We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff needs customer service work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Pasadena
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hueytown
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“staff needs customer service work”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

My son booked this hotel on line using an app and he thought the price was for 2 nights. I figured hey, lets enjoy it. When we arrived tired I opted to get dinner on the way in thinking it would be a quick check in. They didn't have my reservation and after 10 minutes finally brought a manager out. He asked me to email him the confirmation. I am not sure what these rooms normally cost, but i guess i was not up to the normal clientel that must frequent. He scoffed when i asked for a aaa discount. Our reservation was for 2 queens however was told 1 King was it. I guess if i could have afforded the valet, parking would not have been so bad... 1/3 mile away. The rooms were nice but the staff needs a lot of work. When checking out, the clerk upon hearing about my frustrations offered to take off the wi fi charge that i assumed was free. Thought maybe he could have offered more of a discount. Oh well expected to much.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConcordAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimLusher, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I do not know the specifics of your stay, but apologize that the information that you received was not clear. I would have hoped that the staff would have been more welcoming and made you feel comfortable. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Pasadena for a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    494
    184
    93
    54
See reviews for
277
355
94
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Not only did we have a nice stay at the Westin hotel we had equally lovely meals at the hotel's restaurant, Ventanas. In particular the service was excellent! Our server Guille was efficient and very attentive especially to our 2 small kiddos! Plus the food was delicious! We'll make sure to come back again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GabyStern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

The Westin hotel has never disappointed. The Westin Pasadena continued to please, the hotel was nice and clean. The room was clean and breakfast the following morning was delicious sitting around the fireplace in the patio. I would return again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jesus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Had to book a hotel for a family wedding, there are not many high end hotel options in Pasadena so I decided on the Westin. I was pretty bummed at the entire experience. Our room was gross. Hair still in the bathroom, the bath fixtures in the shower were all falling off the wall. There were stains on the carpet! All things that should be fixed in a room before renting out to customers. I am a SPG member and this was one of there better rooms. I would hate to see their other rooms.

The gym is small and there are more machines then space so stretching and body weight exercises are done in everyone's way.

The pool deck looked uninviting as the lounges looking dirty and stained. The pool deck was cracked.

Breakfast was mediocre. I like that the Westin is trying to be health conscious but the execution was poor.

The complimentary shuttle driver was extremely rude and told us he was taking a break so we would have to wait outside for 30 min for the other driver or himself to be off break. When I asked him if we could wait inside he told is that we would loose our ride as it was first come first served. I ended up using Uber as their services are much better.
Overall I will never stay at this hotel again. Too many issues and when brought up to front desk staff, it was just shaken off.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jleahkaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimLusher, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you had a poor experience with us. I do not know the specifics regarding your stay but assure you that you did not have a "typical" experience. I understand that you will not stay with us again, but hope that we have not compromised your confidence in the Westin brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Was there for business for one night. Enjoyed the customer service, attention to details, my room was a one king bed over looking the entrance of the hotel. Very nice and clean room. Roomy bathroom. Awesome room service. Overall very satisfied!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SDPurser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My room, not large, but adequate, seemed almost Japanese in style, decorated with elegance and simplicity, and perfect. The public areas are attractive and dressy. The staff is noticeably more formally trained, dressed, and disciplined than more casual places. The 4th floor pool and spa area is also pretty but not large. Too bad I didn't need the exercise room, it is seriously well equipped. Parking is a bit of a hassle; you have to use the valet (extra charge plus tipping plus a wait if they're busy) or drive around the block to the labyrinthine underground garage, also for a fee. There's also a daily fee for the internet connection. The outdoor dining area is gracious and the menu very upscale (and pricey) but the day I was there, they were swamped. Apparently they had way many more guests than they expected.
My waiter apologized, they couldn't offer the breakfast I preferred. My waiter brought me some breakfast sides they still had, gratis, and rushed on. Oh well. I hope that doesn't happen often.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a wonderful stay. Loved the window shutters instead of drapes, robe to use, comfortable bed, good water pressure, hot water and efficient shower head, bath amenities,large hand-held mirror, in-room coffee/tea, quiet--no A/C noise, in-room refrigerator, free boarding pass computer/printer area, hotel shuttle, quick elevators, pool and lobby areas, housekeeping staff, being addressed with title and last name by front desk staff, walking distance to a variety of eateries, city hall complex. Room could use a microwave and ventilation in bathroom.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have views: San Gabriel mountains, city hall, city lights at night, pool and front...
See more room tips
Green Features: You could opt out of daily housekeeping by hanging a card on your door handle.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMSChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
2.1 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
0.7 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#6 of 31 in Pasadena
1,203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#10 of 31 in Pasadena
808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Pasadena

Property: The Westin Pasadena
Address: 191 N Los Robles Ave, Pasadena, CA 91101-1707
Region: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pasadena
#2 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Pasadena 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find us in the heart of one of California's most exciting cities, with easy access to cultural sites such as the Historic Old Town, museums, restaurants, and the Rose Bowl Stadium. We're also only a short distance from the Pasadena Conference Center. We offer 345 crisp, clean guest rooms and five unique suites, all boasting our signature white Westin Heavenly(R) Bed with pillow-top mattress. Many rooms offer great courtyard or mountain views, and all are furnished with the uplifting Heavenly(R) Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Westin Pasadena
Pasadena Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing