We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by how good the staff were at this Courtyard, since I'd stayed at a few over the prior few months in different states. They were very welcoming and accommodating (all but 1 who was not very helpful with the parking ticket directions..). It's centrally located, the room was standard but clean and roomy. It looks pretty dated on the outside but is pretty fresh and clean looking inside. We didn't spend a lot of time inside the hotel since we were on the go, but it was definitely a nice place to hang our hats. Be ready for the corn maize though. Many entrances and a long, weird trek from the front desk to the elevator. By the end of our 4 night stay, we had the various street and car park entrances down.

We happened to be there just before the Rose Bowl festivities, and appreciated the festive lobby with the Spartans and Cardinal decorations.

The price was good considering the excellent, central location right by Old Town. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: It's a matter of taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by how good the staff were at this Courtyard, since I'd stayed at a few over the prior few months in different states. They were very welcoming and accommodating (all but 1 who was not very helpful with the parking ticket directions..). It's centrally located, the room was standard but clean and roomy. It looks pretty dated on the outside but is pretty fresh and clean looking inside. We didn't spend a lot of time inside the hotel since we were on the go, but it was definitely a nice place to hang our hats. Be ready for the corn maize though. Many entrances and a long, weird trek from the front desk to the elevator. By the end of our 4 night stay, we had the various street and car park entrances down.

We happened to be there just before the Rose Bowl festivities, and appreciated the festive lobby with the Spartans and Cardinal decorations.

The price was good considering the excellent, central location right by Old Town. We will stay here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here for the 2014 Tournament of Roses Parade. It was a great location for the parade. We could walk to our grandstand seats using the parallel street to Colorado Blvd. so we were not in the huge crowds. It was also convenient to Old Town Pasadena so we could walk to many restaurants and shops. The hotel was a bit worn, but the staff was great and very helpful If I ever return, I would definitely stay here again. My only complaint was the inflated price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Arlene,

A very Happy New Year to you and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. We truly appreciate you recognizing our great staff as well as our convenient location. We are currently updating all of our guest rooms right now as we speak so the next time you stay with us it will look brand new.
We very much look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here as a family over Christmas. It was a solid choice - the room was clean and the hotel is in a wonderful location. An easy walk into the old town, and parking was convenient (although on the pricey side it was so easy and valet was wonderful...). We asked for a room off the main street and it was quiet-the higher floors offer a better outlook...Nothing special, but delivers what is expected...
Good choice for breakfast nearby - Russells. You may have to wait, but a good hearty breakfast!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor off the main street for more peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carowilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. Our convenient location to Old Pasadena make our hotel a great choice for anyone looking to walk right to hundreds of shops and restaurants. Russell’s is a great choice as well. I had lunch there today and the food and the service were both great.
Thank you again and safe travels to you and yours in the new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

An excellent location while in Pasadena, near to the freeways and to Colorado Blvd, good restaurants, the Norton-Simon museum, the Gable House, and an easy drive to the Huntington Library. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The windows open about 3 inches to let in some air. Parking in their attached garage is an extra $15 per day, but necessary and convenient. There’s a pool and spa. Breakfast is not included but is available at an extra cost, but I'd recommend walking to Russell’s just 100 yards south at 30 North Fair Oaks instead.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick_in_San_Diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Rick, Thanks for taking the time to share with us about your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Old Pasadena. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We have a spectacular location and are in close distances to over 100 shops and restaurants, shops and attractions. Thank you for your wonderful tips about the area! We look forward to you future travels to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Convenient location if attending an event at the Rose Bowl and seeing Old Town Pasadena. Also great access to the highway. Although the hotel was the standard Courtyard design and was clean, it was very worn and dated. The good news - they are currently renovating, the parking garage was stacked with new carpet and furniture. Nice staff, clean, good parking underground.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heidi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Pasadena. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for spreading the word about our renovation, we have some photos up in the lobby of the rooms to come! We hope that next time you are in the Pasadena area, we have the privilege of having you stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to the Rose Bowl and so we wanted to stay within walking distance of the parade route and selected this hotel based on location alone. Not only was it conveniently located, the staff friendliness, and their preparedness for their guests during this peak time was quite impressive. They had all the bases covered from roses and team logos in the lobby to the most friendly concierge who went above and beyond. The service, hotel cleanliness and overall great experience will keep us coming back.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Janelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Janelle,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive expectances at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town during your recent visit.
The excitement is palpable when you stay right here in the center of all of the activity. The Rose Bowl is within easy walking distance as well as the parade route. Dozens of shops and restaurants in between only elevate the experience. Truly, thank you again and we very much look forward to your next visit to Pasadena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The upgrades and remodeling of Marriott is fantastic. Love the new lounge! Love the bistro of healthy takeouts! Of course, the room is magnificent, comfortable and quiet. Love that Marriott is convenient to the hot spots of shopping and restaurants in Old Town Pasadena.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less hallway and elevator traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnzTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard_Pasadena, Director of Sales at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share your experience you have had at our property! Our lobby, location and Bistro are just few of the things that we have to offer! We love to hear about our guests wonderful experiences and hope we have the opportunity again to knock your socks off!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,434 reviews
1.1 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
2.2 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#11 of 31 in Pasadena
843 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pasadena Colorado Blvd.
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town

Address: 180 N Fair Oaks Ave, Pasadena, CA 91103-3614 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena)
Region: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range: £120 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town is located in the heart of Old Pasadena. This Southern California jewel of the Los Angeles area has everything you want in a modern but historic city. Home of the annual Tournament of Roses Parade and college football's Rose Bowl Stadium, home of UCLA Bruins home games, Pasadena is where you want to be in the Los Angeles area. The Courtyard by Marriott® Pasadena Old Town is an upscale full service 314 unit hotel featuring deluxe guest rooms and executive suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Paseo Colorado outdoor shopping plaza is five blocks from this city center hotel. Nearby golfing includes the Annandale, Brookside, and Eaton Canyon courses. Other attractions such as Universal Studios Hollywood®, Santa Anita Race Park, Dodger Stadium, the Staples Center, and Huntington Gardens are easily accessed. The Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town keeps you comfortable, convenient and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Courtyard Pasadena
Courtyard Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Pasadena Courtyard
Pasadena Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing