We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good mexican restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margarita's

Margarita's
Ranked #228 of 693 Restaurants in Pasadena
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I've been a regular at Margaritas for quite a few years...as a rule (when I go to a Mexican restaurant) I usually stay away from the "classic" dishes such as burritos and such and go for the specialties...no exception here (except for the Tacos, especially the soft ones)...my favorites are the Chicken or Beef chipotle, la costa special, beef picado, camarones zacatecas or the chicken mole.
the guac is also really good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Was not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We came here for dinner. My wife had the carnitas salad and I had carnitas tacos. Normally, we would order somewhat different foods but not this time. Their service was good - the orders were taken accurately, quickly, and they kept checking on us to see if we needed more water or chips/salsa. I also ordered a regular margarita and it was pretty good - I can't say I've ever had a bad one, though! I guess I am giving an average rating because the carnitas on the tacos were pretty dry and a bit tasteless. My wife agreed with me on both counts for her salad.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ccabacungan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Margarita's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Margarita's offers Great Food, Service, and Beverages at resonable prices. The Salsa and Chips are outstanding. This is the Best Mexican Food on the East Side of Pasadena!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Parrothead1829-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretty good Mexican. Good margaritas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

This is a good place to go to get the lunch buffet. And they have a great seafood taco salad!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debPasadena_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
162 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Try the Chipotle Beef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

I have dinner here several times a year. The service is always prompt and rarely is there a wait for a table. The chips and salsa are fresh and seemingly endless. My favorite dish is the chipotle beef, tender steak slices simmered in a spicy red sauce with onions and mushrooms. Pair it with a icy margarita for an excellent meal.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wosli3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Margarita's also viewed

 

Been to Margarita's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing