We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity”
Review of Desperado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desperado Inn
Ranked #27 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We celebrated our good friends Birthday at Sundance Inn. What a treat spending two absolutely wonderful days at this jewel above the valley of Paso Robles. Our host, Tom, was so welcoming and accommodating to our needs. What's not to love while sipping wine, listening to soft relaxing music, catching up with old friends and enjoying soft breezes while admiring the spectacular views and the quietness of this beautiful property. We can't wait to come back and have more time to experience your beautiful guitar playing and enjoy your passion of cooking. Your unique breakfast selections were so tasty and a welcome break from the "norm" B&B cuisine.

Thank you Tom!

The Magdaleno's
Kathie & Larry

Room Tip: We stayed in the Katchina room and found it very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Both my husband and I loved our stay at the Sundance Inn. It was for our Anniversary weekend. We loved the sweeping views of the near by vineyards and beyond. The breakfast each morning was our highlight of the day. This B&B is located near many wineries. I'm a Travel Agent so I'm very picky as to where we stay and B&B's are not usually my first choice but I'm glad I made this choice. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms which was ok for us at the time but I would love to go back and stay in the one of the (2) larger villas. Tom the owner was very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: If a little extra room is needed I would ask Tom to put you in One of the (2) outdoor rooms with a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkins0825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had a lovely stay at The Sundance Inn. It is situated in a beautiful, quiet setting with serene views of the surrounding hillsides. Our room was comfortable with a private bath and walk-in closet. We enjoyed the comforts of this home inside and out, Our host, Tom, was very accommodating and knowledgeable of the local wineries and restaurants,
We look forward to a return visit.
Mickey & Jerry Shaevitz

Room Tip: We were in The Butch Cassidy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had paid for two days but left after one. It was too obvious this was a home, not an Inn. The neighbor has a gun range set up and as you are sipping your wine looking over the vineyards, you listen to large caliber weapons being discharged. The toiletries were old large used bottles just as you would have at home.

Room Tip: Pick one of the rooms not in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MRileyCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A bedroom at the end of the hall does not qualify as an Inn.Safety issues abound,Dismantled fire alarms,no door locks,spa with no water but plenty of broken tiles.A dirty swimming pool with an overturned chair in it and protruding fasteners where the diving board once was.I know this because I tripped over them!Our first contact with Tom,the owner was a simple question. "Hi, Are you the owner?'to which he rudely replied "Whats it to you?"I went into the kitchen to pay the room tax only to see that is was disgustingly dirty.I haven't even mentioned the cat roaming the place-and I'm allergic! Our gourmet chef sliced up 1/2 an apple, cubed a couple pieces of cheese and tossed some corn chips into a small bowl for our "appetizer". The wine was literally undrinkable. Having said all this we left-NEVER to return!

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank coqui_coqui_jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomr67, Owner at Desperado Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

I am staggered by this review. I personally waited on these folks and they said everything was fine.
I am amazed such a negative and obviously exaggerated set of comments would be allowed in print.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have known Tom Rigby owner of Sundance Inn since 2007 and have stayed several times at the Sundance Inn. The ambiance and views are incredible, the property is beautiful and warm and welcoming and the rooms are comfortable and affordable for this type of stay. Tom is an excellent cook and even better musician and hopefully you will be able to experience both. Our favorite time to book is the Wine Festival Weekends in March and May of each year. This is a beautiful area any time of year, rain or shine. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViaggioCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just a few miles out of the city makes for a very peaceful get-a-way. You don't see stars like that in town yet you are close enough to spend the day exploring what Paso Robles has to offer. Cozy yet roomy with great food. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
9.8 mi away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#4 of 30 in Paso Robles
182 reviews
6.7 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
6.8 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
6.3 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
661 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desperado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desperado Inn

Address: 2552 Old Grove Ln, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9438 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range: £164 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desperado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our romantic Villa located close to town and yet worlds away. Surrounded by vineyards, bask in the sun by the pool and enjoy see forever views from our 1200 ft elevation on a ten acre estate,lined with olive trees, lavender, and many kinds of flowers. Four suites, all with full bath, private patios or walk out sundecks. Southwest/Tuscan decor; eclectic furnishings; flat screen DVD players in every room for private movie viewing our library of over 500 first run movies. Air conditioned, Pool, serene, exclusive. Owner is Executive Chef and winemaker. Est. 2007.. Ten minutes from 20 wineries, located in the heart of the "Backroads wine district" in east Paso Robles. WALK to a nearby winery for a picnic and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Desperado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing