We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Breakfast”
Review of Novel cafe

Novel cafe
Ranked #174 of 705 Restaurants in Pasadena
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Breakfast”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped in on a whim & turned out to be a nice surprise.
Was greeted by a well decorated restaurant, clean & tidy. Pandora was streaming & I enjoyed the music channel they had selected, mellow to match my Sunday mode. The stff were friendly & attentive.
Ordered the chilaquiles for breakfast along w/an Americano, very good!
The ranchera sauce was almost too much but it was good nonetheless less.
My coffee was excellent!
I like, can recommend for breakfast.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trip4Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Good selection of sandwich choices, nice atmosphere and good location if you are staying at hotels near Pasadena City College.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SonomaCo_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAS CRUCES
Level 6 Contributor
697 reviews
529 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Nice cafe with large sandwiches”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stopped by for lunch and ordered the club sandwich and salad -- it comes with a choice of fries or salad. Because we were not hungry, we split it. It came on a huge rectangular plate. There was plenty of salad with nice mixed greens and a balsamic vinagrette dressing. They brought us two plates. The sandwich was around $10.95. We sat inside, which is a bit dark, and has a bar-like atmosphere. There are also a few tables in the entry, which has a more garden-like atmosphere. The service was fast, but we were early, somewhat before noon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANNIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Lives up to its name”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate here for a Sunday Brunch. The wait staff was very attentive, responded within minutes of our arrival. The menu selection, especially after 11 am, opens the door to many possibilities. I chose the veggie omelet, potatoes, hash browns and whole wheat toast and my husband the novel rancheros. The only problem we had was finishing the meals. Portions are large and very tasty. The restaurant is more of a college, neighborhood place with a plus sign. Many around it fall more into the fast food arena. Looking for an excellent meal, away from Old Town area this is it. Happy hour prices posted looked great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Very popular place, went 3 times in 2 days. Food is excellent, and staff very friendly. Eggs Benedict out of this world! Portions generally very large, so think twice before you order too much!

Caesar Salad also excellent!

Highly recommended. 3 minute walk from Howard Johnson..........but beware of the uneven sidewalk!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank montySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Novel cafe also viewed

 

Been to Novel cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing