We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good place for the money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Palo Alto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
427 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“a good place for the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

If you need a place to stay in Palo Alto, this little inn is comfortable and clean. It's not fancy, but for the money you get a good night's sleep. Everything is expensive around here and this inn was within our price range. We did not hear street noise and that is high on our priority level, as well as a good mattress on the bed and this inn had both.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeisverygood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    50
    61
    13
    17
See reviews for
34
27
23
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Mostly updated room, flat screen tv, bed soft, several pillows, excellent breakfast. We've had to stay in this area several times over the last 2 years and this was definitely good for the price. If you need to go to Stanford, then this is a good place to stay. We hadn't gotten reservations in advance, as I recalled lots of unchained motels offering specials, of which there were still a few, but we chose this over these because it looked cleaner, more secure and well lit, and was within a lot of those specials' price range. It needs a hot tub, though! All that traffic is so stressful! It was quiet and the rooms were nice; not in the $120+ category, but definitely okay. The Olive Garden is just a few blocks away, Baja Fresh is across the street, and Jack in the Box, Jamba Juice, several other very edible eateries were very close.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamiasMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed at this motel 3 or 4 years ago and it was ok. In November 2011 stayed here again and found it to be refurbished and much to my wife's liking. Clean modern rooms and friendly staff. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Okie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Very clean room, everything looks recently updated (not including the CRT TV). The included breakfast was nice for the price. I stayed here while on an interview at Stanford, the distance is 4 miles (which is great if you have your own car, but comes up to $15+tip by cab each way). My room was on the second floor somewhat close to the road (El Camino Real), even then I hardly heard any of the traffic.

It's also easy to get to food, just across the road are Baja fresh, Jamba Juice and a very good Thai restaurant called Rice (3 minutes walking distance away). Overall great value for money considering the expensive neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seaf00dGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

It's a bed that is fairly comfortable. It's a breakfast that is edible. It was inexpensive and got the job done.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sambas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covina, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

My experience was similar to other reviewers. I wish I had read them first. It was subpar for the neighborhood. When we found a stained sheet, the manager handed us a new sheet and started to walk away, saying he was too busy to help. Later, and late that night, we found suspicious hairs on the fitted sheet. It was so late and hotels were full, that we slept in our clothes between the top sheet and whatever else for a cover. In the morning, we found unclean, folded for use, towels. The manager was arrogant, as one of your reviewers stated. On the first complaint, he simply said that there were no other rooms and we couldn't have a refund. When I complained to Choice Hotels, however, the telephone operator was very nice, took all the information, seemed appalled, and opened an inquiry.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Modesto, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Could be better maintained. With the door locked and double locked you could see around it to the outside. Furniture and TV were old and outdated. Breakfast was terrible primarily due to lack of decent seating and cold breakfast foods. Desk personnel were average but housekeeping seemed to do a good job .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hunters101291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.4 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Palo Alto Silicon Valley
0.5 mi away
Stanford Motor Inn
Stanford Motor Inn
#19 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Palo Alto

Property: Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Address: 3945 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-3319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Palo Alto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join the Comfort Inn Stanford University in Palo Alto, a convenient, family and pet friendly Northern California coastal hotel near San Jose Airport, Stanford Shopping, and Paramount's Great America, for exciting West Coast getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Inn Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Palo Alto Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing