We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Relief!!”
Review of Saga Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saga Motor Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were desperetaly looking for a CLEAN,budget friendly place in Pasadena, Ca after a terrible experience at one of the chain name Hotels in Colorado Avenue, more on that later.
When we came in to the lobby we knew we got lucky! Very clean, we were greeted warmly and very courteously by the receptionist we asked to see the rooms and were promptly given a key, we liked the place inmediately; the hotel provides excellent quality toiletries,free continental breakfast, free washer/dryer A+ nice and clean and well mantained grounds and pool plus the cleaning staff is superb...we will come back to The Saga Motor Motel in the very near future.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Soroco3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Very good. Good location. Very Clean.

Two minuses. A very slow internet connection. Lack of safe in the room for your valuables.

But very pretty in an old charming 50s way. So if these two things are not a bother to you, you do not need look for more.

Room Tip: Generally quiet place. I like pool rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ontheroadagain3400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights to attend our daughter's dissertation defense at Cal Tech. It was immaculate with friendly staff. The beds in our room were doubles, and though we started out together, it's not as comfy as our queen bed at home, so we ended up moving over, more than once. The continental breakfast was in the hotel period but not fancy. A little yogurt and whole grain bread would have upgraded the quality a bit. It was great eating breakfast by the pool. We marveled that given the age of the place, there was not a bit of that lingering smoke smell that you sometimes get in older hotels. The outlets were minimal and we had to be creative to get all of our electronics of modern life charged. This place is on the Rose Parade route and I'll bet it's hopping during that event. It was the perfect place to celebrate with our daughter and her husband!

Room Tip: If they have queen sized beds in any rooms, go for them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoAnne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I spent one night a Saga, in between meetings. The motel is well situated, on Colorado Ave, but the noise does not enter the room.
Room is spacious, clean, and bathroom functional. No special decoration, no renovation for at least a decade or two. It is a place to sleep, to get rest, not to enjoy.

Breakfast is minimal, to be skipped if possible.

Room Tip: Ask for back rooms, second floor. They not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wizou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We booked a 4 night stay here for a family vacation. Myself, my husband and 2 kids. I was unaware until I arrived, but, there is no coffee pot in the room, and no microwave. The wifi is horrible! I was in the middle of booking another hotel for later in our trip and got kicked off!! There is only one available plug in in the room for a laptop to charge and only one of the plugs works, so it's either you charge your laptop or watch tv. The room is small...we had just left a cheaper hotel in Anaheim that was bigger! There is NO SMOKING on the entire property, so you have to stand outside on the sidewalk at night to smoke! The sink is inside the bathroom...so if someone is in the shower, everyone else has to wait to get ready. For $100.00 a night....you can find much better! Also, the beds are only full size!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

The room was very clean A+ to cleaning staff. I felt safe staying there. The desk clerks very friendly and helpful. The location was great. Many eating places in walking distance. I would stay again. We stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salinan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Basically clean, nothing fancy, just fits the need for a busy visit to Pasadena and its sights. Appear to have a number of long term residents who entertain the children at the pool, nice way to teach kids respect of their elders.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
1.4 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#3 of 31 in Pasadena
1,413 reviews
0.8 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Le Reve Pasadena
Hotel Le Reve Pasadena
#19 of 31 in Pasadena
218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Pasadena
Ramada Pasadena
#24 of 31 in Pasadena
594 reviews
1.8 mi away
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
#11 of 31 in Pasadena
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Motor Hotel

Address: 1633 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91106
Region: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range: £84 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saga Motor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built 1957, the Saga Motor Hotel has been located on E. Colorado Blvd. (aka Route 66). The Saga is a boutique hotel with 70 guest rooms built around a large, heated pool and sun deck area in a garden setting surrounded by Palm Trees. In addition, the Saga is also located on the Tournament of Roses Parade route. While the Saga lets you step back in time to a day when actual keys were used to open hotel room doors and personalized service was common, we have all the “today” amenities you’d expect, including free, high-speed wireless service and cable television. We even have a business center, free computer services and small meeting room (in an informal and comfortable library setting) for groups of up to 20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Saga Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Motor Pasadena
Hotel Saga Motor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing