We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tacos and Kale Salad...yummy!”

La Grande Orange Cafe
Ranked #1 of 699 Restaurants in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Del Mar
Transit: Located along the light rail at the Del Mar Station.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tacos and Kale Salad...yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is great little place to grab lunch with high end tacos (filet, short rib, and more) paired with a Kale salad side, leaving you feel like you are being bad while eating healthy. Typically we grab a table in the bar area which has quicker seating and little less noisy. There is valet or garage parking or if you are feel adventurous take the metro as it passes right by the rear of the restaurant as viewed from the large glass windows in the bar. Don't forget to grab the tasty complimentary cookies on the way out the door!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GirlJustWants2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    169
    24
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
temecula
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Vegetarian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The atmosphere is great, historic building too, good service, but the food is always average to me...must say the huevos were above average for this place...have had the garden burger, not good and the veggie tacos, very trendy and odd...too much olive oil and food is too heavy for me, I guess on account of the use of oils. Lighter entrees would be welcome.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank iluvthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to take the kids.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This place has good veggie burgers and great salads. Plus they have free cookies and a lovely $3 kids meal. So it's really easy to convince the kids to go. I usually make them go with me to the Stone tasting room after and I get a couple 4oz beer tasters.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very noisy atmosphere!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We are a group of 8 who meet for dinner every couple of months, usually in Pasadena. Because this cafe received fairly good reviews, we decided to try it. But it is very very noisy, and definitely not conducive to having any sort of conversation. On the positive side - the deviled eggs are great! On the minus side - I ordered the steak taco platter, but got the steak dinner, which was considerably higher in price, but my fault for not saying anything! On the plus side, one of our party had the pot roast and she said it was delicious. On the minus side - my husband's rotisserie chicken was sitting in a pool of beans, which were good, but made part of the chicken soggy and it should have been crisp! One of our party was celebrating her birthday and we informed the server. She did whisper to us that there would be a charge for the birthday dessert, and asked us which one we wanted. Now put in this position, we couldn't say no, and one couple said okay to the cost. However, in all the years we have been dining out, celebrating various events, we have never been asked to pay for a measly symbolic gesture and believe me it is the principal, not the amount of money they charged for the piece of lime pie with a small doll up of ice cream! The Manager told us that that was the policy of the restaurant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlene70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Excellent Casual California Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

A very pleasant casual restaurant (burger, salads, and more) with lots of creative modern California cuisine touches plus excellent wines. Very pleasant service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Grande Orange Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Grande Orange Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing