We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UNEXCEPTABLE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Pasadena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Pasadena
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“UNEXCEPTABLE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I called in the early evening to make reservation. The front desk informed me that all that they to accomadate us was a suite. I checked in after 11:30pm. We went straight to bed. When we woke up, my four year old grandson was crying. We noticed he had red bumps all over his body and he was itching. The cot he was sleeping on had bugs on it. We then noticed that all the light switches had a sticky black grime on then. Thist grime was also on the bathroom floor.There was blood on the wall in the bedroom. The bathroom floor did not close all the way The foot traffic was loud as was the noise from people talking in the other rooms.The sprinklers were taped. My daughter called the front desk to report the unsatisfactory conditions. The manager said there was nothing he could do about it. I then went to the front desk again to show the manager the pictures of our room. He said all he could do was to give me a slight discount.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank heidi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    135
    125
    90
    85
See reviews for
174
105
64
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

My wife and I have been staying here for the Rose Parade for the last 5 years or so and every year when we come back there are more improvements done to the rooms and property. Very clean and comfortable and Mrs. Chu and her son Aaron and their staff do everything they can to accommodate your requests. They have a large breakfast area with much more than the average 'continental' style with plenty of hot foods and seating areas. even have a small store area with anything you might have forgotten on your trip. The rooms and especially the front balconey rooms are the best for parade viewing. We stay here every time we are in southern Ca. because it is close to everything you want to see or do in the area. A great hotel with a great family running it.

Room Tip: Every room is a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Great facility, comfortable beds with firm mattresses - no "rolling to the middle", new showers (the shower head was high enough for a 6-footer...I didn't have to crouch!) Good breakfast choices.
Location was great for watching the Rose Parade...about 10 feet from the floats and you could smell the roses!
Great location, walkable to Old Pasadena, Denny's, Von's for groceries. Nice residential neighborhood nearby.

Room Tip: About six rooms have balcony facing E. Colorado Blvd. They'll book early for the 2012 parade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel to watch the Rose Parade. The loction is perfect for parade viewing. In fact, some of the rooms have balconies that open to Colorado Blvd. so you could watch from your room. We did not stay in one of those rooms, but the location allowed us to walk from the hotel to stands where our seats were located. The rates at this hotel do jump pretty dramatically during this time of year. Out of curiosity we checked online rates for the week after we left, and they were approximately 1/3 the amount we paid. Overally, I would say the the location made the additional expense worthwhile because we did not have to worry about parking for the parade. The area has a few shops and restarurants nearby, but not nearly the options available in Old Town Pasadena--and it was too far to walk to those from the hotel. The rooms were clean and neat with plenty of space. The only problem we found was that our room had only two hangers in the closet. That was quickly resolved, however. The staff was friendly and helpful throughout our stay, and provided a complimentary New Year's Eve treat of crackers, cookies andsparkling cider. Breakfast was included with the room, and it was basically a continental breakfast buffet, but did include a waffle station, a good selection of cereal, boiled eggs and fresh fruit. Free wifi service was also available. If I was going to Pasadena for a reason other than the Rose Parade, I would likely choose to stay closer to the Old Town area, but this was a great location for Parade viewing!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tidefan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrysville, PA USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed over the Tournament of Roses Parade 2012 weekend and had a good stay. The room was a decent size with a king bed, a chest of drawers, a table, two chairs, and two side tables for the bed. There was no wardrobe or closet in the room, just a hanging bar with a few hangers by the sink. The bathroom was a good size with a toilet and shower/tub combination. The room had a microwave oven and refrigerator.

The location, particularly for the parade, is fantastic. We did not have a balcony room in the front, but those that did just had to open their drapes for a full view of the parade. Plus, having a place to park on parade day was a huge bonus. There are a few shops and restaurants within walking distance, including a very nice Von's. The motel is too far from Old Pasadena for us to have walked there.

It is the little things that make the difference, good and bad, with this motel. First, the not-so-good. The room looks like it has been updated within the past 10 years, but it could use some freshening. Everything just seemed a little bit worn and out-of-date, particularly in the bathroom. The tub, toilet, and floor could stand a wholesale replacement. The bathroom ceiling and light/fan was in really rough shape and the fan sounded like a circular saw. Plus, there was no soap shelf at all in the shower. The continental breakfast is adequate. For the good, the TV in the room had all of the local channels available in HD, which sure pleased us when we watched Channel 5's replays of the parade all day. (Our daughter was in the parade!)

The best part, however, was the staff. I have stayed in many hotels with great staffs, but this one tops them all. From the front desk personnel to the cleaning staff, everyone was just great. Not only were they all very friendly, but they were extremely helpful and accommodating. And to top it off, we came back to the room the afternoon of New Year's Eve and found some nice crackers, shortbread cookies, and bottle of sparkling cider waiting for us, compliments of the staff.

All-in-all, it was a pleasant stay for us in Pasadena.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saktunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
389 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We were a group of seven having a reunion in Pasadena. The office staff was most helpful from the time the reservation was made and while we were there. The rooms were clean, quiet and the breakfast was more than continental. We were centrally located to many of the sights in Pasadena. The price could not be beat. We all agreed that this was a good choice

Room Tip: Rooms on the front get the afternoon sun. However, the drapes are heavy enough to block it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavonnemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramadapasadena, Manager at Ramada Pasadena, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Thank you for your kind and informative review of your property. We really enjoyed having your group stay with us and appreciate that we were able to make your reunion a more enjoyable memory. We hope that we can serve you again during your next reunion. Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Travel a lot. Sometimes on my own dime. Want the cheapest, but search for nice at same time. This is the place in Pasadena. Get a room on top floor in the back - no killer afternoon sun and quieter.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddie555L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramadapasadena, Manager at Ramada Pasadena, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Thank you for your helpful review and offering that great tip to our guests. Hope to see you again soon. Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
1.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Pasadena
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Pasadena Civic Auditorium
0.6 mi away
Saga Motor Hotel
Saga Motor Hotel
#10 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Reve Pasadena
Hotel Le Reve Pasadena
#18 of 31 in Pasadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.4 mi away
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
#12 of 31 in Pasadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pasadena Colorado Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Pasadena

Property: Ramada Pasadena
Address: 2156 E Colorado Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Pasadena 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Ramada Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Of Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Ramada Inn Pasadena
Pasadena Ramada Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing