We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need some down time?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ponderosa Gardens Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Paradise
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Need some down time?”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Paradise? Well yeah! Paradise California is aptly named. Paradise is a really pretty place in the western Sierra foothills, a pretty morning or afternoon drive across the Sierra's from Reno and just off California Highway 70.

Ponderosa Gardens was an excellent choice for us while visiting Paradise because we wanted some down time around a nice pool. This property fit the bill perfectly. There are about 28 units arranged in a way that creates a large landscaped courtyard and pool/jacuzzi space. Take a look at the pictures, it really is that pretty in person. If you don't wish to be near the pool there is a fifth building set in a quiet location of it's own. The layout of this "motel" is unique, and I think, rather ingenious. The buildings are located amid the many tall trees of a very large property. It is adjacent to the main drive (Skyway) through town and yet was secluded well away from all traffic noise. This all helps with the ambiance, providing the feeling of certainly more than just a "motel".

Our room (#49) was large and clean - and cleanliness is particularly important to us. Units are inexpensively appointed with somewhat dated furnishings. We didn't really mind, and having a huge clean room seemed a fair trade. Nice refrigerator, even a microwave. Wifi worked fine.

Sally, the night manager, was attentive and is very personable. She had pool towels ready for us, was helpful with some dinner suggestions and genuinely seemed motivated to help us feel welcome. The morning desk manager seemed to have her priorities elsewhere other than greeting the guest, that was the only disappointment, and some milk for the cereal would have been nice.

The pool was excellent, the water crystal clear and in excellent condition. The surrounding patio neat and clean. Everything was in working order in contrast to a prior review by another guest.

Bottom line: Maybe just a tad pricey if you just need a clean place to sleep, but if you can slow down and enjoy the amenities and this really pretty setting then this seemed like a very good choice. Honestly, we've spent about 15 days in Reno this summer off and on where $60.00 gets you a luxury room at a resort casino, so the 90 or so dollars here feels high by that standard. Conversely we understand why the prices are what they are and feel the gap between what we would have liked to pay and what we did pay was probably only 10 or 20 dollars.

I hope this helps you!

Room Tip: Ask to look at a few available rooms then book. You'll see they vary in location and accoutremen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bfrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    27
    4
    7
    1
See reviews for
28
31
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Our room was spacious with a beautiful quilt on the bed and very clean. The AC was noisy, but when we turned it off, the room was quiet and relaxing. Our room was the farthest from the wireless station and so we did not have WiFi in our room, but the lobby had tables and chairs where we could go to connect to the internet. There was a large variety of things to choose from for the continental breakfast (several juices, coffee, hot chocolate, hot or cold cereal, pastries and fruit). We did not get a chance to check out the pool or hot tub as we were in Paradise for a family reunion. We enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureLover059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The motel was very quiet, relaxing, and beautiful. The staff very accommodating. We plan to stay here whenever visiting Paradise

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I frequently visit friends in Paradise/Magalia and this is the best hotel in town. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with a small porch for smokers. The pool is shallow (no diving!) but a comfortable temperture. The hot tub is warm and relaxing in a forest setting. The continental breakfasts include hot or cold cereal, assorted fruit and danish, orange juice, and coffee, and there are also refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee-makers in the rooms. It's also close to restaurants in town. It's the only place I stay when I'm in Paradise.

Room Tip: I liked the two queen bed rooms away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reno
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Very nice setting. Always stop there when in the area. For motorcycles it is a good place to stop since you can park near the room. Easy walk to good eats. Its like being at a quiet resort although it is right in town. Huge rooms, great beds, perfect patios and setting. Would have given it a an excellent rating however in the years we have visited it has shown its age a bit. Toilet seat very worn, flow diffuser missing on faucet, patched side table, shower drain nearly inoperative. Two others in our group has some issues with spiders in the rooms. Guess the 8 leggers were looking for a warm place for the winter. Will go back again.

Room Tip: High school is nearby and during football season hope for games with no overtime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We've stayed in this fine motel in the past. Did not do so this trip as we were looking to save some cash!
In the past, we've found the Ponderosa to be clean, comfortable and hospitable with beautiful grounds, large pool and fine hot tub.
Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Garden-facing rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WBrecheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We have family in Paradise and go there to visit for a day or two at a time. The Ponderosa is an "old school" family motel--nothing fancy, but very clean and comfortable. We stayed in a double queen which was very spacious and quiet. Nice, clean pool but we couldn't get the hot tub to work. All in all, a good option for the area.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank vpmamaoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise
1.2 mi away
Paradise Lodge
Paradise Lodge
#2 of 7 in Paradise
84 reviews
10.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
Oxford Suites Chico
#1 of 17 in Chico
995 reviews
11.9 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
530 reviews
10.4 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#4 of 17 in Chico
141 reviews
18.8 mi away
Gold Country Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Gardens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Gardens Motel

Property: Ponderosa Gardens Motel
Address: 7010 Skyway, Paradise, CA 95969-3910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Paradise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ponderosa Gardens Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Ponderosa Gardens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Gardens Hotel Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing