We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotelmotel saga motor inn”
Review of Saga Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saga Motor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Nice motel in the middle of old pasadena on part off route 66.
They have a heated pool with lots of palm trees around.
Free parking and wifi.
Rooms are clean but a little bit dated.
The roomrate is pretty good
We like the older motels

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renegloudemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Saga Motor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

The outside of the place - and the interior hallways - look as if nothing has been done to the place in 30 years or more. (Also, you use an old-fashioned key to get in.) My room was nice, though. The bed was big and comfortable, the mini-fridge was a nice size, the wi-fi worked (though I think my room was closed to a hot spot) and I had good water pressure in the shower. Most of the expected amenities at this class were present. A few oddities: the outlet in the bath is opposite from the mirror, which can be clumsy for shaving; the windows have slat blinds instead of shades; and the only ice machine is across from the front desk. One potential bummer: the heater can set off the smoke alarm. And the continental breakfast really isn't much to speak of. Overall, though, decent value.

Room Tip: Try to get on an upper floor, towards the back (and near a hot spot!).
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slsiege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I booked a room here for my parents while they were in town for a week, and spent quite a bit of time here myself. I came by before they arrived and asked about checkin/checkout times, as well as being able to drop some things off for them before checkin. The front staff was polite and courteous, and very helpful. The room was immaculate and comfortable - 4 of us hung out to watch sports a few nights on the HDTV and it was great. There was a fridge in the room, which was good for leftovers and water (SoCal is a desert after all). The pool area was clean and comfortable, and we hung out there as well. It is on Colorado Ave, so it can get busy (our room was facing Colorado), but overall at night it was pretty quiet. Saga is convenient to several eateries and bus stops as well. Mainly I chose Saga because the internet rate was the best one at the time (80/night) and it is 2 blocks from my apartment, so it was easy for my parents to get back and forth. Overall I would recommend Saga for any length of stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveleranon330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We needed to stay in Los Angeles for a few days before our flight home but didn't want to stay in the main tourist areas. We picked Pasadena and were sorry that we hadn't allowed more time to see the town.
The Saga Motel is conveniently located on East Colorado Boulevard, just opposite the City College. They do a fairly simple continental breakfast (cereals, muffins, bagels, toast, fruit, tea/coffee), the rooms were clean, nice and large and we could receive free wifi in our room. They have a nice pool if you want to cool down. There are a few nearby places within walking distance to eat and drink (including the excellent Lucky Baldwins Trappiste). We weren't driving but the motel is only about a 15 minute walk from Allen Station on the Gold Line, with fast and frequent trains into Pasadena and Los Angeles.
It's not far by train, bus or car into Pasadena Old Town which is well worth exploring. If we ever have to stay in Los Angeles again, we'll happily stay at the Saga again - and allow more time to explore Pasadena, too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianRelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Don't expect luxury here. But you can expect good value for money, spotlessly clean rooms, a decent little complimentary breakfast in reception, plenty of parking space and a helpful and friendly front desk. The hotel is easy to find on Colorado Blvd opposite Pasadena City College. A block and a half and five minutes' walk away is an excellent British-style pub called Lucky Baldwin's which specialises in high quality American and European tap beers, serves decent food and is staffed by pleasant people. We found the hotel was ideal as a jumping off point for Universal City, which we got to in about 45 minutes through the LA rush hour by taking a route tip from reception, and got back from in about 30 minutes pretty much as the crow flies.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnandelaine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Hello. Two grandparents, two parents and one baby (one year old). I'm giving this place a thumbs up. Rooms were big. Has stairs and elevators. Plenty of parking for your car. Pretty easy access to the freeways. Breakfast is cereal, pastries, unlimited coffee and juice and happy service. Pools looks great. Many, many food options and a short drive to old town. Do-it-yourself laundry. And...a 99 Cent store a block away! How fun is that?! Coffee shops, Target, antique shopping, 20 minute drive (with no traffic) to Downtown LA, etc... As for Disney or Universal...sure...depending on when you drive...not a problem. Thanks to Lori and her team. Very accomdating, helpful and insightful. We would stay again and would advise others to do the same. Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoCal_Shiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We spent a night in this historic motel after visiting WB studios. It is a famous route 66 motel. Free wi-fii and breakfast. 24 hour free hot water and tea in the reception area. Rooms were not ultra new of course but spacious and clean. No complaints about noise levels. Close to CalTech, we actually walked there ( takes about 20 minutes). Very good restaurants, coffee shops and chain fast food restaurants within walking distance. There is also a pool, we did not use it though we had breakfast in the pool area which was very nice. Free parking. 5 minutes to downtown Pasadena by car.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzgurRosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.8 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
1,234 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#3 of 31 in Pasadena
1,395 reviews
1.8 mi away
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
#11 of 31 in Pasadena
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Motor Hotel

Address: 1633 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91106
Region: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pasadena
#6 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range: £90 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saga Motor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1950's, the historic Saga Motor Hotel is known as the timeless jewel of Pasadena California. The Saga Features spacious rooms with a country feel, lovely courtyard pool area Located on the world famous Tournament of Roses Parade route, the Saga a is a premier destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Saga Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Motor Pasadena
Hotel Saga Motor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing