We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too bad I retired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Pasadena
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Too bad I retired”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Before I retired, I frequently stayed at this hotel when traveling on business. Although I don't regret having retired, I do miss my stays here. The room was always clean and the staff always accommodated my request for a room with an armchair.

I always looked forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranDan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    489
    183
    91
    52
See reviews for
270
346
92
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Like many high end hotels, you pay more and get less. Here on business, I needed decent Internet. Speed was 1 Mbit down, about half that up (wired or wireless), which makes it very hard to get work done, let alone watch video on your laptop. And, if you have to pay, it's $12/day. The decor is cold and uninviting. Self-parking is $9/day. My room didn’t have a clock radio, or even a plastic bag for soiled laundry. TV viewing quality was terrible except for a few HD channels. The Sheraton a few blocks away (also a Starwood property) was better on all counts when I stayed there a few months ago.

Room Tip: North side looks at a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Pilgrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. The specifics that you mention surprise me because that is not a common observation from our guests and certainly not up to our standards. All of your guest amenities should have been in place. I apologize that they were not. Likewise, we have a rather robust back end to our internet service and, while I agree that 1mbps up and down is too slow, I do not have a logical explanation for it. I hope that we have the chance to do better for you on a return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

It's... OK. Take away the Starwood points and the nice public spaces, and you have a Holiday Inn Express at a full market price.

+ Newish construction
+ Friendly staff, gladly accommodates things like late check-outs
+ Comfy bed

But after that, it's bare-bones everything:

- Room does not have a mini-fridge
- Calling for service results in perma-rings or fast busy signal, on a weekday evening
- Mediocre maintenance work - Errant shower stream sends water pooling outside the tub; I should think that's normally impossible to miss.
- Hallway noise filters into room

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ending in -07 (right across from ice machine, loud!), -27 and -29 (right across from ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great spot to stay in Pasadena. Very friendly and helpful staff. Central location and easy access to all that Pasadena has to offer around Colo Boulevard. Rooms are very comfy and quiet - easy to get a good night's sleep. Room service always good and promptly delivered. Would definitely recommend the Westin for stays in this area,


Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GarySD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

our room was very quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable. The pool and fitness center are attractive, with wonderful views and good equipment. We had some special requests while staying at the hotel, and the front desk was very accomodating. the small pet friendly policy is certainly a plus, although be aware that pets are not permitted inside the restaurant - as expected- but also not for outside dining as well. room service was hit or miss. an order for 2 burgers at 4:00 PM were promised in 20-25 minutes and took 45 minutes to arrive, but a breakfast order promised in the same timeframe arrived in 15 minutes. the rooms are well-appointed, clean and modern. we had a great experience and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Valley, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Good - Beautiful property located in central Pasadena. Nice architecture, situated within the adjoining Plaza Las Fuentes and next to the beautiful historic Civic Center. Friendly staff, although my dinner service was rough with orders being botched and my needing to ask for silverware, we both laughed it off. Nice workout room and outdoor pool area.

Not so good: Heavenly bed wasn't so heavenly this time. Not sure why but mattress seemed a bit lumpy and pillows firmer than I recall.

Bad: Bathroom. Tight, no counter space. Housekeeping slipped in my room as I noted hair on the floor and tub areas. Tub grout was moldy. Customary multiple Westin shower heads, but the hard water has calcified the holes making them appear unsightly. All in all, pretty gross.

Will see if the the Langham Huntington has availability next time.

Room Tip: This isn't a view hotel, however note the pool is located on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hvlewfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Quiet. Comfortable bed. Clean room. Good gym and sauna. Great staff and management. Great location and view. Could easily walk to Paseo Colorado for dinner and Starbucks in the AM. Restaurants nearby - PF Changs, The Yardhouse and Islands. All good at what they do. Only negative is that the jacuzzi was closed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.7 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
2.1 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#6 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#9 of 31 in Pasadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Pasadena

Property: The Westin Pasadena
Address: 191 N Los Robles Ave, Pasadena, CA 91101-1707
Region: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pasadena
#2 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Pasadena 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find us in the heart of one of California's most exciting cities, with easy access to cultural sites such as the Historic Old Town, museums, restaurants, and the Rose Bowl Stadium. We're also only a short distance from the Pasadena Conference Center. We offer 345 crisp, clean guest rooms and five unique suites, all boasting our signature white Westin Heavenly(R) Bed with pillow-top mattress. Many rooms offer great courtyard or mountain views, and all are furnished with the uplifting Heavenly(R) Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Westin Pasadena
Pasadena Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing