We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Food in a comfortable setting”

Gale's Italian Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Gale's Italian Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 702 Restaurants in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: California
Transit: We are very close tothe Del Mar Station for the Metrolink. We are about 3 blocks away.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delicious Food in a comfortable setting”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have been coming to Gale's for years. We have lost count of how many anniversaries, Valentine's Day and birthday celebrations we have had at Gale's. The Italian food is delicious and the service is warm and welcoming. Biscotti at the end of the meal is always a treat. We can't recommend this restaurant enough. Just make sure to make reservations in the evening, especially on Friday and Saturday.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    97
    28
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose,CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in Pasadena”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I dropped in for lunch b/c it was convenient and we love Italian food. Food and service were excellent. Many choices, and excellent wine list. Server very knowledgeable and gracious, hostess charming. Everyone very polite. Makes you want to return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BADGERSanJose_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good first impression”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Went last night with friends and was pleasantly surprised. Kind of a hidden gem in Pasadena. Was definitely checking out the plates of food as they passed our table on the way out of the kitchen and everything looked good. Generous portions too! Service was professional and helpful. The prices were on the high side, but would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lasfloresdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Truly Italian”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Was meeting some long time friends for lunch, and this turned out to e the perfect spot. This was a great dinning experience. The Decor is inviting and the Staff is very welcoming and attentive without being intrusive. We order the warm olives and the Bruschetta as starers, both were good. I had the pena pasta marinara with the artisan Italian sausage. The marinara was thick and flavorful the pasta cooked just right and the sausage was a spicey delight. Two friends had the sausage sandwhich and raved about them. The 3rd friend had Grilled Salmon Club and he to was very pleased. It was also so nice to go to an Italian restaurant that had a good selection of Italian Wines and not the usual two Chianti's. We sat for a long time after finishing are food sipping wine and catching up and were never rushed. It is no wonder that this is such a highly rate restaurant, I well certainly be returning for a Dinner experience soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NoHoMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing jewel off the beaten path”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I love Italian food, but I cook so much of it at home that I'm picky about eating it when I travel. That said, Gale's was a wonderful dining experience. It's located in the middle of a line of shops south of Colorado Blvd., so you have to know where you're going. However, you can walk there in about 10 minutes, and it is definitely worth it.

The staff are incredibly friendly and gracious. The restaurant was busy when we arrived, but they were still able to seat us right away. The decor is charming and cozy. A great spot to bring family, friends, or a date.

I'm a vegetarian, so I ordered the Orrechette Verdure, an interesting blend of spinach, broccoli and sun dried tomato that was incredibly flavorful. My mother ordered the Portabello Ravioli and raved about it. By far my favorite dining spot of the trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gale's Italian Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Gale's Italian Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing