We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, flavourful food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Akira

Maison Akira
Reserve with OpenTable
Maison Akira is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #89 of 693 Restaurants in Pasadena
Price range: US$41 - US$80
Cuisines: French, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: El Molino
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent, flavourful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Attentive, friendly service. We were welcomed as walk-ins just before the kitchen closed.
The shrimp appetiser and apple tart dessert were particularly delicious.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneStFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fine dining at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Maison Akira has got to be my most favorite fancy French restaurant ever! If you want to indulge and don't mind splurging a little, then this is the place that you've been looking for. Their French onion soup tastes better than the one I tried in Paris, France. After all Chef Akira studied culinary arts from the top chefs in Paris.
The Snake River Farm "Kobe Beef" Sliced New York Steak in Cabernet Sauce is the most delicious steak I've ever devoured in my life! The steak is marinated to perfection.
Everyone has to at least try their Duo of Creme Brulee for dessert. Out of all the creme brulees I've ever eaten in my life, Maison Akira serves the best creme brulee you can ever possibly imagine. It's made to perfection. The creme brulee is flavorful and has a soft, creamy texture. In fact, you get two flavors of creme brulee. Start out with the green tea creme brulee followed by the vanilla creme brulee.
I can't wait to go back to Maison Akira again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

We endured almost 2 hours in LA traffic to have what can only be described as an average dining experience. This place is extremely overrated. Everything we ordered tasted bland. We had 3 different entres that were all piled on top of the same mess of mashed potatoes and mixed vegetables. The service was spotty. Save your time and money and eat somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“interesting and very fine Japanese/French fusion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Spotty service andwhat small portions were drawbacks to an otherwise enjoyable dining experience. Nearly every table was filled with seemingly content diners yet there was a very low noise level. In fact, the decor and atmosphere make this one of the most xelegant restaurants we have found in Pasadena. Food was well prepared pecisely as requested and was very flavorful. Our server failed to mention any specials, and other servers during the meal were remarkably unfriendly though not quite discourteous.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaestroAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We had invited friends to join us for a matinee at the Pasadena Playhouse on a Sunday, and were looking for somewhere to have lunch/brunch prior to the show. Originally had planned to meet them at the Langham Huntingon, Terrace Cafe, but found their breakfast buffet menu to be overpriced for what they offered. Then I recalled someone had mentioned Maison Akira for brunch, but never had the chance to give them a try. We decided this would be the perfect opportunity. This place is small, which we found to be a plus. Don't really care for loud crowds. The quality of the food was better because they are not feeding hoards of people. The service was attentive, helpful and friendly. The fixed price included a choice of champagne, mimosa, or orange juice, and coffee or tea. Many of the choices are served in small ramikins so you get a taste of some absolutely wonderful things. We had califlower mouse with a light tomatoe sauce and baby shrimp also some green tea creme brulee the day we were there. There is also a carving station and a selection of sushi to choose from. I believe omelettes were available on request. Since the restaurant is walking distance to the playhouse, we parked just once and were not so rushed to get to the theatre on time. For our purpose, a perfect choice. Highly reccommended and would come back again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank betterlatethannever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maison Akira also viewed

 

Been to Maison Akira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing