We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good atmosphere but food is lacking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smitty's Grill

Smitty's Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Smitty's Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 693 Restaurants in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Green St.
Description: Iron skillet cornbread, homemade chicken pot pie, BBQ baby back ribs and more. Plus, hand-crafted cocktails and fine wines by the bottle & glass. Considered a dining room away from home by many in Pasadena, Smitty's Grill continues to warmly welcome new and long-time guests to its comfortable surroundings. Whether one is having a business lunch or a birthday dinner for your favorite relative, our restaurant can be your home away from home. American comfort food forms the core of our menu, with our Iron Skillet Cornbread, famous Chicken Pot Pie, or our Rattlesnake BBQ Baby Back Ribs, you're sure to find exactly what you're craving.
Reseda, California, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere but food is lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Decided to come here for my birthday dinner after getting a good review on a sister restaurant, Parkway Grill. Complementary valet service is always nice, & the restaurant gives off a good feel with the vintage/modern look.

As for the service, it was solid. Nothing spectacular to write about except that I got (a kind of expected) free birthday dessert (chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream!). Our waitress was very nice & attentive as well as the other staff. Did seem a little overstaffed with many standing around the restaurant talking to each other when we first came in but by the time we left everyone was quite busy.

The food lacked a little in my opinion. Could be because I'm becoming accustomed to fine restaurants (& fine steaks) but my medium rare steak seemed rarer than it should've been. The blue cheese dressing on top was also very heavy & overpowering. The asparagus on the side was VERY al dente as well.

One thing I will note that is very good (& rightfully so) is their signature cornbread. It sure is corny! Interesting in that it looks like an apple pie with a corn crumble on top, soft cornbread on a second layer, & actual corn kernels mixed in.

The desert I ordered was also not the greatest. The apple & walnut bread pudding was quite bland unless you got a bite that had waaaaaayyyy too much cinammon on it (& I like cinammon).

Overall a decent experience & not too bad for what you pay.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    65
    11
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Altadena
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

It was our 46 year anniversary being married. So we decided to spend it at Smitty's for an intimate dinner. When my husband called to make the reservation, he did mention it was our anniversary, but did not say we wanted a more to our self, type of spot in the restaurant. So the waiter was going to sit us between to tables that were very close to us. My husband asked to be sited else where, which was out in the front patio, and that was nice, not so close to others. Our main course we ordered was very good, but, our salad we ordered was not as good, we ordered the mixed green salad, what was disappointing was there was hardly any dark greens, mostly iceberg lettuce. Also, they usually bring you bread, we had to ask them for it. We also were disappointed that the restaurant would not take our visa gift card that was given to us for our anniversary for $ 75.00 dols. The waitress said, they've being having some problems with that type of card. What we don't understand, what's difference between debit or regular credit card? They accept those...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ritagirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Service was the best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My friend and I went here last week to have lunch. The food was good, but the service was what made it. We both had the special salad and added chicken. It was good, but not outstanding. The ambience was also good with nice décor, linen tablecloths, and privacy. But what made the whole meal was our waiter, Bobby. He was attentive without being overbearing, very polite yet friendly and personable, and went over the top to make sure we had everything we wanted. If you have the chance, request him. One thing to note that we didn't know is that they have complimentary valet parking in the back. I walked a couple blocks from the public parking area. And when you're finished, there are lots of nice shops close by to browse through. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank icyvelvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Thank goodness we had a reservation as they were very busy the evening we were there. From start to finish they made us feel welcome. Very attentive staff and a wonderful meal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BchBaby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This local loves it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I use trip advisor when I travel and thought I would share this local gem with you. Great food, great service, and you will not be disappointed. Smith Brothers are known for their steaks, you will not be disappointed. Outside seating is available year round (heat lamps for those chilly 50 degree evenings). Easy to get to and valet parking is available behind the Grill. One of the nicest places to eat in Pasadena for fine dining! Do not let the crowd fool you thinking you need to dress up either, they welcome you in shorts in the summer! Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne8290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Smitty's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing