We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gluten-free” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Maxine

Bistro Maxine
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Maxine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 22 Dessert in Palo Alto
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“gluten-free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I was so delighted that the chef understood the difference between wanting to eat gluten-free and NEEDING to eat gluten-free at the microscopic level due to Celiac disease. It was a pleasure and comforting to speak with someone who grasped this and enabled us to avoid having a health problem. We didn't stay but feel secure recommending this restaurant due to the chef's understanding and honesty. Kudos to the chef!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank redwhiteandblue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great cafe for crepes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is a cute little cafe that makes very tasty crepes, especially savory ones! Their fresh squeezed juices are also very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Isil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super crêperie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is such a sweet little restaurant specializing in crepes, coffee and hot chocolate. It's a small French bistro-type affaire, with limited seating and loads of charm. The crepes are among the best you'll get in Palo Alto and I count it among the top cafe au lait establishments as well. Ramona is a lovely side street off of University, with a preponderance of Spanish colonial buildings. It always seems bright and sunny here. You'll be lucky to get one of the few small outdoor tables. Service has always been good, although the restaurant has a small kitchen work space so it's undertandably a little hard to keep up when its busy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank globetravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“quelle surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Maxine's is tiny, and they're known for exactly two things: crepes and hot chocolate. The other hot chocolate place in town is Coupa Cafe (where the crepes are thick and overwrought). If you order anything else at Maxine's, you're going to be very disappointed. But it's a real french place, just like any little creperie in a smallish town in france somewhere. Service is with a smile but not the fastest. If you're jonesing for a Real Crepe this place fills the bill.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bbulkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
477 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Surprising Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Went to the Bistro on a busy Friday night. The restaurant has very limited seating, 6-7 tables and not much ambiance unless you chose one of the two tables on the sidewalk. Despite the lack of ambiance our dining experience was very good. The crepes were delicious and reminded us of the small creperies in Paris. We had three different crepe selections at our table and each of us enjoyed our choice. I thought the Poulet a la Creme was probably the best. We finished the meal with a Nutella crepe that was delicious. Glad we tried this little restaurant

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Maxine also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Bistro Maxine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing