Best,

Gurpreet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I spent a week at the Palo Alto Sheraton this month, so I was able to get a good glimpse of their operation.

First impression - The check-in staff were friendly and positive people, even at 11pm. They were very helpful in getting situated and genuinely nice to deal with. No issues, no confusion,...
This mindset carries across to all of their staff that I met. All were courteous and friendly with an apparent zeal for making their guests feel at home. It worked.

Room - My first room was clean (I ended up switching just to have a single bed instead of two) but it had an odd smell. As if some food had been spilled long ago and not shampooed up. My second room was much better in that regard. I overlooked the courtyard which was pleasant by day, and quiet by night compared to the back of the hotel which is next to the Cal Train tracks.

TIP****get a room facing the pool/courtyard. You'll be much happier not having the train whistle/vibration/noise wake you up starting around 5am and continuing all day.

I tend to only want me room cleaned every other day or every 3rd day. Mainly because I'm working out of the room and leaving for a few hours to let them clean doesn't really fit the schedule. However, they were gracious and accommodating to my schedule when I asked for a specific time to have my room serviced and they met it on the dot. My only knock is that the glass topped coffee table and bedside table were not dusted and apparently had not been in quite some time.

Overall, if you have to stay

Room Tip: Courtyard/pool facing rooms are much quieter. Avoid the back of the hotel because of the train trac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dino-pravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet K, Manager at Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Dino-pravo,

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your complements about our staff. Our housekeeping staff will be delighted to hear of your experience with their service. I am sorry that you faced some issues with your rooms at the time of your arrival. I understand that can be very frustrating. I'm glad our front office staff was able to change you over to a room that was more to your liking. I hope we have the pleasure to host you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Gurpreet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This Sheraton is only acceptable because of its location in silicon valley. Everywhere else it would be overpriced. No mini bar, no safe in the room. The carpets are old and dirty (4th floor) and the interior is from the 80s. The wine selection in the resto is decent but not more. It's still one of the better ones in Palo Alto but again, in any other city it would be unacceptable.

Room Tip: Specifically ask for a room with patio or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TobiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet K, Manager at Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear TobiJoe,

Please accept my apologies that your stay was not up to our usual standards. I will make sure your feedback is shared with our management team so we may address the concerns brought up. I would appreciate you reaching out to me personally so I may make an effort to ensure your next stay exceeds your expectations.

Kindest regards,

Gurpreet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Malibu, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at the Sheraton a few times for business this year. While the location is good the hotel is average at best. Rooms are large & clean but it appears that this was once a "motor hotel" so not much they can do about that.
There are train tracks out back so no matter which part of the hotel you stay in you WILL hear them. Be prepared not to sleep late.
Book very early as the rates increase to the point of crazy from $235 a month in advance to over $550 the week / day prior.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4kona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet K, Manager at Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hello 4kona,

Please allow me to apologize for not meeting your expectations for your most recent stay with us. I understand the noise from the train can be frustrating. Please reach out to me personally if you are ever in the Palo Alto area so I may seize the opportunity to place you in a quiet room to your liking. We want to welcome you again and hope you will give us another chance.

With warmth,

Gurpreet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Sheraton is across the street from the Stanford University campus, just a few steps away from a large mall and the Town and Country shopping center that has many restaurants and nice boutiques, and just a couple of blocks away from the down town University Avenue and surrounding area which has many restaurants, bars, and stores. From the moment we set foot in the hotel to when we left, the service was outstanding. All employees were courteous, helpful and friendly, and this includes the telephone reservation agents.
Another feature I liked very much , was the centrally located pool with the surrounding seating area with restaurant and bar service. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet K, Manager at Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hello Cartherine R,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Tripadvisor community. I am pleased to hear that you found our location convenient to your travels. I too love how close of a walk we are to the restaurant and bars in downtown Palo Alto. I thank you for your complements of our staff and know they will be delighted hearing your kind words. I hope to welcome you and your family again to our property in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Gurpreet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Sheraton used to be a chain of nice clean and confortable hotels. This one is not. The rooms are spacious but not very clean. The baths need a serious refurbishement. The pool is filthy and the poolside "beds" are so dirty and old that it is almost impossible to sit on them.

Room Tip: Far away from the pool and the small pond.... the fountains are terribly noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giulonragu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet K, Manager at Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Giulonragu,

Thank you for your feedback via TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to expectations and would appreciate the opportunity to make amends. Please reach out to me personally at gkaur@pahotel.com.

I hope to hear from you.

Sincerely,

Gurpreet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.1 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Property: Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Address: 625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Silicon Valley near Stanford University and San Francisco Bay Area attractions like Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown, and Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Palo Alto
Palo Alto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing