We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's the next name going to be?”
Review of Desperado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desperado Inn
Ranked #27 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What's the next name going to be?”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This place changed names three times in one year, possibly the last one is because there was already a Sundance Bed and Breakfast open. "Desperado" is a bit of a cliche, don't you think. What's coming next "Casa Frito Bandito"? This place has a well deserved reputation for simply shrugging off customer complaints.

Room Tip: Look for a room in downtown Paso Robles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pasquino b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    31
    18
    28
    27
See reviews for
11
144
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This past weekend was suppose to be a great girls weekend trip. The Desperado spoiled it!!!!Last December six of us booked rooms at the Inn through a Living Social Deal (three rooms) for a weekend in May. When my friend called, Tom said she was the first one to call for that weekend. Put her name down, asked her if she wanted the largest room and he said everything was set. The other four called and reserved their rooms as well. We were all excited and couldn't wait for our weekend get-a-way. My friend called another time to ask about limo services in the area.Tom finally called her back and gave her some misleading advice. This past weekend we all arrived in Paso and found out the the first girl to reserve her room, did not have a room. All the rooms were taken and there was nothing he could do. We ended up spending more money at a near by hotel, away from our friends and Tom did not even offer an apology or a solution to "our" problem. It wasn't his problem. The girls that stayed there said the place was different (wierd), Tom did nothing but talk about himself and didn't even tell them he was sorry about the mix up. The food was not as good as it looked and they did not enjoy their stay there. They actually said we got the better deal at the La Quinta Inn!!!! I have read several other reviews on here and I can see that we did not miss a thing by not staying there. People - read the rest of the reviews before booking.

Room Tip: Choose any room but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paso Robles hotels

Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This was still the Sundance Inn when we visited, 4 of us. Nice rooms, Great location and host. Tom wears a lot of hats so he may not be there for your every need, but he is there when he says. Tom is very helpful when it comes to local knowledge and making you feel at home. Last thing just wish the hot tub was working.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
170 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I bought a voucher for 2 nights and made a reservation on their website, however there were still a few questions I needed answered. It took 4 weeks of phone calls and emails until the owner, Tom, got back to me. After answering my initial questions, I did inquire about restaurant and winery recommendations, and he NEVER go back to me with any information. One of the reasons we stay at B&B's is to have that personal touch and service from a person who is familiar with the area. In this case, that did not happen.
Upon arrival, Tiffany greeted us and spent at least 30 minutes trying to find the key to our room.
We had booked the Portofino Suite and I guess the term suite is something different than what I expected. 2 Chairs at the foot of the bed, does not a suite make.
The blinds on the window were broken, and there were no drapes or curtains to cover it.
There was no bathroom door. How about some privacy?
The towel bar in the bathroom fell off the wall & the handle on the toilet fell off the toilet tank.
There was no closet or hook to hang your clothes on. The only hook was in the bathroom and you have your choice of either hanging up your clothes or wet towels.
There was a tiny outdoor patio, however, it overlooked all of Tom's littered construction tools and supplies. Not a pretty sight.
In the other direction, we overlooked some type of truck depot. Instead of putting up shrubs or fencing to obstruct the horrible views, it was left untouched.
The hot tub was out of order & covered over.
The breakfast & happy hour was adequate and nothing special.
This is a fabulous wine growing region and there were so many choices of places to stay. Do yourself a favor and select someplace better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank werhappy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
215 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had a voucher as a gift from a family member. When making our reservations we added an extra night and paid the taxes for the voucher nights and the extra night. However, when we arrived immediately even before being shown our room, our host Tom asked for the taxes for the two voucher nights. I said we had already paid but he disagreed. Not wanting to start our stay negatively I waited until we returned home to write an email and asked that the money be returned to our card. It took two emails and 3 -4 weeks. I don't think he was trying to cheat us, I think it is a matter of disorganization.

The setting of the Inn is beautiful; atop a hill with lovely views. There is a pool that looked well maintained and a spa that was not available due to repairs or something. Weather permitting the patio is very nice and a good place to enjoy an evening glass of wine. Our room was very nice with a walk-in closet. The public rooms are nicely appointed and there are menus available to order food delivered. Chocolates were in the room and they were replenished each day.

Based on the advertised price the bedding is not up to up to that standard. It is not soft and there was a hole in the blanket. Some of the pillows were lumpy. Although I didn't use them I thought it tacky to offer large containers of shampoo, conditioner and body wash in the shower; small individual bottles would seem more appropriate. While breakfast was adequate it was not special. The table was boring with no flowers or décor; it was not like an upscale Inn should offer. Two of the mornings Tom sat at the table, or leaned over a chair while we and another couple ate our breakfast. He was monopolizing the conversation and complaining about the city, the water, the taxes and whatever. It was really annoying. The third morning he ignored us since he knew we were irritated about being locked out. They advertise wine tasting from 5-7 in the evening. The first evening it was offered along with some cheese and crackers the second it was not and we had to search for some wine high up on a shelf. The third night we returned home at 5:15 and were locked out. We called three times and email mailed. We returned at 7:45 and when we complained Tom said, "well didn't Kim tell you where the key is?" We have no idea who Kim is. We never saw anyone but Tom.

Tom clearly thinks of this as his home, and of course it is since he lives there but he does not illustrate the manners of an Inn keeper. Each time we saw him he was wearing his bedroom slippers and his constantly talking at breakfast and complaining about things that don't concern us was simply bad manners.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsPickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

All we can say is "Fantastic"!!! When we arrived we were greeted by our innkeeper, Tom, and shown to our wonderful room. We were in the Kitchina suite with a front door opening to the main inn courtyard and a back door opening to a semi private patio. The room was large and comfortable and we slept like babies both nights we were there.
The inn sits on a hill overlooking vineyards and you can see for miles in almost every direction. What a place to relax with a glass of newly discovered Zinfandel and soak in the view. No TV or Internet to disrupt the relaxation.
At a delicious breakfast we were able to chat with the other guests and Tom helped us to plan our day of wine tasting.
It was hard to leave and we are definitely planning our return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I bought a voucher for this place for my husband's bday weekend and was extremely glad I did. The property is all new on a hill with a nice view. The rooms are all new and clean. Tom the owner was friendly and cooked us yummy breakfasts. He even popped a bottle of the bubbly for breakfast when he found put my husband and another guest was celebrating their birthday, nice touch!! An added bonus at staying in a B& B, you also get a chance to meet nice folks.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bethp_94501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
7.3 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
667 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
622 reviews
0.9 mi away
High Ridge Manor
High Ridge Manor
#9 of 30 in Paso Robles
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
San Marcos Creek Vineyard & Winery
11.3 mi away
Wild Coyote Estate Winery Bed & Breakfast
11.5 mi away
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 30 in Paso Robles
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desperado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desperado Inn

Property: Desperado Inn
Address: 2552 Old Grove Ln, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9438 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desperado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our romantic Villa located close to town and yet worlds away. Surrounded by vineyards, bask in the sun by the pool and enjoy see forever views from our 1200 ft elevation on a ten acre estate,lined with olive trees, lavender, and many kinds of flowers. Four suites, all with full bath, private patios or walk out sundecks. Southwest/Tuscan decor; eclectic furnishings; flat screen DVD players in every room for private movie viewing our library of over 500 first run movies. Air conditioned, Pool, serene, exclusive. Owner is Executive Chef and winemaker. Est. 2007.. Ten minutes from 20 wineries, located in the heart of the "Backroads wine district" in east Paso Robles. WALK to a nearby winery for a picnic and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Desperado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing