We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are in someone's home with a gun range next door”
Review of Desperado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desperado Inn
Ranked #27 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Solana Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You are in someone's home with a gun range next door”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had paid for two days but left after one. It was too obvious this was a home, not an Inn. The neighbor has a gun range set up and as you are sipping your wine looking over the vineyards, you listen to large caliber weapons being discharged. The toiletries were old large used bottles just as you would have at home.

Room Tip: Pick one of the rooms not in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MRileyCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    31
    18
    28
    27
See reviews for
11
144
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A bedroom at the end of the hall does not qualify as an Inn.Safety issues abound,Dismantled fire alarms,no door locks,spa with no water but plenty of broken tiles.A dirty swimming pool with an overturned chair in it and protruding fasteners where the diving board once was.I know this because I tripped over them!Our first contact with Tom,the owner was a simple question. "Hi, Are you the owner?'to which he rudely replied "Whats it to you?"I went into the kitchen to pay the room tax only to see that is was disgustingly dirty.I haven't even mentioned the cat roaming the place-and I'm allergic! Our gourmet chef sliced up 1/2 an apple, cubed a couple pieces of cheese and tossed some corn chips into a small bowl for our "appetizer". The wine was literally undrinkable. Having said all this we left-NEVER to return!

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank coqui_coqui_jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomr67, Owner at Desperado Inn, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
I am staggered by this review. I personally waited on these folks and they said everything was fine.
I am amazed such a negative and obviously exaggerated set of comments would be allowed in print.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paso Robles hotels

California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have known Tom Rigby owner of Sundance Inn since 2007 and have stayed several times at the Sundance Inn. The ambiance and views are incredible, the property is beautiful and warm and welcoming and the rooms are comfortable and affordable for this type of stay. Tom is an excellent cook and even better musician and hopefully you will be able to experience both. Our favorite time to book is the Wine Festival Weekends in March and May of each year. This is a beautiful area any time of year, rain or shine. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViaggioCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just a few miles out of the city makes for a very peaceful get-a-way. You don't see stars like that in town yet you are close enough to spend the day exploring what Paso Robles has to offer. Cozy yet roomy with great food. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I have been to this Inn several times. We keep returning because of the beautiful, pastoral vistas, a nice room and friendly staff. We are most comfortable there.
Our room has always been clean. When we ask for extra towels etc, they are accommodating.
The quiet surroundings are appealing to us and we are not bothered all day. It is very private.
Tom lets us keep a few items in his refrigerator, where guests are not supposed to be (in the kitchen). Occasionally he plays his guitar in the evening if he is there. Hotels in town might have more amenities, but when all put together, they are more expensive, close to the railroad tracts and have NO view. We love this friendly house. It does not pretend to be a hotel, nor is it.
It is much more personable and down to earth.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda2047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I just recently stayed here and we loved it! The weather was perfect and from this beautiful bed and breakfast was a delightful stay, wonderful hospitality, and a delicious breakfast. It was just perfect for getting us in the mood for a day of wine tasting. The room was beautiful and I couldn't get my wife out of the bathtub, but when I did we had a glass of wine and watched the sunset together, romantic. The landscaping was was well maintained and the grounds were lush. Overall, a second honeymoon oasis.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house the Petite Syrah room. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We've been trying for 18 months to book our 'groupon' like certificate and they never have spots available. I connected with Tom today and he was a total jerk, topping off the conversation with him hanging up on me.

Do NOT think YOU will have a better experience. Just skip this place. Hopefully, they will go out of business before they can rip off more people. (FYI they just changed their name from Villa Valdamosa, so don't be tricked.)

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
17 Thank 174Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomr67, Owner at Desperado Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Unfortunately not everyone bothers to visit our URL or even check the fine print on the deals we offer through our marketing partners, so they set themselves up for disappointment which is difficult to deal with. We are not a hotel, we ere a B&B, and no we do not have cable TV or certain other amenities common to hotels. We try to meet these challenges when they arise but as they say you can't please all the people all the time. The unfortunate reality about on line reviews is that they are only as accurate as the people who are posting them. The other issue is that only about 10& of the visitors will bother to take the time to do a review unless they are unhappy about something. SO the rankings are inaccurate as a result. As a manager it would be helpful if guests would come to me before leaving and allow us to correct the issue they have, instead of not sharing their dissatisfaction with us prior to their departure and slamming us after they leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
7.3 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
672 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Best Western Plus Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
879 reviews
6.8 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
High Ridge Manor
High Ridge Manor
#9 of 30 in Paso Robles
120 reviews
11.3 mi away
Wild Coyote Estate Winery Bed & Breakfast
11.5 mi away
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 30 in Paso Robles
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desperado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desperado Inn

Property: Desperado Inn
Address: 2552 Old Grove Ln, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9438 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desperado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our romantic Villa located close to town and yet worlds away. Surrounded by vineyards, bask in the sun by the pool and enjoy see forever views from our 1200 ft elevation on a ten acre estate,lined with olive trees, lavender, and many kinds of flowers. Four suites, all with full bath, private patios or walk out sundecks. Southwest/Tuscan decor; eclectic furnishings; flat screen DVD players in every room for private movie viewing our library of over 500 first run movies. Air conditioned, Pool, serene, exclusive. Owner is Executive Chef and winemaker. Est. 2007.. Ten minutes from 20 wineries, located in the heart of the "Backroads wine district" in east Paso Robles. WALK to a nearby winery for a picnic and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Desperado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing