We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view of the vineyards”
Review of Desperado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desperado Inn
Ranked #27 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
1 review
“Beautiful view of the vineyards”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This place is a great location to get away from your hectic life. We came to get away from the bay for the weekend to enjoy some wine tasting and visit some family. Tom (owner) was very nice and warm. He made us a delicious hot breakfast and even shared his recipe. My wife and I are social people and really enjoyed sharing stories and "discussing" football stats with rival football team fans. We only wish we could have stayed for the entire week to enjoy the vineyards that the property overlooked!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    31
    18
    28
    27
See reviews for
11
144
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Thanks to a Living Social voucher we enjoyed 2 nights at the Sundance Inn. We ordinarily would have never found or booked a stay here but it was well worth it! Tom R., owner, was a gracious host and an interesting guy. He knew the area well and put us on to a few great wineries and places to eat. The Inn is a comfortable B&B. We enjoyed meeting the other couples who were staying there... and the breakfasts were great. Thank you!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capitola
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We just spent two nights at the Sundance Inn, located in the foothills east of Paso Robles. The location was awesome. It is surrounded by vineyards on a hilltop, with awesome views through the valleys. It is a beautiful,very quiet Italian villa. Tom Rigby, the owner, chef, winemaker, and professional guitarist, is very tied in to the community and a great source of information for wineries, restaurants, spas, and any other activities. Plus, he is an excellent cook. Sunsets are fantastic. The rooms themselves are good, though not great, and the Wifi reception is spotty (not surprising, given the location). But the overall ambience, charm of the villa itself, tremendous location, and great service provided by Tommore than makes up for it. We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Sundance Inn is a lovely, quaint, quiet, peaceful getaway situated atop a hill that boasts a serene view from the front of the house. We came in the fall and the leaves were changing into beautiful red and gold colors. Tom is a wonderful, considerate and friendly host. Not only was the food he prepared delicious (pinot noir reduction sauce!) but he's got great stories and recommendations for wineries/restaurants to share. Location is remote so it's perfect if you want to really getaway from all the hustle and bustle. It's about a 10-15 drive to downtown and there's several wineries located within a few miles of the inn, including the Stillwater Winery at the base of the hill (5 minute walk tops!). Thank you Tom for a wonderful experience staying at the Sundance Inn!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

(1) We are frequent travelers to Paso Robles and also to The Sundance Inn
(formerly Villa Valdemosa). This is our 2nd stay in less than a year.
As usual our host Tom made us very comfortable, he and his staff gave us great service,
the breakfasts were tasty and food presentation was equal to a fine restaurant.
Tom is also very knowledgeable regarding local restaurants and wineries, and helped us plan our daily wine country adventures. The views from the south terrace are incredible, the peace and quiet hard to put a price on, and the closeness to town highly desirable from our point of view.
We are already planning our next visit, which will be after the holidays to take advantage of the winter special he told us about.

(2) This is my 2nd stay at The Sundance Inn, although it used to be called Villa something-
Maybe that is why Tom( the owner) came up with a new name, which I think fits well and is much easy to remember!
Tom has been working on a series of morning dishes that will be the subject of his new cookbook, which he says will be available next year! I am on the waiting list after having breakfast there this week!! A small herd of young deer greeted us as we came slowly up the drive from the main road; the fall colors are showing on the vines and in the trees, the air has the scent of fall in it, but the days are still warm and sunny. The rustle of fallen leaves is the only sound breaking the silence as we sit in the courtyard. Nice.
This time we stayed in the Butch Cassidy suite, and loved the charm of it with its walk in closet, love seat, picture window looking up at nearby the olive grove, etc.
Mornings found us by a crackling fire in the reception room with Sarah Brightman singing softly in the background, a fresh pot of coffee waiting for us, along with warm cinnamon rolls!!
( this is a bad place for someone on a diet!)
The chromatic wind chimes seem to sing a love song , dancing in the light breeze as we sat on the veranda looking out across the pool--a nice memory...we will be back again..I feel sad for anyone who could not be happy here.

(3) The Sundance Inn is a rare GEM, perched atop a knoll just a few miles out of Paso Robles.
I stayed here last year and decided to come back after looking at several other options in the area.
I had an excellent experience, my girl friend has a neck problem and the owner came up with several pillows of various degrees of softness for her to try, one of which turned out to be perfect for her.
We loved the intimate, almost rustic feel to the place, and felt very comfortable just hanging out by the pool taking in the views, which seem to go on forever. The meals were excellent, and We will return again next season! We especially liked the reception room where we shared wine tasting and a nice fire with other guests. Being able to walk down the drive to a nearby winery was also a big plus! VIVA Sundance!

Room Tip: there is no rating for a fitness center for they do not have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdrplayer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Nestled atop a hilltop near Stillwater Winery is Sundance Inn. This lovely estate overlooks the quiet east valley of Paso Robles and was a jewel of a find. There are times in life when you meet people for the first time and become immediate friends.....Tom, the owner, was warm and welcoming, his friend Karl was hilariously funny, and Vincent and his fiance were generous with their warmth, friendship and their bottles of wines. We laughed and drank all night long and our weekend was off to a good start. Sundance Inn was just the right place in this part of Central Coast wine country. Will do this again with these great new friends!

DG

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAUG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We celebrated our good friends Birthday at Sundance Inn. What a treat spending two absolutely wonderful days at this jewel above the valley of Paso Robles. Our host, Tom, was so welcoming and accommodating to our needs. What's not to love while sipping wine, listening to soft relaxing music, catching up with old friends and enjoying soft breezes while admiring the spectacular views and the quietness of this beautiful property. We can't wait to come back and have more time to experience your beautiful guitar playing and enjoy your passion of cooking. Your unique breakfast selections were so tasty and a welcome break from the "norm" B&B cuisine.

Thank you Tom!

The Magdaleno's
Kathie & Larry

Room Tip: We stayed in the Katchina room and found it very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paso Robles
7.3 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
667 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
622 reviews
0.9 mi away
High Ridge Manor
High Ridge Manor
#9 of 30 in Paso Robles
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Wild Coyote Estate Winery Bed & Breakfast
11.1 mi away
San Marcos Creek Vineyard & Winery
4.0 mi away
Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desperado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desperado Inn

Property: Desperado Inn
Address: 2552 Old Grove Ln, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9438 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desperado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our romantic Villa located close to town and yet worlds away. Surrounded by vineyards, bask in the sun by the pool and enjoy see forever views from our 1200 ft elevation on a ten acre estate,lined with olive trees, lavender, and many kinds of flowers. Four suites, all with full bath, private patios or walk out sundecks. Southwest/Tuscan decor; eclectic furnishings; flat screen DVD players in every room for private movie viewing our library of over 500 first run movies. Air conditioned, Pool, serene, exclusive. Owner is Executive Chef and winemaker. Est. 2007.. Ten minutes from 20 wineries, located in the heart of the "Backroads wine district" in east Paso Robles. WALK to a nearby winery for a picnic and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Desperado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing