We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of the Best”
Review of Racion

Racion
Ranked #83 of 711 Restaurants in Pasadena
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tapas and Spanish Cuisine
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Best Spanish Tapas restaurant in all of Southern California!! We have dined here several times and have never been disappointed. Great food. Great staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunlovers760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I should walk out when I realized that we were the only table there for lunch.

The crab salad was so salty that my son just ate the bread. I don not expect fresh crab meat out of shell. But, hey, please rinse the salty water from the can. The lamb meat ball was reheated, dry and burned. The octopus was very salty again. But my son wanted to eat them, so he sipped them into the water. The only thing okay was the beef tongue. Even though they took the crab salad off the bill, I was still disappointed by the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiafei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food but too pricey”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I came here when it first opened because the critics raved about the food. It's "tapas" style menu was very tasty, but the portions were too small to even share. Each is about 2 bites. Dont even talk about drinks. We paid over $70 and were nowhere near full. I'll stick to my small local tapas places. I don't know if it's changed since then.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suz91101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great tapas place”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is one of the absolute best tapas restaurants I have been too and that includes Spain. Every dish is excellently prepared and incredibly fresh and flavorful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MalibuAgoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Spanish-style tapas superbly prepared, savory and delicious, tucked away in a chic house-like setting on a leafy one-way street, peaceful, good service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MermaidsTale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Racion also viewed

 

Been to Racion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing