We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good fast food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SanSai Japanese Grill

SanSai Japanese Grill
Ranked #304 of 693 Restaurants in Pasadena
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Good for: Child-friendly
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
“Good fast food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We often visit the SanSai Japanese Grill restaurant on S. Lake Blvd, which is pretty close to our home. The chicken, steak, shrimp plates are nice and cheap.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuanxi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good Fast Food Japanese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We've been stopping here for lunch or dinner for many years now. It is far more than a fast food restaurant as the menu selection is very large with a wide variety of rolls and other dishes. The prices are very reasonable. Always pay the extra dollar for the Sumi salad and/or the miso soup with your meal -- and be careful, the soup is very hot. It''s not the best sushi you'll ever eat but the service is fast and efficient and the prices are too good to pass up.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
350 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Fresh, Healthy Japanese Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I often eat here or get take-out. The salads are very fresh and delicious, so are their sushi rolls. My favorite are the combination plate....everything from teriyaki chicken, beef, chicken, shrimp, to Udon soup, to noodle dishes. LOVE this place! Never had a bad experience here! There's plenty of seating and a huge parking lot is right outside. (Hint: you cannot see the restaurant from Lake Ave, you have to go around the back and enter the parking lot, in order to see it. It's a little more expensive than regular take-out, but well worth it, because you're getting very healthy, fresh food!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GermaicanSpiceGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“healthy work-lunch place. But I wouldn't do something dumb and expect good sushi from a place like this.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

healthy work-lunch place

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Bad food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

Bad food

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed SanSai Japanese Grill also viewed

 

Been to SanSai Japanese Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing