We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best part is the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
san diego
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“best part is the location”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This isn't the most wonderful Courtyard you'll find. But it's do-able. Having stayed here several times, it's getting a little tired. Needs a little pick me up. But it's clean and as quiet as it needs to be. The number one reason to stay at this Courtyard is the superior location right in the happening area. Easy walking (a couple of blocks) to the center of the action, restaurants, bars, shopping and Starbucks! It's 5 minutes from the Rose Bowl and it's right off of two freeways (110 and 210). This Courtyard will not offend you but it might not excite you either. They raise the price when there's a big event in the area (like a UCLA football game) and it definitely is not a great value when they do that. If you're looking to be in that area, stay there. Two nice features: free parking garage, and when you park, whichever floor you're on, you walk directly into the corridor of your floor from the garage.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denssull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Our superior location is a great reason to stay at the Courtyard by Marriott – Old Pasadena. Close to everything including a shuttle directly across the street that goes to all UCLA Home games at the Rose Bowl. Our staff works hard to provide a clean and quite hotel and we are most thankful for you recognizing this important component of the guest experience. We do have some very exciting plans in the near very future that will absolutely give you that “pick me up” that you are asking for. Thank you again for staying with us and we very much look forward to your next visit to Pasadena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    347
    103
    37
    18
See reviews for
216
191
50
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
221 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

For the last night of a family road trip down to Los Angeles, we reserved two rooms at the Courtyard by Marriott in downtown Pasadena for a very reasonable price.

The location is just a block-and-a-half from the main street in Pasadena and is attached to a parking garage that makes it easy to park (especially since overnight parking doesn't seem to be allowed on the streets). Check-in was quick and efficient, and even through our original rooms weren't available, they quickly found other ones. It was a nice surprise to receive a small bottle of water and granola bar on check-in (although I do remember the same happening at the Sheraton in Pasadena as well).

Rooms were clean and spacious with fast and free internet. Beds were comfortable, and it was a nice perk to have a couch as well to sit on to watch TV.

Given the price, location, and good condition of the facilities, I'd definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aram K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are located in a very convenient location with easy walking to many shops and restaurants. Our parking is very convenient and gives you access to the floor you are located on! We look forward to your future stays in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester Center, VT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was our second stay at Marriott Courtyard. It was wonderful, similar to our last stay in 2011.
A high five to Tiffany at the front desk for giving us room 410! I get claustrophobic in "closed rooms", so it was delightful to stay in a room with balcony overlooking the pool.
Only "issue" was the bathroom layout, which was challenging. If one had to get to the toilet or shower, it was disruptive to the person at the sink. I also realized that if/when I used any "spray" product in the sink/makeup area----whoops!-----did I just spray that on my clothes behind me in the closet??!!
Per Zaira at the front desk, the bathrooms and rooms will be undergoing renovations. That's great, and hope they (designers) work it out efficiently.
A big KUDO to Michael Belasco! When I called from Vermont to try to figure out transport from LAX to hotel---he could not have been nicer or more helpful! He covered everything from train to bus to shuttle to private car to helicopter! He was MOST helpful and delightful to talk to. It was great to meet him in person and thank him for his attention!
My husband and I look forward to staying there again on our next trip to Pasadena. The Marriott offers EVERYTHING we need or want---nice room/balcony/pool/good food/a cocktail/proximity to Colorado Street/proximity to our son's work and living area. Thanks to all at MCPasadena!

Room Tip: 410 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your stay! We are so very fortunate to have wonderful people like Tiffany and Michael who go above and beyond to make sure our guests have the best experience they can! We hope to see you in your future travels to the area! Thank you again for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

visited on 8/6 for one night. requested quiet room and high floor during reservation. When I checked in, clerk mentioned there was a concert @ night so I might hear some noises.

stayed @ 5th floor (501) and was able to open window during night without hearing any major noises. AC is loud, so I would recommend to open the window to get some quality sleep.

Keep in mind, the hotel is in U shape. so if you want quiet room, your room will not be close to the parking. Good thing is each floor has plenty of parking spaces.

There is a Farmer's market next to the hotel. Every Sunday 9am-2pm@ Holly ST. and Fair Oaks Ave.. a great place to get fresh veggie/fruit/flower/bread...and so on. location is also close to major restaurants/ shopping places in Colorado Blvd.

Daily shift manager is very friendly and accommodate my late check request (I was rejected on checked in night). They even help me to keep my orchid after I checked out ( I need to get something from old town before I headed to OC)

Overall, would definitely return to this hotel while I am in neighborhood.

Room Tip: high floor, far away from garage so you can get quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay with us! We do offer plenty of parking which is in easy access to all floors of the hotel. The location of our property makes things even better, the local restaurants and shops as well as the farmers market are in a very easy and convenient walk! We look forward to your future stays in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearfield, Utah
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Due to its location near our corporate headquarters, I always stay at this Marriott when I am in town for business. The staff is always friendly. There are always chocolates at the front desk (a nice touch) that you can enjoy whenever you are passing through the lobby. The rooms are comfortable, and if you are coming to enjoy the Old Town area, you cannot beat the location.

Since they do not have their restaurant as a separate spot to rate, I will do so here.
- Breakfast: not included (typical drawback at other Courtyards as well), so you will have to pay extra for that. The quality is good, but a bit pricey for the morning meal.

- Dinner: If you like a good burger, you will not be disappointed. Sometimes I will go out and grab a bite to eat at one of the many restaurants in the area. My last trip, however, I ordered a Hamburger and Fries from their room service menu (you can also get that menu from the lobby) and for dessert I had a chocolate brownie wedge. Highly recommend trying both. Both were delicious and getting it there allowed me to skip the wait and the dinner crowds in Old Town and take my food up to the room to enjoy in peace.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Brian,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. As a frequent guest here we do appreciate that while you do have choices, you chose to stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena.
Apparently you have stumbled into one of our best kept secrets, our Bistro Burgers! Add your beverage of choice and a chocolate brownie, no big dinner crowds and it’s hard to imagine a better meal.
We very much looking forward to your next visit. Until then, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Here is a nice Courtyard within easy walking distance of the great downtown Pasadena eating and shopping area-2 short blocks from the main intersection Fair Oaks and Colorado Blvd. Now, most Courtyards are pretty much laid out with the same formula-its how things get executed that counts. First off, the staff, all of them, were very attentive and friendly. That counts in my book. The room was nice-I had a room right near the garage entrance, but not noisy at all. The parking is free, unless you want valet. It was clean, the bathrooms spotless. Nice new TV, good beds. One thing I don't like is the loud, hard to regulate climate control thing. Its the kind under the window with 5 settings. I had Low Cool on but it never stopped all night. They need to upgrade this. Fitness Center nice, enough machines and weights. The 1st Floor eating area-great selection and service, and a lot of places to sit. Very homey, the whole Courtyard thing. It was a little pricey, but I guess that is Calif.-plus there was a UCLA game that Saturday at the nearby Rose Bowl. So, yea, Pasadena is a great town, and this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mab313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are most appreciative that you took the time to recognize our staff. Location and services are important, but at the end of the day, people make the difference. Your kind words have made a difference to our entire team.
Thank you again for staying with us and we very much look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Sulpice, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Atleast 6 months before our arrival date my sister and I reserved 2 rooms that we wanted near each other. 30 minutes later we finally got what we had asked for after viewing 2 unsuitable rooms: one over the hotel vents at the other end of the floor and the other one on a very busy street one floor up. All seemed well until an insistent knock at the door after 9pm: 2 maintenance men saying I had checked out. Half an hour later downstairs desk calls to know when I was leaving. All that info had been settled when I checked in. We did get 2 free breakfasts that I must say we're delicious and the Manager on Duty did apologize.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on inside court
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Catherine,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Looks like we got off to a bit of a rocky start at check in. Again, please accept our apologies. Sounds like our Manager on Duty got things turned around for you allowing you to enjoy the rest of your stay with your sister. Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
1.1 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
2.2 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#6 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#9 of 31 in Pasadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town

Property: Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Address: 180 N Fair Oaks Ave, Pasadena, CA 91103-3614 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena)
Region: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing