We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never coming back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Booked room a month in advance. Check-in time is 3pm. I arrived at 430 pm and my room was not ready and was told I would have to wait 15 minutes. An hour later was able to go into the room. Get in room that was booked for 4 people and have two towels in the room. Seriously. Then the toilet backs up after flushing after going pee. Then the next day, after being gone all day the toilet is still backed up. Call the desk and speak to the manager and he tells me to cone get a plunger. Are you serious? They come 20 minutes later and drop the plunger off.WTF! There was no apology for the room not being ready from the manager that smokes near constantly at the door to the office...then first strait to the breakfast bar without washing his hands. I also forgot to mention the door to get into the building from outside does not work. The only plus I can recall her is the clerk named Robert was great.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydub32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcatain1, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Sir,

I'm very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, yes you booked your room in advance but when checking in you then informed the front desk that you must have a connecting room, therefore the front desk agent had to rearrange other rooms and notify the housekeeping dept to clean your room. which it took 30 min to clean your new room. In regards to the toilet being clogged the desk clerk agent went to your room , when you answered the door you told the desk agent that the bathroom was being used for 15 minutes. he agent left the plunger there for you. You called back in 20 min and asked the desk agent to come back but at that time the desk agent had nobody there to cover the hotel office so he said he was sorry to you but your reply was i will write a nasty review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    112
    40
    16
    17
See reviews for
83
70
40
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Have stayed here twice: once in an ADA room on first floor and once with my 2 dogs on the third floor. Rate was very competitive, upstairs room with 2 queens was very large, ADA room with one king was small but adequate with a very large and roomy ADA bath. I was in 105 which abuts the driveway and in the early morning, people were outside (guests, i believe) waiting for transportation and their voices woke me up. Third floor bedroom was huge and opposite elevator and coin-operated washer and dryer. Beds are extremely comfortable and bedding is very good. Hotel is very clean, breakfast is done nicely, parking is free and there are secure parking places outside or under the roof of the main building. If you're traveling with pets, there are sidewalks around the hotel and many grassy areas to walk your dogs safely.

Room Tip: 3rd floor near elevator and coin-operated washer and dryer (detergents: $1.00, washer $1.75 per load...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neighborTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liepaja, Latvia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

It's very convenient, easy to find location in Pasadena. There's also an outdoor pool. Have stayed there several times - once with a large group of friends, once with my wife only - both times we liked the simple quality - parking, wifi, clean room. It's not a gem or anything, but it also is not a bad deal or run down place. This the best example for value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanka_Latvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Stayed almost 2 weeks there. Not great but not bad either. A typical average place. On the positive side: beds are comfortable, it's relatively quiet, the reception was always very friendly and helpful, daily cleaning is carefully done, wifi works really well. On the negative side, this place would really need a serious refresh (blankets are old and damaged, carpet is old), heating/AC is very very noisy (even at low fan speed). Rate I got for the room was reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyager059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuver, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
167 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

If you are a few days staying in Pasadena, there is no reason why you should not stay here.

The rooms are clean and well kept and the price is good. Also there are a few nice restaurants/cafes on S. Lake Blvd, just minutes away by foot.

It is a pity that the old town is just a bit far away if you don't want to use your car wich is really my only complaint.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuebke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

If you plan to stay in LA for a few days, you should consider to book a room at this hotel. Why? Because it offers a price/quality rate you won't find at locations closer to the hotspots of LA. Besides, Pasadena is a nice town to visit on its own. This hotel is located at the western part of E. Colorado Boulevard: easy to find by car (close to the 210) and just a 20 minute walk to the old center of Pasadena, which is a friendly area with a lot of nice shops, restaurants and cinemas. For the hotel itself: you'll get a clean, spacious room with a huge tv screen (well, for some people this can be important!), enough parking space and a 'continental' breakfast slightly better than what you're probably used to if you tend to stay in hotels in the not-too-expensive category (which obviously doesn't mean you 'll get a 5-star breakfast for this price). What could I add? The staff is friendly - though the hotel manager is a grumpy guy, but well, who cares? Conclusion: you won't regret booking this place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the 3th floor (there is an elevator), so you won't be bothered by the usual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

As a huge Breeders Cup fan, I know to book VERY early. I have tried 2 other hotels already and was not happy with them. I consulted Trip Advisor and took Vagabond, then booked last December. Got a bargain rate, (less than $100 a night). Great location on Colorado Blvd near the race track. Room was good size, clean, had the best flatscreen TV we had ever gottten in a room, microwave and fridge. Bathroom was very tiny with almost no counterspace, but it looked renovated and was very clean. Towels were limited. One part of the drapes were falling down in the upper corner, more cosmetic than anything. Bed was a little firm, but reasonably comfortable. Overall, it was far better than the last two hotels we stayed in and a real bargain! Rooms were inside, there was an elevator to use. Free wifi. More than likely will use this Inn again next year. Definately recommend, these buildings were built long ago, the bathrooms are what they are.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FuntimesX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.3 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
1.3 mi away
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
#12 of 31 in Pasadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#6 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Pasadena Civic Auditorium
0.9 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena

Property: Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
Address: 1203 East Colorado Boulevard, Pasadena, CA 91106-1843
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Blocks away from Caltech, close to old town Pasadena shopping area, close to Pasadena business center and the playhouse district. Rose Parade passes in front of our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Vagabond Hotel Executive Pasadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing