We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meals & service”

Gale's Italian Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Gale's Italian Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 698 Restaurants in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: California
Transit: We are very close tothe Del Mar Station for the Metrolink. We are about 3 blocks away.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great meals & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We were pleased with pleasant, attentive service from our arrival.
We dined here after our Canadian Grey Cup football game, and they even allowed us to move our reservation back an hour when we were running late.
On advice of others, we were seated in the quieter room at the back.
Our food orders came quickly, and were delicious: Ravioli stuffed with shrimp and , and gnocchi as good as the best we had in Veneto, Italy! Served with Italian sausage, tender pork pieces and tomatoes in a wonderful sauce.
We may return on holiday to try a full course meal, since we only tried main entree this time.
Worth a visit and reservation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BogeyPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    96
    28
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Italian with warmth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Gales is comfort Italian food at its best. The wine list is of good quality and reasonably priced. The service is very attentive. It can be a bit loud when crowded but it's worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank wwnoce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The crusty bread with olive oil for dipping, salad with house dressing, chicken piccata, and herb roasted chicken our group of 3 had were outstanding. Although we had a reservation we had to wait quite a while for a table to become available. Be aware that if you are seated in the front dining room it is VERY noisy. It was hard for us to carry on a conversation because of the noise. The food, however, was worth the wait and inconvenience. Our waiter was attentive. Biscotti are provided to end the meal on a sweet note. Portions are large-more than enough to take half home for another meal. If you visit Pasadena don't miss Gale's!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grandmaB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner & excellent service at Gale's!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our first time at Gale's & it was awesome. We were there for our daughter's 18th Birthday. Kristen, our amazing waitress, took such excellent care of us. She was incredible! We felt like we were her only customers!
All of our dishes were A M A Z I N G & D E L I C I O U S! HUGE portions too!
My young son does not like sauce on his pizza, but ordered it with very light sauce & he LOVED the sauce! This is a first! By the way, the children's cheese pizza is gigantic! Two or three kiddos can easily share it! It was delicious too!
Kristen offered my daughter something off of the dessert... Complimentary too! She picked the Chocolate Flourless cake and whoa... it was amazing!! We highly recommend it!! Can't wait to go back to Gale's!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachGirl456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Diamond in the Rough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Pasadena, CA boasts the Rose Bowl, the Rose Parade, Norton Simon Muesum, Huntington Gardens, and Old Town. But a diamond that shines brightly for locals, and those in the know, is Gale's restaurant. Gale's feature a delightful Tuscany style menu that is hard to compare with any other restaurant I have been to. My favorite are the lamb chops but they are closely followed by their pork chop parmesan. The bolognese is a solid back up when i can't decide what I want. Whether I sit at the bar, or in the dining room, the staff has always been upbeat, friendly, and "spot on" exceptional. Make reservations - word is spreading!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gale's Italian Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Gale's Italian Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing