We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good!”

Smokie Mountain Steakhouse
Ranked #30 of 44 Restaurants in Paradise
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Smokie Mountain Steak House & Lounge is a premier restaurant serving the best steak house fare in Paradise. After being sold to new owners, original owners Gary and Pam Keenan bought the restaurant back and are proud to again be serving Paradise and the surrounding Chico community. We serve only aged prime steaks, the freshest seafood, and the best produce available.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not good!”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The sirloin steaks we ordered were undercooked and tough with too much fat. The sides that came with the steak on this overpriced meal consisted of a small baked potato and a few unseasoned whole cooked baby carrots. We definitely won't eating there again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary K, Owner at Smokie Mountain Steakhouse, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Our apologies for the late response. We're just starting to get active on Tripadvisor, and we wanted to be sure to address your review.

We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal. When it comes to preparing steaks, our chefs are experts, so it's surprising that you found your sirloin tough and overcooked. Did you inform your server? If a customer brings their dissatisfaction to our attention, we always do whatever we can to fix the problem.

As for our prices, we use only the freshest, highest quality ingredients and hope a meal with us is worth the cost.

Although we wish you'd had a better time, we appreciate your feedback. We are always trying to improve and take constructive criticism to heart.

Sincerely,
Gary and Pam Keenan, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for Date Night”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Good steaks, large portions, and nice atmosphere. Sometimes has a band on Friday and Saturday nights.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary K, Owner at Smokie Mountain Steakhouse, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Katherine,

Thanks for your excellent review. (Sorry for the very late response! We're just starting to get active on Tripadvisor.) We're happy to hear you enjoy our food and ambiance. Delicious steaks in a relaxed environment—that's what we're all about! We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Gary and Pam Keenan, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reno
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good meat stop”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Always have good food at this place. Need to check days of operation since they are not open everyday. Worth a stop.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary K, Owner at Smokie Mountain Steakhouse, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. (Sorry for the late response. We're just starting to get active on Tripadvisor.) It's great to hear you're a fan of our restaurant. You're right—our hours are somewhat irregular. For future reference, here they are:

Wednesday-Saturday: 5:00 p.m. (Our lounge now opens at 5, too!)
* Kitchen closes at 10:00 p.m. Friday and Saturday
* Kitchen closes at 9:00 p.m. Wednesday and Thursday

Keep in mind that we open later in the summertime. If you ever have any questions about our hours, just give us a call!

Thanks again for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back next time!

All the best,
Gary and Pam Keenan, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, Ca
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Steak house”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This is our upper end steak house. Large booths, full bar, white linen napkins etc. It's ok. This is where you want to go to get that classy meal feeling in Paradise. Don't get your hopes up too much. It's just ok. Not bad food, a little pricey, but definately worth it once in a while.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaibacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san luis obispo
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We have relatives in Paradise and have been going to this restaurant on occasion for 15 years. Last year I remember being a little disappointed but was willing to consider it the off night one sometimes experiences in a decent place. This summer, however, we found the food to be really and truly bad. The "steamed clams" appeared to have been previously frozen (one hint being they were served on the half-shell) and the ribs my wife usually relishes didn't even rate a doggy-bag.

Helpful?
3 Thank u-roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smokie Mountain Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Smokie Mountain Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing