We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful dinner on New Years Eve is possible!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro 45

Bistro 45
Ranked #21 of 693 Restaurants in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
The Villages, FL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner on New Years Eve is possible!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

6PM dinner on New Years Eve was wonderful! The restaurant is charming, the menu interesting, food well prepared and ambiance perfect for us. The service was good considering the date and we never felt rushed even though there was a 9PM New Years Eve seating to prepare for. Our meals were excellent and the managers (?) attentive to our experience. We would definitely return to sample the other wonderful offerings.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frannieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    26
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best food in Pasadena; special night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I have eaten at Bistro 45 for over 15 years. Robert Simon, the proprietor, manages an elegant restaurant with delicious food and a comfy atmosphere. There is also a very nice outdoor patio. I've been to business dinners, private functions, intimate dinners at Bistro 45; all have been executed. Regardless of the reason; I have always been treated well here. Yes, the food is expensive, but it is well worth it. I always want to come bacik.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Tasty, Overpriced Food Served Carelessly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

When two starters, two entrees, two glasses of wine, and nothing else, cost two hundred dollars, the food should be superb, and the service should be impeccable. While the Bistro 45 food is tasty, the main contributors to the tastiness are salt and fat. Also, presentation is sloppy, with meats swimming in unappetizing coulis pools, and vegetables stuck to plates in congealed gobs of sauce. After the smarmy greeting, we were seated at a comfortable table on a pleasant, covered patio. Our conversation was soon interrupted by noisy furniture moving, as couches and chairs were dismantled and dragged away, to be replaced by tables and chairs that were dragged in. Our server was overall competent, but he went about his job by rote, plainly not caring in the least about his customers. The support staff are the real disasters. Water was poured from a sweating carafe that dripped into our wine glasses. Cutlery was loudly dropped onto tables and the floor. Hands reached to remove unfinished plates, without querying whether the diners were done. All in all, Bistro 45 provides an average dining experience at double the appropriate prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RThyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Pricey but tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just a bit out of the way for us (we go to the Pasadena Playhouse on occasion, about 5 blocks away). It is well run, and the staff is attentive. The food is interesting and very good. If your a big eater, better bring extra money or eat before coming. It has a casual yet mild elegant feel. Patio is fine, but so is the open dining room.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrJR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely food & made to feel very special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We visited the restaurant on a warm Tuesday night & were seated outside. The restaurant has a lovely feel to it and we were made to feel very welcome. A lovely selection of meals on the menu and we were all pleased with the quality of our food. We don't normally have sweets but the menu was so tempting and we made the right choice the sweets were "out of this world" This is the place for a special meal if you want great service - Bistro 45 comes highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kezzab67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro 45 also viewed

 

Been to Bistro 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing