We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting..BUT”
Review of JUST Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
JUST Inn
Ranked #17 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This must have been an off night for this Inn, very off. We arrived and were told where our room was and given a key. No explanation of how various things worked, no mention of wireless internet, no instructions in the room. At 6PM everyone connected with the hotel disappeared so there was no service of any kind until 9AM. No turn down or fresh towels. This is not a full service hotel but at these rates there should be some level of service.
Dinner was a complete disaster. Food arrived overcooked and inedible and could not be corrected even after sending it back. The server was very gracious but there was nothing he could do. We were told they had a big event the night before.. maybe the chef was off or tired.
Breakfast was good and we looked forward to our activity..a tour of the winery... Well, it was cancelled.
We won't be coming back any time soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy_Dauterman, Manager at JUST Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2011

Dear Janeb,

First, I want to apologize for the long delay in responding to your review.

Second, I am very sorry to hear about your experience at the winery. We have undergone some significant changes since your visit and I believe things have improved greatly in terms of service at the Inn, dinner quality, and tasting room/tours. I also want to apologize for your tour being cancelled. Pre-booked tours should not ever be cancelled under normal circumstances. I do not know why yours was cancelled, but I sincerely apologize and I hope you will reconsider visiting us in the future.

I would love to speak with you in more detail regarding your experience if you have additional feedback you'd like to share. Please feel free to contact me directly at the email address listed below.

Sincerely,
Tracy Dauterman
Hospitality Manager
JUSTIN Vineyards & Winery
tracy@justinwine.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2010

The Just Inn can be a great place to stay in Paso Robles. There are a few caveats before you make your decision. We stayed in the Bordeaux suite which is on the grounds of the Justin Winery. Be aware that it is a working winery. The suite itself is part of a building that is also a pumping station. The employees do arrive early and on one of the days we were there they were installing a new grape press which was also attached to our building. If you are wanting peace and quiet in the mornings this is not the place for you. I would imagine it would be buzzing quite a bit around harvest. The Bordeaux suite is not in the same place as the other suites, tasting room, restaurant, and pool. It is about 1/2 mile away. Not a big deal, but we did not know before we got there. They do have a hard wire internet connection, but no wireless in Bordeaux suite as advertised.
The winery itself is about 12 miles out of Paso and is secluded. There is no cell phone service even close. The property itself is picturesque. It is very well kept. The landscaping, gardens, and pool area are all very inviting. All of the amentias of the property are right in the middle of the vineyards which I found very relaxing. After 6pm the entire property becomes completely serene. The breakfasts were good. Fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee, fruit, and a richer entree. We did not eat in Deborah's room, but it is very intimate and has a great wine list.
The Bordeaux suite looked exactly like the pictures on their website. It was big, very clean and well furnished. There is satellite TV downstairs, but no TV upstairs in the bedroom. There is a half bath downstairs and the bathroom upstairs is split. On one side of the room is vanity and toilet, on the other is vanity and shower. There is a nice sized walk in closet with a low slanted ceiling. Downstairs is the living room, desk, dining room, and full kitchen. There were two small issues downstairs. The half bath looked like it had the sink replaced and they did not fix the wall area around it very good. In the kitchen it looked the refrigerator leaked and damaged part of the wood floor. Neither is a big deal. The property utilizes well water so the water out of the tap can be a little minerally. The Inn does provide free bottled water and soft drinks. On arrival we received a complementary bottle of Chardonnay. Across from the suite is the winery's visitor center. There is also a picnic area, wood burning oven, and putting green complete with balls, putter, and wedges.
My overall opinion would be to recommend the Just Inn. I would have liked a little more peace in the morning, but most anywhere you stay is noisy. On the flip side it was so peaceful in the evening that you could lay by the pool or sit out on the deck and just enjoy the surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raskinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

We were a party of five, and we had three rooms, and we stayed for three nights. We dined at Deborah's room two of the three evenings. The rooms are very nice, more Country elegant, not Victorian. This is a B&B, so do not expect to roll over in bed and push the room service button. I really enjoyed the away from the city aspects of JUST-Inn. One surprise is the delightful (included) breakfast served to guests at 9AM in Deborah's room. The local wineries don't open until 10AM so timing is perfect. Dining at Deborah's is aamzing, and we are FOODIES, and were not dissapointed. Do get tha wine pairing, and relax, enjoy you deserve it. I honestly hated to return home, and it rained everyday! LOVED IT. Please let's keep this place a secret, ok?

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinnewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The Bordeaux Room at the Just Inn had a mouse during our stay. It kept us up at night with its gnawing. The hostess did not warn us about the mouse even though they knew about it. It scared our friend. It left droppings everywhere.
We had ONE bar of soap the first night and the hostess forgot to have the extra bed made. Not too comfortable for our friend since housekeeping had gone home before we discovered our problem. The second night was better. Everything was corrected, except the mouse. Third night was better. My husband found a mose trap and managed to kill the mouse. We slept better that night.
The Bordeaux Room is about a 1/2 mile from the other three rooms where the rest of our party stayed in the Sussex Room. WE should have been informed of this fact. It was a pain coordinating with all our party. No cell service, either. The pool was very dirty at the main part of the Inn.
The meals at breakfast and Deborah's Room were excellent.
We were given three bottles of wine, 10% off our bill, and no charge for our extra occupant in the Bordeaux Room. No enough for my satisfaction!
Margaret Blacksmith, 310-376-5197, MABlacksmi@aol.com

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winetaster50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy_Dauterman, Retail Sales Manager at JUST Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2009

We appreciate your feedback and value your thoughts. The Bordeaux suite is a beautiful suite set in a very unique setting above our Chardonnay tank room and it offers guests a true winery experience.

Before your stay, the nearby vines had recently been plowed which disturbed the mice. However, there is never an excuse for mice in our guest rooms! I am VERY sorry you had to deal with this issue during your stay. We have taken the appropriate action to prevent this from happening in the future.

Additionally, the maintenance staff have been notified about your complaint regarding the pool and that issue has been addressed as well.

The innkeepers have also been asked to ensure that any parties staying in the Bordeaux suite with friends in Sussex, Tuscany, or Provence be notified that Bordeaux is 1/2 mile down the road located in one of our winery buildings which are separate from our hospitality center.

Unfortunately, due to our rural location there isn't anything we can do about cell phone service. However, we do provide phones in each of the guest rooms.

I believe the JUST Inn is one of the most charming, unique, and well kept properties in the county. We strive to provide a unique and exceptional guest experience and I am very sorry about the issues you experienced during your stay. Thank you for your feedback, all of the issues you brought up have been resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

What a place! After a long day's drive from Healdsburg - big mistake to do that much driving in one day, we finally got into Paso Robles, only to discover that the Inn is another 15 winding miles away. A beautiful drive out to the Inn, despite our weariness. Perfect for a convertible.

I don't know about the reviews from 4 years ago, but our experience with both the hotel and Deborah's Room, the restaurant, were phenomenal. When we arrived, we checked into the Tuscany room, which is upstairs and has the best view of the vineyards. There was a chilled bottle of Justin chardonnay waiting for us. During dinner, the waiter was very helpful, and repeatedly offered to pour tastes of other wines to compare with what we had ordered. There are only 4 tables in the restaurant, so it is quiet and peaceful.

The included breakfast the next morning was in an outdoor covered area. The multi-course breakfast was delicious.

Everytrhing about Just Inn - the room, food, wine, views - was high quality, making it easy to relax and enjoy your time there

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sccarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

We just returned from a long weekend stay in the Tuscany Suite at the Just Inn Bed & Breakfast. This is our first time staying in the Paso Robles area and we rate this as one in our top ten. The service is excellent and the grounds beautiful. We found our room, the Tuscany suite immaculate and the decor romantic . Everything about the room is excellent and I am very picky, one can easily call me a hotel snob.

Since this was an anniversary celebration (#14), we dined in Deborah's Room Saturday evening. The chef, William Torres, did an outstanding job. Our food was perfect and the service excellent.

I could go on and on but need to mark some dates for our return visit. This place is in a class all it;s own!

Lisa and Cary
Westlake Village, CA

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaWLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Salinas Valley, CA
19
Reviewed 18 October 2004

Just Inn was once fun and innovative. The decor was beautiful and the food awesome for an out of the way Inn. The overall experience was like being in France. However, we feel the owners have now neglected the inn and the restaurant. It seems their only concern is money and building their own huge chateau on the hill. The rooms are now too lived in, things don't work, fixtures and sinks need to be changed out due to their poor quality water. Better to go into Paso Robles for a nice french dinner than eat a substandard meal at the inn. I hope they come back down to earth and do what they did so well in the past.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy_Dauterman, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at JUST Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2009

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at the JUST Inn. We have undergone a number of changes since your visit nearly 5 years ago including complete renovations of the JUST Inn and a number of staff changes. I believe we have the best chef and staff in town and I hope you will give us another chance on your next visit. We value your feedback and appreciate your concerns. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paso Robles
12.4 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
658 reviews
13.0 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
12.0 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
13.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
10.4 mi away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#3 of 30 in Paso Robles
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JUST Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JUST Inn

Address: 11680 Chimney Rock Rd, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9792
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range: £283 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the elegance, style and natural beauty of California’s Central Coast at the JUST Inn®. Surrounded by vineyards, our JUST Inn Suites offer luxurious appointments like fireplaces, Tempur-Pedic® mattresses, and Frette linens. An overnight stay includes breakfast and a tour of the winery and caves. Three of our JUST Inn Suites are located within walking distance to our Tasting Room and Restaurant. Our 1,400 square foot French country townhouse, the Vintner’s Villa, located ¼ of a mile from our Tasting Room, includes a full kitchen and dining room, surrounded by vineyards and a working winery! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your JUST Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Just Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing