We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place, but terribly noisy!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunning Ranch Guest Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunning Ranch Guest Suites
Ranked #22 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely place, but terribly noisy!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We had a lovely stay, with great attentiveness from the site manager, Christine, to our needs. However, we were in the upstairs suite, and there were 2 couples in the downstairs suite. They were not terribly noisy, but the insulation is SO minimal, that we could hear every word of their conversations, the music they played--and this went on into the wee hours of the morning both nights we were there. We were looking for a quiet retreat; the setting would normally have been wonderful, but in reality it was not at all! We didn't need the two bedroom suite downstairs, so we would definitely NOT go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanc1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGS, Owner at Dunning Ranch Guest Suites, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Susanc1108 - Thank you for bringing this to our attention. In the future we would be happy to address any noise concerns with guests in the adjoining suite when promptly notified. We do everything within our means to provide for a restful night sleep for all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

Perfect setting beautiful house
We rented the whole house!
Beds were terrific we counted 8 pillows on each bed !!
Fully equipped house !
Huge front porch ! Every thing u would need just bring food !
The do have snacks and breakfast in the fridge ! I like butter and they only had cream cheese for the bagels,coffee was perfect plus bottle of wine left for us was wonderful

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCYC869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappaqua, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Found it very clean, comfortable, well stocked frig. Was a perfect setting. If my time had allowed, I would have stayed longer. This is not luxury, if this is what you are looking for then Dunning is not the place for you. If on the other hand you want peaceful, clean and comfortable, it would be hard to beat not to mention very affordable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ntracygipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

I loved this place and can't wait to go back again. The vineyard location was beautiful and the deer and wild turkeys only added to a wonderful experience. It is a great spot from which to tour Central Coast vineyards and is a beautiful drive to San Simeon and the coast. The Ranch House had a homey atmosphere and the rooms were comfortable and well appointed and the refrigerator was well stocked with bagels, cream cheese and fresh fruit. I recommend it to anyone who wants a change from the usual motels.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flagstaffian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

This is a lovely, quiet B&B -- our suite had two charming, comfortable bedrooms, a fully-equipped kitchen, comfortable living room and dining room, everything neat and exceptionally clean -- on Dunning Ranch Winery property in the hills, where you could watch the deer gathering close by in the early morning and evening. Coffee and tea fixings were provided, along with breakfast bagels and yogurts. We did some of our own cooking, and went down into the surrounding area for lunches, dinners and additional wine tastings, (there was a small tasting room a few yards from the front door, with a complimentary tasting provided). We were able to kick back and enjoy the quiet, peaceful surroundings -- just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzannewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallon NV
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

This place is fabulous for getting away from it all. Deer are grazing in the meadow, owls hoot and Charley the Cat posed next to the pumpkin outside the living room window at dawn for a great photo opportunity. There are two private bedrooms in the downstairs unit, nicely decorated and the beds are really comfortable. Everything was spotless. Christine made our stay very comfortable.
The tasting room was opened for us so we could enjoy their wines. VinDeCasa is one of my absolute favorites, ever.
We loved the bagels and selections of coffee and teas. Loved having a kitchen and dining room and living room.
I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life, this ranch environment is in a vineyard and you're just a short trip to great dining and night life or just a short distance to the California Coastline.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nirkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

After reading the glowing reviews of Dunning Ranch, we were sorely disappointed in many ways. First, the "continental breakfast" consisted mostly in a box of grocery store donuts in our refrigerator that were past their expiration date, a couple of bagels in a plastic bag (we didn't try them), a couple of small yogurts in flavors we don't care for and some orange juice, plus coffee we had to make ourselves that proved to be undrinkable. We were extremely unhappy and ended up leaving early so we could have breakfast in town. Second, there was no complimentary wine tasting as the website advertises - we were asked to pay $5 per person (yes, they knew we were guests at the b&b). Since the wine tasting room is closed much of the week, I assume it is not even possible to taste the wine during the stay of many guests. Third, there was no one at the b&b to let us in or tell us anything. The person running the tasting room at the winery (we were told it is entirely separate from the b&b) saw us and informed us that we were simply supposed to let ourselves into our room - turns out the door was open. I'm not sure what we would have done otherwise, or if the tasting room had been closed (not unlikely, since it closes at 4 pm and isn't open at all during much of the week), It would never have occurred to us that there would be no one there at all to help us. There was no service of any kind provided - if we had questions, there was a phone number we could call. On the plus side, it was a very spacious room (we had the smaller of the two units) in an isolated but lovely and very quiet place - nice if you're looking for solitude. Just don't expect any personal service or decent food. We prefer to have a more personal touch when we go to a b&b. The b&b is quite a long distance from town, so take that into account.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaFlyingpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGS, Owner at Dunning Ranch Guest Suites, responded to this review, 23 September 2010
CaliforniaFlyingpig - You’re feedback is important to us and we are sorry that our food and service did not meet your every expectation. We strive to provide a unique experience and preface such via our advertising and promotion of the property. Thank you for your review and again, I apologize for any inconvenience. A full refund of your tasting fee will be honored on your next visit. Best Regards, Jim Dunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
4.3 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 30 in Paso Robles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
4.8 mi away
Wild Coyote Estate Winery Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#3 of 30 in Paso Robles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
5.8 mi away
Inn Paradiso
Inn Paradiso
#8 of 30 in Paso Robles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
10.6 mi away
Desperado Inn
Desperado Inn
#27 of 30 in Paso Robles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunning Ranch Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunning Ranch Guest Suites

Property: Dunning Ranch Guest Suites
Address: 1945 Niderer Rd, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9652
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunning Ranch Guest Suites are located on 40 acres in one of the fastest growing touring and wine producing areas in the state; Paso Robles and the Central Coast region of California. Co-located with award winning Dunning Vineyards, this property is nestled in the heart of west side Paso Robles wine country. This two-suite inn offers seclusion and magnificent vistas of the surrounding country. Suite 1 offers a private room, bath and kitchenette. Suite 2 offers two private rooms, bath, and full kitchen. Come relax and enjoy this private gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Dunning Ranch Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing