We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Father's Day Lunch”
Review of Kal's Mediterranean Bistro - CLOSED

Kal's Mediterranean Bistro
Price range: US$10 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Raymond ave.
Transit: 177 Metro LineRaymond / Holly 260 Metro LineFair Oaks / Holly Metro Gold Line (804)Memorial Park Station 180/181 Metro LineColorado / Raymond 687/686 Metro LineColorado / Raymond 762 Metro Rapid LineFair Oaks / Colorado 256 Metro LineColorado / Raymond 267/264 Metro LineWalnut / Raymond
Description: Modern Mediterranean cuisine presented in a delicious and playful fashion alongside hand-selected wines, hand-crafted cocktails, and welcoming service. Our offerings are driven by the season and the market, with several trips a week to various farmers' markets and foraging.
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Father's Day Lunch”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Four of us had a Father's Day lunch at Kal's Mediterranean Bistro. We made reservations but did not need them as we were the only people there at 1 PM. We were worried at first with no crowd but enjoyed the attention, service and food. We shared various dips with pita bread and stuffed grape leaves. For the main course we had chicken shawerma, lamb shawerma and a vegan platter.
All enjoyed their entrees with the exception of the vegan platter. It had lentils, grape leaves, pickles, bred and dip. It was not particularly tasty. The shawerma serving sizes were large. The tea was unique and enjoyable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mediterranean - Middle Eastern fare with a difference !!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Conveniently located in a cozy setting just one block north of Colorado Blvd surrounded by mid-century red brick buildings .... yet within walking distance of great shopping. Parking just opposite restaurant. Wood paneled with warm friendly ambiance and friendly unhurried service. Great 1950's cool jazz and jazz vocalists add to the atmosphere. Varied and interesting menu choices from classic Greek to modern Middle Eastern dishes. The lamb and chicken entrees were flavorful, colorful, tasty, and well presented. The beet salad was exceptional as was the falafel. The beer and wine list though not extensive provided adequate variety. We plan to come back... definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fwaffarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

This lovely little restaurant serves Mediterranean cuisine with a twist. To start off I had a Mediterranean mule cocktail: cardamom, pomegranate and other delights , so refreshing. My friend had an excellent lamb burger topped with feta and yogurt; superb! I had skewered lamb with salad and Arabian rice also good. My husband had lamb shawarma in pita bread. We also three dips with bread, eggplant, red pepper with pecans- really great service, charming owners. Great for a romantic night out or fun with friends. Three entrees , 6 cocktails , 80 bucks. Love it!

Helpful?
1 Thank lascola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justina A, Owner at Kal's Mediterranean Bistro, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
It was a pleasure having you dine at our restaurant and thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to your next visit.
Kal's Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best food all week!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This restaurant participated in DineLA's restaurant week event and I was so glad. Every course was a pleasure. The atmosphere and art on the walls was very enjoyable. The wait staff was adorable. Loved it!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic_Ferrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justina A, Owner at Kal's Mediterranean Bistro, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We are glad you enjoyed dining at our restaurant. We hope you had a pleasant stay in Pasadena. We look forward to having you dine at our restaurant on your next visit.
Sincerely, Kal's Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere and personable staff”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I visited here while in town and was pleased to find the intimate, warm atmosphere of the restaurant on a quiet street north of Colorado Blvd close to the Courtyard Marriott hotel. There's a small bar that is perfect for a before dinner drink. I ordered the lamb kebob for my main course and found it to be perfect. It rivaled what i was served when I ordered this meal in Istanbul. Perfectly done and complemented with rice and steamed vegetables. I thoroughly enjoyed the meal. I will definitely return when I'm in Pasadena.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BLT310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kal's Mediterranean Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing