We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bagels; some employees need some training”

Izzy's Brooklyn Bagels
Ranked #1 of 12 Bakeries in Palo Alto
Restaurant details
Pasadena, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good bagels; some employees need some training”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have been there multiple times (almost every day) for a chunk of time during a business trip. Sometimes I would order just for myself, other times for the group.

The bagels are really good, as are the different cream cheese spreads. Highly recommended.

On three occasions I was somewhat disappointed:
1. Got there once right before opening at 6 AM. They opened the doors just after 6 but weren't ready (coffee/creamers not out, etc.).
2. There is one item I always wanted and a few times they didn't have it. It seems they don't bake them first thing and then they run out quickly.
3. One time the employee completely confused my order (a bagel for now plus half dozen for later) and I ended up with 4 bagels (but I found out once I was already 20 minutes away).

Overall it's a great place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pelesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    30
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good bagels”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Been there three times. Lots of students and tourists, and usually fairly long lines to order, which moves relatively quickly. Food is relatively inexpensive and good for the price. I usually order bagels with lox special at 4.99 and a cup of coffee. I always order toasted because the order taker can't tell me if the bagel is soft (that is, just baked) or not. Coffee is decent. Limited seating, inside out out and very busy, but people move in and out quickly so have never had a problem finding a seat. Lots of kids running around.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“The line short and moves fast, the bagels are worth it”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

It's wonderful to get here early in the morning and even later in the day for the smell of Izzy's fresh baked challah and bagels are a delight.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank marcopolopaloalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“BIALYS”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Great tasteing bialys. Closest to NY you will find only doule the size. I live 200 miles away and cll them that i am comeing and they have them freshly ready when I arrive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOEL Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good bagels, lots of variety”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

What a bagel should be. Lots of choices of flavors and toppings. Busy on weekends, but staff moves fast.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy7227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Izzy's Brooklyn Bagels also viewed

 

Been to Izzy's Brooklyn Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing