We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great service, great staff”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Seldom have I stayed in a hotel with such delightful staff, smiling, helpful, in the most genuine way. Shuttle service is quite reliable, many places close by. Breakfast was tasty with great selection of fresh fruit, local cheeses, and the usual breakfast fare. I will return next time in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Margaret F.,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Cabana Hotel. I'm glad you found the staff so helpful, we take a lot of pride in being hospitable! We are now in the process of implementing a whole new series of menus in the restaurant and lounge, I hope you have the opportunity to sample them on your next visit.

Sincerely,
David Issel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    182
    102
    46
    24
See reviews for
102
58
37
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I didn't love the crown plaza, but I liked it enough to give it a good review. I prefer the Westin...well the Rosewood in menlo park is really my fave...but both are pricey and I felt Crowne Plaza was a good value. Clean and comfortable rooms, and friendly staff. A nice touch...an aromatherapy pack from a UK company called Temple Spa Quietude in your room...felt so luxurious! Wonderful way to de-stress. Downside...the entry into most guest rooms are on the exterior. For a feeling of security i prefer to be inside a hotel (that's probably a false sense of security!) The room was nice but The ceiling needed minor aesthetic repairs. the restaurant is pleasant and the food is rather good. Pretty hotel, slightly sterile feeling. But overall pleasant and convenient. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor, interior room. Unless you are handicapped...some stairs there, no ramp. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Diane P.,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Cabana Hotel. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked our new amenities. The Temple Spa line is a brand new addition this year, along with the all-new bedding in the rooms, as part of the Crowne Plaza refresh program.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit!

Sincerely,
David Issel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Crown is definitely one of the best in the area. Some of the hotels around Palo Alto and Sunnyvale hotels can be a bit like holiday Chalets. So this one is definitely one I'll be visiting again.

It's a good hotel for a business trip. Restaurant/bar areas are welcoming. Didn't have time to use the pool, but the pool area looked nice. Rooms are a good size with all the expected facilities. There's a good shopping mall not too far away, and decent restaurants within the area. So good if you're on a business trip and want to escape a bit on your own at the end of the day.

Would be worth hiring a car to get around. Taxi pick ups from the hotel take ages.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear DebbieDLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Cabana Hotel. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. I do hope you have a chance to enjoy the pool, largest in the area, on your next visit, and we offer poolside food and beverage service on the weekends! I also wanted to let you know that the hotel does offer a local shuttle service within a 5 mile radius, so next time you won't have to wait for a taxi.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Sincerely,
David Issel
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

My wife and I spent the long Easter weekend in Palo Alto which was deserted since spring break had just begun. The Crowne Plaza Cabana is centrally located on El Camino Real. Hotel parking was always adequate. Front desk person was pleasant and professional, and upgraded us to a 2-room junior suite based on my wife's frequent flyer cards. Our suite was clean and tastefully appointed; not luxurious but comfortable with a sitting room as large as the bedroom. This hotel was built decades ago by iconic actress, Doris Day, and has been restored decently by its current owner, BB Patel. The hotel info book in our room boasted of previous guests that included the Beatles, Rolling Stones, Bush Sr and Jr, and Bill Clinton when he dropped off Chelsea at Stanford (we were staying at nearby Woodside during that week). The average-sized circular lobby maintains the Art Deco motif of the 60s, and is uniquely ringed with small meeting rooms. The circular mezzanine hallway brings you to a decent-sized fitness Center. We didn't bother to dine in the hotel restaurant since there are dozens of excellent places within walking or short driving distance. We also had the chance to run outside twice in the early mornings. The corner next to the hotel (Los Altos) brings you to a Neighborhood that has a quiet bike/jogging path along the border of Palo Alto and Los Altos. I wouldn't mind staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbes2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed here one night on college visit to nearby Stanford. Clean, centrally-located, friendly staff. Beds are comfortable. Toiletries are good quality. They give a little sampler of products from the spa which is a nice touch. Doors could be a little more soundproof; you can actually see light around the door and hear everything in the hall.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear sjc43,

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Cabana Hotel, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I was sorry to see that there was an issue in your room with light, please know that we are having the maintenance team check the weatherstripping on all doors to be sure they are appropriately sealed. Thank you again, and we look forward to being of service on a future visit.

Sincerely,
David Issel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

My company, headquartered in Palo Alto, put me up at the Crown Plaza Cabana Palo Alto for 8 days. The location and staff are two key attributes of this hotel. The front desk staff will make sure you're welcomed and taken care of during your stay and will be very helpful in guiding you to points of interest around town. The restaurant staff are equally customer oriented.

My stay included the breakfast buffet. The food was well prepared but the menu was EXACTLY the same each and every day. I got sick of it after a week. Do yourself a favor and order off the menu every now and then. The Eggs Benedict was very good.

The Beatles stayed here in the 60s apparently. Not quite a selling point for me. The decor inside is pleasant and not as dated as the hotel itself but again the key attraction isn't the hotel but rather its location near all the Palo Alto tech companies.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sojoerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Sojoerner,

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Cabana Hotel. We value all guest feedback, and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and in particular that you found the staff to be so helpful. We take great pride in the service we provide, and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,
David Issel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This hotel is typical four-star business travel/conference style. If you're staying here, it's probably for one of those two reasons. Definitely in good condition and clean. Some might call it a little dated, but it didn't appear old in anyway. I'd definitely recommend it at the right price, but there's no reason to pay extra to stay here if another comparable hotel is less. The hotel also has a nice-looking pool that's probably fun in the spring and summer. Free coffee and orange juice at the restaurant at breakfast.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms by the pool are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.2 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
943 reviews
1.2 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
3.4 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.6 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Palo Alto

Property: Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Address: 4290 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#7 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Palo Alto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Silicon Valley has to offer at the beautiful and comfortable Crowne Plaza Cabaña Hotel & Resort. You will find legendary comfort and modern luxury at one of the most premiere locations in Palo Alto. Affordable elegance and hospitality are waiting for you. After spending a full day browsing Palo Alto s charming boutiques, art galleries, and Stanford University, only 2.5 miles away, retreat to one of our 194 guest rooms decorated with casual Californian elegance and superb views of the peninsula or of the Santa Cruz Mountains. Guests will experience the height of relaxation with our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program, which includes: Comfortable New Beds, Sleep Amenities, and Guaranteed Wake-Up Call. Revitalize in the morning with our in-room coffee maker and complimentary gourmet coffee. The Crowne Plaza Cabaña Hotel & Resort is also proud to be one of the premiere certified 'Green' Hotels in Santa Clara County. Steeped in history, tradition and elegance, the Crowne Plaza Cabaña Hotel & Resort combines luxurious amenities of a vacation destination with all the high tech necessities of today's savvy business traveler. Surrounded by World Headquarters of HP, Google, SAP, Intuit, Sun Microsystems, & Yahoo, just to name a few. Come and enjoy what is the talk of the Silicon Valley, the 'new' Crowne Plaza Cabaña Hotel & Resort Palo Alto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Palo Alto Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing