We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consider this alternative lodging”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pasadena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arroyo del Sol Clothing Optional Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My wife and I spent a great night here last week hosted by Rolf. We saw less of Cynthia as she was at work during the day. The accomodations are comfortable and fairly represented in the photographs and previous reviews. We are not hard core naturists but are willing to try new things. Rolf is a polite and genial host who is extremely accomodating in all respects. He is a fine cook and prepared a delightful Sonoran egg bake for our breakfast. The property is very close to an access point for trails in the Arroyo Seco so we were able to take a nice hike in the morning. As to the naturist angle, Rolf is completely fine with whatever one feels comfortable with in that regard. As he emphasized to us, "It's clothing optional!" As for us, we did some limited sunning in the late afternoon. I would highly recommend this property for someone looking for something a little different than the basic corporate hotel options in the Pasadena area.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CBST2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

Nestled in the Pasadena foothills, at the top of a cactus-covered slope not far from beautiful Arroyo Seco Canyon, hides this little piece of paradise. As soon as your beaming host greets you at the gate leading into a green spacious oasis that doubles as a front yard, you instantly feel at ease. The sleeping quarters, air conditioned and very clean, are just a small part of the ambiance at this clothing-optional bed and breakfast, where guests are invited to roam freely and the short list of rules simply reflects common sense. Whether it’s sunbathing naturally on the patio, watching television or DVDs in the upstairs common area or cooling off in the outdoor shower next to the delux hot tub out back, your comfort and enjoyment clearly emerge as the top priority. While you can count on one heck of an omelet served with coffee, juice, fresh fruit, toast and jam (they also honor special dietary requests) at whatever time you designate each morning, a small refrigerator in the oversized washroom is fully stocked at all other times of the day. A nice, big bowl of fruit sets on the table in the TV room as well. If you want to engage in conversation with your hosts, they’re happy to oblige. If you prefer to be left alone, that’s fine too. Highly recommended as something just a bit different for anyone thinking of an inland getaway from the textile crowd.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveM709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We felt like honored guest with Rolf and Cynthia, right from the start he showed us around their beautiful home with pride, Cynthia has owned the Frank Lloyd Wright home for 30 years, her children were raised there.
The home is not only comfortable and inviting, but you are shown up to your own private floor where the amenities are plentiful , coffee, tea a beautiful fresh fruit plate, and goodies in the fridge to enjoy including Wine!
We came this weekend to see the Do-Dah parade, a spoof of the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, which took us very little time to get there. The first evening we asked where a local restaurant was that they enjoyed. Had Pot roast, Yummy! good ol' fashioned food
Got up early (9:00 am) early for me! to our choice of a Sweet Breakfast, I requested and it was amazing, I had two helpings! Stuffed pancake with fresh berries inside, ( I requested the recipe) Rolf is the cook and gladly handed it over :)
So off to the Do-Dah with a request from them if we wanted dinner that night with them let us know! How wonderful,We ended up in the afternoon at an amazing Hot dog place in Pasadena so didn't think we'd be hungry, so opted out of dinner and thanked Rolf and Cynthia.
Well low and behold We were getting hungry later and called and asked if we were to late to say yes to dinner, and they replied "Sure" and we got home to a dinner table set outside in front of the amazing property to a stuffed Chicken ,salad and homegrown Artichokes from their garden, what a treat. We talked and talked and enjoyed ourselves over a bottle of wine we brought, oops! then we're having so much fun we opened the one they had placed in our fridge. Breakfast next morn' was stuffed French Toast and bacon, another favorite!
We feel we have made great friends and will be back, have also invited them to stay with us in our home, Arizona,

Room Tip: slept like babies, even though you hear the endearing sound of roosters in the morning! So cool to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C-OHome, Owner at Arroyo del Sol Clothing Optional Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Jongirl, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Arroyo del Sol! The hosts truly enjoyed having you in their home and look forward to future visits to Arroyo del Sol or any of our Clothing Optional B&B's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We were planning on booking the same resort getaway we enjoyed so much in the past, but after stumbling upon this precious gem, we are completely torn! Our hosts were wonderful, the food was delicious (they went out of their way to prepare special meals for us!), the environment was friendly, and all in all it was a great experience. Perfect for a quiet, intimate getaway with the one you love. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Both rooms have plenty of A/C and the entire upstairs is for the guests. Both rooms will share one v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alden H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

When I decided to book two nights at Arroyo del Sol I thought it would be just a B&B, but the owners make it a very special place.

The place is silent, nice and cozy. My bedroom was VERY CLEAN, comfortable with all ammenities I needed. Air conditioning, fan, high speed internet, lots of pillows etc. The area where the guests rooms are have a huge LCD TV screen and awfully comfortable sofas. The walls are all of windows that overlook to the NASA Propulsion Laboratory. The bathroom is very roomy and filled with all ammenities you might think you would need.

The breakfast is cooked every morning to state of the art. Also, if you have the chance, I would highly recommend to have dinner or lunch with the owners. When I was there they cooked a delicious meal and served white wine to go with it. Awesome. Not to mention that we ate the dinner outside under the moonlight with candles shinning through the crystal wine glasses.

The place is silent, just the way I like. In the morning you will hear birds and it feels like if you are in a farm, but you are just some miles away from Los Angeles. Terrific!!!

Room Tip: I chose the larger room, the one that appear in the photo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DDFRESNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
1 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,436 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pasadena Colorado Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#11 of 31 in Pasadena
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arroyo del Sol Clothing Optional Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroyo del Sol Clothing Optional Bed and Breakfast

Address: 556 S Fair Oaks Ave, Suite 101-471, Pasadena, CA 91105-2656
Region: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Pasadena
Price Range: £96 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arroyo del Sol: This unique and significant clothing optional home is located on the edge of the Arroyo Seco Canyon and is a true experience to enjoy with it's 1940's styling and feel. Situated on 2/3 acre, it is adjacent to the trail-head for hiking, biking and horseback riding into the Angeles National Forest, which is just a few steps from the home. Minutes away from the Rose Bowl, shopping, theaters, museums and all of the other amenities of Pasadena, plus a short drive to downtown Los Angeles, Anaheim and the SoCal beaches! A fabulous location for adventuring out to see all that SoCal has to offer...all while you enjoy being in a nudist friendly environment! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing