We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean and Affordable”
Review of Saga Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saga Motor Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Kirkwood, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean and Affordable”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights to attend our daughter's dissertation defense at Cal Tech. It was immaculate with friendly staff. The beds in our room were doubles, and though we started out together, it's not as comfy as our queen bed at home, so we ended up moving over, more than once. The continental breakfast was in the hotel period but not fancy. A little yogurt and whole grain bread would have upgraded the quality a bit. It was great eating breakfast by the pool. We marveled that given the age of the place, there was not a bit of that lingering smoke smell that you sometimes get in older hotels. The outlets were minimal and we had to be creative to get all of our electronics of modern life charged. This place is on the Rose Parade route and I'll bet it's hopping during that event. It was the perfect place to celebrate with our daughter and her husband!

Room Tip: If they have queen sized beds in any rooms, go for them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoAnne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    127
    48
    12
    7
See reviews for
55
85
45
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I spent one night a Saga, in between meetings. The motel is well situated, on Colorado Ave, but the noise does not enter the room.
Room is spacious, clean, and bathroom functional. No special decoration, no renovation for at least a decade or two. It is a place to sleep, to get rest, not to enjoy.

Breakfast is minimal, to be skipped if possible.

Room Tip: Ask for back rooms, second floor. They not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wizou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We booked a 4 night stay here for a family vacation. Myself, my husband and 2 kids. I was unaware until I arrived, but, there is no coffee pot in the room, and no microwave. The wifi is horrible! I was in the middle of booking another hotel for later in our trip and got kicked off!! There is only one available plug in in the room for a laptop to charge and only one of the plugs works, so it's either you charge your laptop or watch tv. The room is small...we had just left a cheaper hotel in Anaheim that was bigger! There is NO SMOKING on the entire property, so you have to stand outside on the sidewalk at night to smoke! The sink is inside the bathroom...so if someone is in the shower, everyone else has to wait to get ready. For $100.00 a night....you can find much better! Also, the beds are only full size!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

The room was very clean A+ to cleaning staff. I felt safe staying there. The desk clerks very friendly and helpful. The location was great. Many eating places in walking distance. I would stay again. We stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salinan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
254 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Basically clean, nothing fancy, just fits the need for a busy visit to Pasadena and its sights. Appear to have a number of long term residents who entertain the children at the pool, nice way to teach kids respect of their elders.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, spacious. If you are as old as I am, you'll like this place for it's nostalgia. If you are too young to know about "Route 66" this is a good place for a lesson about it's good motels.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSA1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

May look a little old fashioned from the outside ... It is 50's style.. But the rooms are very clean and comfortable,modern furnishings. The motel boasts a lovely private pool with plenty of room to sit rounds and relax. There is free wifi and breakfast thrown in too. Been ther before and will go back again. The room we had was huge and had a dressing room and bathroom off both very big.

Room Tip: Ask for a king size on 3 floor if they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.8 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
1.8 mi away
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
#12 of 31 in Pasadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#6 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Motor Hotel

Property: Saga Motor Hotel
Address: 1633 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91106
Region: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pasadena
#6 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Saga Motor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1950's, the historic Saga Motor Hotel is known as the timeless jewel of Pasadena California. The Saga Features spacious rooms with a country feel, lovely courtyard pool area Located on the world famous Tournament of Roses Parade route, the Saga a is a premier destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Saga Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Motor Pasadena
Hotel Saga Motor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing