We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always an enjoyable tasting experience”
Review of Castoro Cellars

Castoro Cellars
Ranked #14 of 165 things to do in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Always an enjoyable tasting experience”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We have always had such helpful, knowledgeable and personable people assist us whenever we've tasted here. (For one thing, they aren't 20-something years old.) We were disappointed in this year's Pinot Noir offering, but did find four other varietals to take home with us, as well as spinach fettucini which is surprisingly hard to find in Las Vegas grocery stores. We asked Sherry to take our picture; she took several and they turned out really well. She said that a professional photographer taught her a few tricks. Apparently so.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KSSeaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    35
    4
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views and a fun place to relax”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

If you are looking for a beautiful place to taste several wines, this is a good spot. The view is spectacular and the tasting room is very nice too. They offer 3 tastings for free and 7 tastings for $5.

I think their wines are OK, but not amazing. A little light, but friendly for any palate. My favorite were the two Zinfandel they offer. One of them had lots of raspberry aromas and flavors.

Their Zinfandel dessert wine is also good. It's fortified with liquor, so it's very alcoholic (17.5%); but something different to taste.

They love animals. Their name means beaver in Italian.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Love Castoro Cellars!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is our third time visiting Castoro Cellars in the Paso area. The walkway coming up to the tasting room, is so pretty, with the vines on the archway, and I loved how you could actually touch the grapes. The tasting room is adorable. We love the wines, their tasting fees are so reasonable, and the folks behind the counter area always so fun and pleasant. You can tell they know what they're doing, and they enjoy their work. The wines are consistently good, and their prices are extremely reasonable. $15 for a gold medal cabernet? You can't beat it! We purchased several bottles. They are now also making a grape juice, no alcohol, no added sugar, which we tasted. It was so refreshing, we also purchased a couple of bottles. Castoro is one of our favorites, because it is consistently good. We'll be back again for our next visit to Paso.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MnTLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, great wine”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We visited this winery with two small children, so we spread a blanket outside and alternated venturing to the tasting room for wine. The bars were full, but well staffed and we never waited more than a few moments. The staff was very friendly and the wine was wonderful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kasager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beaverstock”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Great two day music, wine and brew festival with top notch entertainment. We could both Tower of Power and Dave Mason as well as 6 other bands in a great outdoor natura setting. All proceeds from the beer (Toro Canyon) and wine Castoro Cellers were donated to charity. The host family put on an event to remember and we enjoyed the entire program.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RaceCarDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castoro Cellars also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Castoro Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing