We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place to Stay in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ponderosa Gardens Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Paradise
Tulare, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Only Place to Stay in Paradise”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I frequently visit friends in Paradise/Magalia and this is the best hotel in town. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with a small porch for smokers. The pool is shallow (no diving!) but a comfortable temperture. The hot tub is warm and relaxing in a forest setting. The continental breakfasts include hot or cold cereal, assorted fruit and danish, orange juice, and coffee, and there are also refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee-makers in the rooms. It's also close to restaurants in town. It's the only place I stay when I'm in Paradise.

Room Tip: I liked the two queen bed rooms away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    28
    4
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
31
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
reno
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Very nice setting. Always stop there when in the area. For motorcycles it is a good place to stop since you can park near the room. Easy walk to good eats. Its like being at a quiet resort although it is right in town. Huge rooms, great beds, perfect patios and setting. Would have given it a an excellent rating however in the years we have visited it has shown its age a bit. Toilet seat very worn, flow diffuser missing on faucet, patched side table, shower drain nearly inoperative. Two others in our group has some issues with spiders in the rooms. Guess the 8 leggers were looking for a warm place for the winter. Will go back again.

Room Tip: High school is nearby and during football season hope for games with no overtime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We've stayed in this fine motel in the past. Did not do so this trip as we were looking to save some cash!
In the past, we've found the Ponderosa to be clean, comfortable and hospitable with beautiful grounds, large pool and fine hot tub.
Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Garden-facing rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WBrecheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We have family in Paradise and go there to visit for a day or two at a time. The Ponderosa is an "old school" family motel--nothing fancy, but very clean and comfortable. We stayed in a double queen which was very spacious and quiet. Nice, clean pool but we couldn't get the hot tub to work. All in all, a good option for the area.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank vpmamaoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Heights, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I choose this place because they would allow the pet but as it turned out I didn't need to bring her. This was a business trip to Magalia and I needed something cheap. I also wanted breakfast and refrigerator because I'm not a fan of eating out for three meals a day and like to bring my own. My husband came with me. This place, first and foremost, is really pretty and quaint and very quiet. You will probably drive right by it and not even know its there even though its only a few hundred yards from the highway . The breakfast consisted of fresh fruit and juices, coffe, tea, peanut butter and toast, bagels and other fresh pastries. The room was huge, clean and offered free wifi. The pool and hottub were sparkiling and uncrowded. I used the hot tub all three nights even though it was snowing. I will definately stay here again and highly recommend this for romance. The decor style is not modern or hip but again the room was clean, large and well appointed. Eat at the little Thai restaurant up the road. Avoid the Prime Rib steak house across the highway.

Room Tip: Prices are already fair, no negotiating needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SeaSpOts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2011

This is by far the best place, outside of
the Hampton Inn in North Carolina,
that we have ever had the pleasure to
spend our resting time, after the
highways and byways.

The price was reasonable (almost
100 dollars for two) and they even
accepted our well-behaved cat,
who we made sure did not damage
the bedspreads or anything else.

The breakfast was great, the quiet
forested ambiance was a delight.
Frankly, I did not want to leave ~~~
EVER.

The people who own and manage this
inn are perfectionists. Sandra, I think
is the one lady, is a cat person and we
were instant kindred souls.

The bed was so comfortable I called later
fo find out what brand it was. Slept like
a baby .. think it was a Serta.

If you stay there, please be good tenants,
and don't leave a mess behind. These
people deserve great clients.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

This was a very pretty, clean and friendly place to stay. Their Christmas decorations were over the top. Wonderful room, great hot tub by the pool in a great setting. Would recommend this place for anyone traveling in that part of California. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim2475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise
1.2 mi away
Paradise Lodge
Paradise Lodge
#2 of 7 in Paradise
86 reviews
10.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
11.9 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
554 reviews
18.8 mi away
Gold Country Casino & Hotel
10.4 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#3 of 17 in Chico
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Gardens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Gardens Motel

Property: Ponderosa Gardens Motel
Address: 7010 Skyway, Paradise, CA 95969-3910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Paradise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ponderosa Gardens Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ponderosa Gardens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Gardens Hotel Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing