We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price and fantastic staff, close to CalTech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saga Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saga Motor Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Fresno , CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great price and fantastic staff, close to CalTech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Picked the Saga over a national chain, due to price and location, and great reviews. It has an old-school vibe to the property. Loved the plants and palms.
Room was clean, everything in working order. It took some relocation in the room, but my tablet found wifi good enough. Room was quiet and bed comfy. There is a subway and 7-11 not even a block down the street if you need anything. The staff was super friendly and made the stay even better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sept1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    124
    48
    12
    7
See reviews for
53
82
43
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The Saga has a retro feel and a very helpful staff. Rooms are small but clean. The flowers and trees on the property are a delight. It is walking distance to many good restaurants. The only drawback is that the mattress wasn't very comfortable; other than that, the Saga is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwnhkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is the greatest secret in Pasadena. It is located across from Pasadena City College directly on the parade route for the Rose Bowl Parade. The king bed was so comfortable that I slept 10 hours, unheard of in a strange bed. There were even books on bookshelves to read and borrow. Includes continental breakfast that had healthy items. Has free WiFi. Staff was most helpful. Check in and out were quick. Located close to many restaurants and sites...some walk-able, some available on close by public transportation. This is a gem that you should keep to yourself if you want a place to stay in the future...it will be jammed once people realize what an awesome bargain it is!!!

Room Tip: First floor rooms close to pool and parking/unloading
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've had the opportunity to stay at this hotel a few times. Both times I was pleased with the cleanliness of the rooms and attentiveness of the staff. Think classic old style motor inn - and you will be on target.

Plus side - free parking and wifi, breakfast (Although not remarkable), very convenient to Caltech. Pool to lounge by, and a starbucks/7-11 on the same block.
Cons - Should you get a ground level room facing the parking lot - it's not the best.

I recommend asking to stay on the second floor. Those that face the back parking lot were very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I've stayed here many times now because you'd be hard-pressed anywhere in the LA area to find a place this nice for this price. It's totally retro - which I love. The bathrooms aren't the Hilton, they're more circa 1980's. The beds are comfy and free of bed bugs.( Yes, LA has bed bugs. You should look on the bedbug registry before booking anywhere.) Most rooms have a fridge and a microwave. No funky smells like so many older hotels do. The pool is great. A ground floor poolside room is a must. They don't charge for parking, which is also amazing in LA or even Pasadena. It's a short drive to Old Pasadena. I try to stay here every time I come to LA on a budget, which unfortunately is quite often.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyQ141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
226 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Who ever is marketing this place as a "vintage experience" is a genius; it is really just a tired old workhorse. Very stiff uncomfortable beds with scratchy, thin sheets. The lovely pool kind of saves the day, once you are in that lovely water floating about, all your cares will drift away. Convenient to the Foothill Freeway and Old Pasadena. Do yourself a favor and drive thru the Bungalow District and up to Alta Dena to just enjoy the beautiful homes and gardens; they are on small lots but so thoughtfully landscaped and maintained. The bathrooms are small so bring a toiletry bag that can hang behind the door. Lots of closet space, so we bought a package of cheap plastic hangers and hung up most everything especially wet bathing suits. Def not enough outlets so bring a powerstrip and/or a small extension cord. Included breakfast buffet was okay, no proteins though. Starbucks is less than a block away with a 7 Eleven is even closer.

Room Tip: ground floor might be a bit sketchy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leafpeeper98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

While visiting southern California, I wanted to stay at some places that had character (not all national chains), and I was pleased to be able to get a room at such a place in Pasadena. I ended up arriving at the Saga late (around 9 p.m.), and I was greeted warmly upon my arrival. While checking in, I saw the coffee and tea bar in the lobby; I don't remember the name of the employee who checked me in, but she very graciously gave me a cup of hot water so I could enjoy a cup of herbal tea that night, which I really appreciated after a long day of sight-seeing.

Regarding the room: I stayed on the first floor -- in room 105 facing the pool. Easily found a parking spot close to the room's back door, which was convenient. The room itself was clean and was comfortably furnished, though there was some noticeable wear on the bottoms of the walls (maybe where rolling suitcases or a vacuum cleaner had knocked against the wall?). The fabric on the rolling chair at the desk in my room also showed wear, but still, the chair was comfortable to sit on. I could hear some noise coming from a guest in an adjacent room, so I turned on the fan on the room's AC unit. Didn't hear any other sounds beyond that. I slept well, finding both the bed and pillows to be quite comfortable.

Wifi was accessible from the room, but my phone didn't always stay connected to it while I was sitting at the desk; the connection seemed to be stronger from the bed area.

In the morning, I joined a handful of other guests in the lobby to eat breakfast; the items that were set out for us were plentiful. Before leaving the motel, I wanted to print something; I was able to easily print it at no cost on the printer in the motel's business center, which was convenient.

Overall, I had a good stay -- and I think the value's good -- and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.8 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
1.5 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Motor Hotel

Property: Saga Motor Hotel
Address: 1633 East Colorado Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91106
Region: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pasadena
#6 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Saga Motor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1950's, the historic Saga Motor Hotel is known as the timeless jewel of Pasadena California. The Saga Features spacious rooms with a country feel, lovely courtyard pool area Located on the world famous Tournament of Roses Parade route, the Saga a is a premier destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Saga Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Motor Pasadena
Hotel Saga Motor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing