We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panda Beef!!”

Panda Inn Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 702 Restaurants in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rosemead Blvd.
Description: Panda Inn is the source and original inspiration behind the nationally recognized Panda Express restaurants. Andrew Cherng and his father, Master Chef Ming Tsai Cherng, opened the first Panda Inn in Pasadena, California in 1973. Their goal was to share the culinary arts of Mandarin and Szechuan cuisines with their local community by emphasizing the Chinese art of balancing tastes and textures to provide a dining experience that delights the senses. Today, still family-owned with five locations in Southern California, Panda Inn honors over 40 years of heritage and takes great pride in serving delectable cuisine with attentive service in a warm and welcoming atmosphere.
Los Angeles, California, USA
2 reviews
“Panda Beef!!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great food and great service. The panda beef is the best! Other entrees are your typical Chinese American fare. Nice casual atmosphere but also good for groups and special occasions. Sunday brunch seems really popular with lots of appetizing dishes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    26
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
215 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great food, fabulous service”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was a night out with our friends who know the owners personally. Food was fantastic. These are the people who also own all the Panda Expresses, although I don't think the food at the Panda Expresses meet up to the quality of this location. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“panda beef”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We eat here at least once a month. The delivery is weak, better go get it yourself. The food is good and always hot. I dont care for the bar, but they make a good mai tai

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Sunday brunch!!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

A friend told me about the Sunday brunch at Panda some time ago, and this past Sunday I checked it out. Wow. Not only a very good sushi display but also very good sashimi. At least 15 hot items plus about six or seven appetizer items.. and the custom soup station I haven't seen since I was in China.
Unlimited Mimosa/Champagne/MaiTai... about 25 bucks.

I have to recover before I come back.. ate to much just sampling everything

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabama gulf coast
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Service and food were excellent.”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

After flying all day on business to E. Pasadena, and having had no lunch, I walked from my hotel to a shopping area on Foothill Blvd. where I knew of some good restaurants. Enroute I spotted the Panda Inn and knew instantly that Chinese is what I needed for comfort food. Even though it was rather early for dinner, there were lots of cars in the lot - - a good sign. As I was alone I opted for a table in the spacious bar area where there were three or four TV screens. I was greeted quickly by bartender Caton who explained the menu and provided tea recommendations. I ordered garlic chicken with steamed rice. My order was served promptly and piping hot, enough for two meals. The seasoning of the entree was excellent and the snow peas were exceptionally fresh and attractive. The overall experience was pleasing and I will return during the ten days I will be in Pasadena. As I left I checked out the main dining area and was surprised at its size, and how busy it was. The decor was attractive and I would enjoy a relaxing meal there with my wife at a future date.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank delzville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panda Inn Restaurant also viewed

La Palma, Orange County
 

Been to Panda Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing