We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GORGEOUS PUBLIC ROOMS BUT.........” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Pasadena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Westin Pasadena
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
214 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS PUBLIC ROOMS BUT.........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel rooms leave a lot to be desired. The typical room is 245 sq ft. It feels terribly cramped. If you opt for an Executive Room, you get an extra 120 sq ft which is livable. The furniture and decorations are blah, but this is a business hotel so they probably figure no one is in their room much.
The fitness room is state of the art. The pool area is lovely. The restaurant ditto. The food is very good here too. The staff are all very friendly and eager to make you happy. There is a cushy library nook right off the lobby.
So, it is what it is. Not luxury by a long shot, but a reasonably priced hotel just a block off Colorado in the heart of Old Town. There is a Sheraton and Hilton on the same street even closer to Colorado. Just saying........ check it all out.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room or an executive room. You do not want just a deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimLusher, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thanks for your feedback. I appreciate the desire for additional room and certainly happy that we had alternatives to offer to you. The design of our guestrooms was done by the Westin design team and meant to be soothing and comfortable. I am glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy the offerings in our amenities and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    482
    179
    91
    50
See reviews for
263
339
90
451
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The room design is comfort. You can have a short walk to nearby spot. No need to take a ride to settle.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 861murphyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Of course this is just my opinion, and neither Hubs or I have stayed anywhere else in Pasadena, but given its location [not in noisy, crowded Old Town but close enough] and pros listed below, I'd be loathe to stay anywhere else.

PROS:
• location - it's near the architecturally stunning City Hall and walking distance to the outdoor shops of Paseo Colorado, which means it's in a quieter area so you don't have to worry about street noise
• staff - genuinely pleasant and helpful
• rooms - sensible, efficient layout...very clean, with VERY comfortable beds and windows that actually open
• fridge - EMPTY for your use!
• coffee and water - coffeemaker with Starbucks coffee in your room and TWO free bottles of water

CONS:
• self-parking - it's expensive and there are NO in/out privileges...it was actually more cost-effective for me to valet at $15/night
• internet - NO free access, even in the common/lobby area...however, if you are a Starwood Gold member or higher you can get the fee waived
• bathrooms - somewhat small

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HouseofJung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have stayed at the Westin, Pasadena numerous times for business and every single time it is not only pleasant, clean, etc...the staff at the front desk makes me feel special and take care of my needs.

All of the front desk folks are professional; however, Timesha Willis adds a special touch of warmth and efficiency. She is kind, handles situations with a smile and seems to go above and beyond for the customer.

I moved to Pasadena recently but plan on taking mini-getaways there when I need a break from the rat race. When I walk into this big hotel, I feel like I'm coming to see old friends.

I am grateful for the wonderful customer service they provide.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side give you a great mountain view. On the south, you get a view of the city - t...
See more room tips
Green Features: I always take advantage of their Green program - it makes me feel less wasteful and I opt for the points.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckjonesmgmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Loved this hotel, my favorite one I used during my business trip to LA. :The location to downtown Pasadena is great and a quick car trip to downtown LA. The rooms are clean, quite and comfortable. they have everything I need to get some work done. I really like the outdoor patio. The roof top pool is small but just what I need to soak up a few rays or take a quick dip. The gym works just great for me but if I have extra time, I head over to the Rose Bowl for a great and safe place to run. My only real complaint is that even know I am Starwood Platinum, I feel I never get upgraded here. All in all, I try to stay at this Westin when I am in town.

Green Features: Go green if you are staying more than one night....score on the extra Starwood points.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pgirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Staffs
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

After a long flight and a ridiculously long wait to get through immigration at LAX, then a mix-up over our rental car, we finally arrived at the Westin. The staff just took charge, unloading our luggage and parking the car. We were able to have a relaxing cool drink! Surprisingly the photographs posted on-line do not do the hotel justice, in reality it is much brighter and attractive. Our room overlooked City Hall which was floodlit at night, such a wonderful view of this part of the city. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting this part of California.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwain834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
400 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed just one night, Monday, 8th floor, quiet, made the room super- cold and dark and slept like a baby! The bed and pillows are comfortable, the bathroom shower head - like being in a rain shower (not a super hard shower - wide head), walls had a few dings. There were lots of freebies (mouthwash, lotion, condition, and shampoo) that are nice in case you forgot anything.

The staff terrific, if you sign up for their membership - free internet (save $11.95 a night), the gym had quite a few treadmills and stair masters (4 of each).

Parking is $14 over night for valet or $9.00 self-parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.7 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
2.0 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#7 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Pasadena

Property: The Westin Pasadena
Address: 191 N Los Robles Ave, Pasadena, CA 91101-1707
Region: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pasadena
#2 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Pasadena 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find us in the heart of one of California's most exciting cities, with easy access to cultural sites such as the Historic Old Town, museums, restaurants, and the Rose Bowl Stadium. We're also only a short distance from the Pasadena Conference Center. We offer 345 crisp, clean guest rooms and five unique suites, all boasting our signature white Westin Heavenly(R) Bed with pillow-top mattress. Many rooms offer great courtyard or mountain views, and all are furnished with the uplifting Heavenly(R) Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Westin Pasadena
Pasadena Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing