We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific find”

Azeen's Afghani Restaurant
Ranked #347 of 698 Restaurants in Pasadena
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
316 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Terrific find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Azeen’s is a perfect “other Asian” cuisine for those who don’t think they like anything Asian other than Panda Express. In a delightful storefront adorned with murals, photos and weavings of Afghanistan, my group started with the BULANEE, a turnover filled with leek, scallions and herbs. After a salad course, our entrees included MANTU, steamed dumplings filled with chopped beef and onions, topped with yogurt and mixed vegetables; SMAROOQ CHALLAW, tender pieces of breast of chicken sautéed with mushrooms, onions, tomatoes and green peppers; mixed chicken and lamb Kabob; and a yummy butternut squash. Try it. You’ll like it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LightPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sylmar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must in Pasadena, CA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I admit, the location is not the best; the windows look out - if you care to look - on a bleak though clean building and street. But the food is excellent - and not just the kebabs. Eat what you think has the weirdest name and you will love it. Ambiance is good though not overwhelming, parking is close by and safe.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you've never tried Afghan cuisine, here's your opportunity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

One of not many Afghan restaurants, this serves authentic cuisine (I lived in Afghanistan for a couple years) in a pleasant setting. Parking is on street (if you're lucky) or a nearby lot. Decor is attractive. Service good, waiters gracious. One advantage of eating here (as opposed to Afghanistan) is you needn't worry about taking ill. Owner/manager is Afghan.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sctmtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great middle eastern food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

A small cozy restaurant. The afghan food is authentic and definitely worth trying... It's a little pricey but worth the money! A hidden gem indeed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mariamlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
351 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Tried something new and loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2008

When I found out there was a popular Afghani restaurant in Pasadena I was excited to try it. I have never tried Afghani food before and this was a great surprise.

The restaurant is small and cozy. It has a mural of Afghanistan on the wall and the staff is very knowledgeable of the menu.

The Afghan cardamom tea was amazing. We also tried the leek and scallion dumplings that were in sauce that was delicate and fresh. You could tell that great care was put into the dish. We also had the kebabs. Lamb and chicken, they were both amazing. The grilled flavors and seasonings were very exotic. We tried the sautéed eggplant with spiced yogurt sauce. That dish was a little bland but very fresh.

I loved the fact that it was a hidden gem and family owned. The food was very fresh and it was a great way to try something different. I would suggest this to anyone interested in trying Afghan food. It has a lot of influences from India but not the spice and heat of Indian food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bakesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Azeen's Afghani Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Azeen's Afghani Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing