We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An old style family cafe”
Review of Russell's

Russell's
Ranked #3 of 702 Restaurants in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: No description available.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“An old style family cafe”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A nice selection of good food and very fair prices. A charming throwback to cafes of yore that oozed a friendly atmosphere and a willingness to please the customer. A great location in Old Pasadena just down the street from the Courtyard Marriott. We ate there twice and enjoyed both meals with gusto.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MALKYPOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    107
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FAIRFAX
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great late night fare”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived at the hotel late evening and the front desk recommended this as the only place available. We ended up going back since it was good, close, & quick! Burgers and salads were made to order and service was great. The art is fun and interesting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PAULABeachBikeCruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gabriel, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“C'est unique!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Different diner experience awaits at Russell's. On a rainy morning, my husband and I decided to try Russells for breakfast. We are locals who, having basically ignored this cafe for years, are now realizing its delights. The rich red walls and cozy booths are background to unexpected chandeliers, reproductions of famous European art and delightful music.
Mornings feel special at Russels. Gentlemanly waiters serve buttery hash browns alongside exceptional omelets. Too much food, but they also offer a wonderful lite breakfast which is just smaller portions of eggs, those hash browns and either bacon or sausage (get the sausage). In addition to normal toast choices, you can also order a bagel.
Took 6 family members recently and everyone enjoyed what they ordered. Hard to please group, so that's a good recommendation.
Have noticed a sign for new ownership. Hopefully, it will all stay the same!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimipjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxed and good service”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was by myself and wanted a quick dinner. Food was quite ok and I liked the relaxed atmosphere and good service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzzzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
170 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Loved the breakfast”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was by myself and sat the counter. Very good service and yummy vegetable omelet with cheese. Can't wait to be back in Pasadena again to eat here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Russell's also viewed

 

Been to Russell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing