We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing all around”
Review of Roy's Restaurant

Roy's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 793 Restaurants in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: North El Molino Avenue
Transit: Located in front of our restaurant on Colorado Blvd.
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine and beverage around the world ever since. Join us tonight in Pasadena, CA to discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Arrived 10 minutes early for a 5:45 reservation and waited 15 minutes to be seated despite multiple tables being open. Then it took another 10 minutes before the waiter took our drink orders. When the pinot noir arrived it was obviously old (meaning been opened awhile ago) and was warm. When we complained the waiter informed us that they mark the bottles when they are open and do not discard the contents before a 2 week period. Really! Old warm pinot noir! The food is mediocre...why fry a lobster pot sticker? The tuna roll was good but fried and the pork tacos delicious! Bad service, mostly fried food and bad wine convinced me never to go back!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peppy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2018

We were in Pasadena for the Ed Sheeran concert at the Rose Bowl, and wanted something more substantial to eat the next evening, so we headed for Roy's hoping to have dinner. Being early diners, we arrived at Happy Hour, and it was suggested we start with drinks at the bar. I don't like the taller chairs, but there were two regular type seats at the end of the bar, so we were accommodated. Other than the Mai Tai not being sweet as I had been used to in Hawaii, we liked it so much that we decided to continue with appetizers. They were so good and we ate so many of them, that we didn't ever make it to the interior of the restaurant! Lots of variety: A+ for presentation on each, and delicious. Our favorites were lobster potstickers, pork ribs with sesame seeds, shrimp tempura, and parmesan fries. Service was very prompt and attentive. We wish we had a restaurant as nice as this close to home. Highly recommended. (They even added pineapple juice to the Mai Tai for me, but I recommend the pineapple martini!) There is $5 all day parking behind the restaurant on the right.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chelnesa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Our server was fantastic i wish I remembered her name, we sat outside on Saturday night and she said she was trying to become an actress. The food was very good and served hot and fast. It is a limited menu but there is a variety so if you want quality food you can find something from beef to fish. I had the Jumbo Prawns and added the lump crab rice. for desert we shared a pineapple cake and it was very good, maybe not like my mom's but a close second.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LVJAKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

We have been to several Roy’s on multiple Hawaiian Islands, and the PASADENA Roy’s is our favorite. The food is sooo ONO (delicious in Hawaiian), the drinks are top shelf, and the staff is super attentive. I can go on and on about the food, and we were here just for their phenomenal Happy Hour!! Chef Palffy is the BEST!! Going to be a regular, if solely due to the experience.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

We had calamari, Hawaiian fish, Lakanilau, the Classic Four, wine and a soufflé. Everyone agreed it was a wonderful dinner. Next time I would asf for a booth in a different location but that would be a personal preference.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank AwayWeGo2016789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing